We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Constance Tsarabanjina
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nosy Mitsio
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Second stay at Tsara following a five year gap. Its still a perfect tropical paradise. The staff were brilliant - attentive but discrete. Food generally really good. Rooms are a bit tired compared to 5 years ago, but are to be refurbished shortly. Island is just beautiful and its so peaceful and quiet its like having your own island. Drinks, while expensive by Madagascan standards are reasonably priced compared to European hotels. Diving just amazing - thankyou Ricardo. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constance Lodge... M, Assistant Lodge Manager at Constance Tsarabanjina, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Guests,

We sincerely thank you for the kind review and are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed for the second time the stay with us.
Your compliments for the diving will be passed on to Riccardo.
We would be honored to welcome you back for the third time and to celebrate with you your nameplate on bar.

With kind regards,

Elena Zanella
Assistant Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    37
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
48
343
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middleton on sea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

i mean what can you say, its a tropical paradise, its the thing of dreams. we were there as part of our honeymoon, we were there for 5 days at the end of our adventure to relax after the trekking around the mainland and it was fabulous. the staff were friendly but knew when to leave a couple alone, the service was exceptional – the food was a great choice every day – a buffet for breakfast and lunch and a menu service for dinner.
The drinks were good – a great choice of cocktails and considering the surroundings (I.e. it’s a captive market) I think the pricing was very good.

It really is as close to the tropical paradise of Hollywood as I have ever seen. If you like luxury, diving, swimming in crystal clear waters, or just sunbathing in the peace and quiet of an island you won’t get better than here.

Room Tip: North Beach rooms seemed slightly quieter than south beach but i suspect thats just a coincidence of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constance Lodge... M, Assistant Lodge Manager at Constance Tsarabanjina, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Dear Guest,

We are thankful to you for have spared some time to share your experience of a honeymoon holiday at Tsarabanjina Constance Lodge on the site of 'Trip Advisor'.

We are glad that you have enjoyed the accommodation, the culinary spirit and quality in which we put lot of our efforts, relaxing moments on the beach and the attention of our team.

We will be delighted to welcome you back for another memorable holiday with us to renew these magical moments.

Kind regards,
Elena Zanella
Assistant Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed here in September 2011 as part of our honeymoon. I was absolutely magical and really spoliing. If you can get over the fact that it is remote (it tooks us nearly 36 hours from London) it will give you so much pleasure. We spent time diving and relaxing and to consider it takes two hours by boat to get food out we were spoilt for choice, with lovely fresh food. The staff were all charming and could not have done more to make our stay more enjoyable. I only can hope that we can go back!

Room Tip: All rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillowEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constance Lodge... M, Assistant Lodge Manager at Constance Tsarabanjina, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like thank you for having spared some of your valuable time to write about your stay on the site of 'Trip Advisor'. We are delighted to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been well looked after by our team on the occasion of your Honeymoon.
It will be great pleasure to welcome you back here at Tsarabanjina as soon as you feel need to relax again and dive in the tropics.
With kind regards,
Elena Zanella
Assistant Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

It was an amazing destination. A bit pricey for our South African Rand but well worth every cent. If you love secluded hideaways that offer the most spectacular marine life - then this is the definitely the place for you. We loved every minute we were there and already plotting our next trip. The staff were excellent and attended to our every need. All in all...perfect

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Constance Tsarabanjina was our first stop, second visit, to Madagascar mid December, just now. We are slowly exploring Madagascar and chose the Mitzio Archipelago to start with this time. It's way north from Nosy Be. The boat ride is excellent and beautiful and it WILL take your breath away when you suddenly come upon the crystal turquoise waters surrounding the island. Fish abound....... and the visibility is phenomenal. The welcome of the staff on the beach was touching and honestly, there is nothing this resort will stop at to try and make your stay wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble and the staff suss you out with likes and dislike the moment you arrive. What beautiful people. The thing that struck us the most was the teamwork and team effort of all the staff. There is a cohesion, harmony and professionalism which just makes their entire operation seamless. If peace and quiet and absolute relaxation and delight is what you're after, this is the place. There is no shortage of activities. All the amenities are in good "nick" and the tennis court in the middle of nowhere so beautifully maintained is amazing. There's table-tennis, volleyball, hobbycat, lots of walking, snorkelling, swimming, diving and just fun, fun, fun in the sun. Elaina, the Italian resident Biologist is a star! Going snorkelling with her was amazing and her quick eyes pick out the smallest of things; land excursions with her were also exceptionally entertaining and enlightening. Her relationship with the locals is heartening and we managed to pick up some local phrases which delighted the staff quite a bit. Thanks Oliver for your excellent hospitality and the wine! Long live our hobby! Thanks Augustine for your excellent massages and in particular the reflexology which helped my gammy knees, no end. The footbaths next to the steps were a blessing - no sandy sheets in bed! And thanks to the chaps who relentlessly put out our umbrella and chairs and provided us with another set on our patio. We were so very spoilt. Hats off to our shy gardener who lovlingly raked and cleared up leaves around our place. We did not think our beach could be spotless but it was. We learnt, in 2 years, this chap has never been once sick which goes to show the staff are dedicated and proud of their positions and they do, indeed take pride in what they do in their respective positions. Beds are very comfy and the turndown service great. Snorkelling on our own was great fun and the variety of fish and bommies in close proximity to each other is totally absorbing. We loved walkiing over the rocks to and from the main building/bar/restaurant. Sunsets are awesome especially when viewed through the rocks and on top of the hill. Sometimes a slow meander down the garden path, the longer way, was also great and very peaceful with it's soft sandy walkways and beautifully encouraged archways. The head-gardener needs a medal as the gardens are beautifully and lovingly tended. (Note: This is not a place for the unfit or disabled.) Tsarabanjina is a place which encourages reflection and a quieting of the spirit. We think, the remoteness and beauty of this little island holds a very magical quality which makes for beautiful, lasting memories. We loved the shop and they sell the best slops and lambas. Even though Madagascar is a poor country economically wise, the culture is rich and vibrant and nurturing and we were thoroughly welcomed into it by everybody at Constance Tsarabanjina.

Sadly, we were utterly dismayed to hear that some "overseas moguls" have discovered oil between Nosy Be and Tsarabanjina and proposed an oil rig slap bang in the middle of the sea! It is big news in this part of the world and everyone is very concerned about it and the impact on the marine life and the wellbeing and livlihood and existence of the locals. It is unthinkable that this beautiful and well preserved marine area might well be destroyed in the very near futures. We can only hope and pray it never happens. It will be blatant exploitation, disregard and disrespect for one of the most, truly, beautiful places on this planet and it's people for the simple reason that the money generated from the oil will not be put back into Madagascar to help the people and at the end of it all the ocean in that area will be put at dreadful risk and ultimately destroyed with the continual trekking up and down of tankers.

Constance Tsarabanjina have been in the area for a long time and their dedication and passion to not only providing a top, unspoilt travel destination (one of the few) for us and moreover effectively assisting in sustaining the locals and really making a difference in their lives, needs to be preserved and applauded. We will return time and again to Constance Tsarabanjina - we look forward to the day our names will be imprinted on the bar along with many other annual regulars. That is a nice touch - we want our names up there too!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side, on the beach (not the hill) are best. Just walk from your room into the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ndlwane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Tsarabanjina is a 2 hour boat ride from Nosy Be but the trip is well worth it. Visitors are greeted by the staff waving on the shore. The 21 individual lodges are fairly standard but with luxury toiletries, power and hot water 24 hours. They are set into the trees, some with hammocks, overlooking their own beach frontage of white sand and turquoise blue sea, with your own deckchairs, umberella and table, which is set up every morning. There are a lot of sandflies but they do spray the beach dailing and you are provided with coconut oil for protection (we didn’t use it as we sat in the shade on our terrace mostly). There are many activities - kayaks, catamarans, water skiing, snorkelling, scuba diving, hand-line and deep sea fishing, and walks around the island. The snorkelling is excellent and there is a daily trip with a biologist off this or the other islands in the archipelago, which makes it very interesting. There are lots of birds including the Madagascar sea eagles and reef herons.

The restaurant and bar, with its sand floor, are very comfortable with views over the sand and sea. There’s an excellent cocktail menu and the hotel makes its own rum (three different varieties). The food and cooking was excellent – buffet breakfast and lunch with a choice of 3 main dishes for dinner. Lots of fresh fruit and fish. The wine choice was limited and fairly expensive. You can ask to have a special intimate dinner on the beach or on the ‘hill’ and it was my birthday so we did just that (sadly, it rained so we had to come in). The staff are the most helpful and friendly you'll ever meet. The island is very unique and pristine. In 1992 it was the location for Girl Friday, a BBC TV documentary and book by Joanna Lumley and you can see the book in the bar (it’s worth a read whilst you’re there). The hotel and lodges were built in 1994. Falling to sleep every night with the sound of the waves falling on the sand was bliss. I wish I could return soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NovaTravels-net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2011

have been and will be back sooner than later!
exceptional diving, unrivaled fishing ..
simply the best beaches in the world.
What else ......... and they do serve Nespresso in the middle of no-where!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junior54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nosy Mitsio
24.2 mi away
Manga Soa Lodge
Manga Soa Lodge
#14 of 32 in Nosy Be
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Lagon
Hotel Le Lagon
#1 of 3 in Mahavelona
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brajas
Hotel Brajas
#41 of 59 in Antananarivo
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Urban
Grand Hotel Urban
#17 of 59 in Antananarivo
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Crique
La Crique
#9 of 15 in Nosy Boraha
75 reviews
24.4 mi away
Anjiamarango Beach Resort
Anjiamarango Beach Resort
#11 of 32 in Nosy Be
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Tsarabanjina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Tsarabanjina

Property: Constance Tsarabanjina
Address: B.P. 380, Nosy Mitsio 2007, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Region: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Nosy Mitsio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nosy Mitsio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Constance Tsarabanjina 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azure blue water, powder soft beaches, private bungalow fenced by tropical plants, choose from one of the 25 Beach Villas at Constance Tsarabanjina. Laid back atmosphere, barefoot chic, intimate retreat, eco-friendly, unspoilt Madagascan Island surrounded by azure water; the resort offer chic Robinson Crusoe style experience. Enjoy our All-Inclusive Cristal Package which includes everything from premium drinks to exquisite cuisine and comfortable accommodation. Be among the first to seek out the hidden depths and gems of the unspoilt location. From ecological thatch roofing to unspoilt clear water, Constance Tsarabanjina is one of our unique resorts. All villas are built and decorated in simple tones with a hint of Constance comfort. Feast on fresh seafood and Malagasy specialities in sand floored restaurant and contemplate beautiful view from your hammock.Discover the island’s unique biodiversity with a guided nature walk or explore water still largely unexplored with guided snorkelling and private cruises. The friendly Akio Diving staff, professional and always available, will take you by the hand breathing underwater, and will make you live new experiences and unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Prestigia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Constance Tsarabanjina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Lodge Tsarabanjina Hotel Tsarabanjina
Constance Hotel Tsarabanjina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing