We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Island but horrible boat ride”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Constance Tsarabanjina
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nosy Mitsio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2011

The island is wonderfully green and the beaches are great and very clean. Great bird life, e.g. Madagascar sea eagles and kingfishers. Food is fine.
Unfortunately we experienced a cyclone - we were there at the beginning of February 2011 - which meant that there was quite a lot of rain afterwards. Visibility for snorkelling was zero after the cyclone. Moreover the humid weather was obviously ideal for sandflies. Although a lot of spraying was going on we suffered from lots of bites.
The island can only be reached by a two hour boat ride. Since the sea was very choppy getting out of the boat and getting in was not only dodgy, but outright dangerous as there is no safe landing pier.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Island_trip_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2011

We decided last minute to take the risk with the children and fly to Madagascar. Flight landed in Nosy Be witch is malaria risk area so we took malaria pills. Once we had unloaded the luggage without much help from the airport staff, the hotel's jeep took us to the harbor. From there the island was one hour away. It was a pleasant trip as the sea was calm. Ones arrived, the management welcomed us and made us comfortable. The villa/room is cozy and private. No air-conditioning though, only a sealing fan.
The luxury of Tsarabanjina is the island it self and the sea surrounding it. It is a paradise. The snorkeling and diving is fabulous.
The staff is friendly. The food is simple but good. The massage therapist is very good.
We spent five days on Tsarabanjina. I could have stayed few more days.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

What makes this place very special is the beach. Fantastic place to chill out on a perfect white sand. Lots to do if you fancy it, diving, snorkeling, water sking and wake boarding.

Rooms are very nice but not outstanding. But sitting on the steps of your room watching the sun set with a cold glass of vino is quite amazing!

Food is great at breakfast and lunch but dinner is hit or miss. The wine list was great and good value which more than made up for the food.

Fantastic staff. I big thank you to Hilton, all of the local staff and especially the guys from Mauritius despite thier dreadful taste in football.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LONDON12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Having visited many so called luxury resorts. Tsaranjina is the best by far. Beautiful rooms, fantastic food, no entertainment. Perfection. Of course its not the real Madagascar. (what a stupid thng to say)- the real Madagascar is a very poor (but beautiful) country.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

The location of the resort is amazing. The boat transfer from Nosy Be is a great way to arrive - we saw dolphins jumping out of the water. The chalets are right next to the beach and are situated so that you're not aware of the other chaets - you feel as though you have the beach to yourself (which we often did during our stay as the resort was very quiet). We stayed on the North Beach - the sunsets from there were amazing. The swimming and snorkelling was very good - not Barrier Reef standard but still impressive. The food was very good and the staff very helpful and friendly (espcially the local staff). There's a bit of a hard sell when you arrive regarding all the possible activities, but if you don't want to do anything but chill and swim they seem happy to let you be. By only complaint is that it's very removed from the rest of Madagascar. It feels like an exclusive Indian Ocean island resort (which it is) and is ideal for a treat, honeymoon etc. Given the expense I had a nagging feeling that Nosy Be might have been a better option for an end of holiday stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrRedRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

My wife and I stayed here on one leg of our honeymoon (in July 2003, actually) and it was one of the few places that really delivered what we typically want in a holiday i.e. a place that was very challenging to get to (not accessible by charter flights) and a "resort" (for want of a more appropriate word) that is understated and does not have all the fussiness and cloying over-attentiveness that you get at many of the top-end chain hotels (not to mention obnoxious patrons). We arrived in Antananarivo via Johannesburg, overnighted there and then flew to Nosy Be, on a scheduled flight, via some random place in the north east (had various animals grazing randomly on the airfield etc). After the transfer from Nosy Be airport to the seaport, we accessed our ride to Tsarabanjina by climbing over a couple of large, rusty fishing trawlers with our luggage.

Our speedboat landed on one of the stunning beaches and we were met by the sarong-clad hotel manager and told we wouldn't be needing any shoes for the duration of our stay. The accommodation is basic relative to the top hotels (relief!). There are no electronics to be seen and the only contact with the outside world is/was by dial-up internet and radio-phone at the main reception.

From there it was sun-bathe, eat, sleep, snorkel, dive, relax in a steady cycle for a week. An honesty bar on the beach, 50 yards from our hut for sun-downers every evening. The huts open directly onto the gorgeous white sand and are about 20/30 yards to the water's edge. The water is acquamarine and crystal clear and the diving/snorkelling off the beach is fantastic. Have a pre-prandial drink at the bar before dinner and bury your feet in the glorious white sand, which is the bar floor, while sipping on that G&T. The food is basic but very good and all fresh (no pretentious presentation or nouvelle garbage). Service is exactly as you'd expect in such a laid-back environment. Just avoid the local wine! French is expensive so go South African, which is adequate in quality. My wife and I went fishing early one morning and caught a grouper and a queen mackerel which went on the dinner menu in the restaurant that same night - without fail the best fish I have ever had.

There were only about 8 other guests on the island while we were there so we felt as though we had the place to ourselves. If I had a complaint it would be that one of the executives of a French company that farms prawns on the mainland popped over twice for dinner in a helicopter, which shattered the peace briefly. Additionally they allocated one hour every morning for guests to go water-skiing or wakeboarding, which you'd normally associate with large, tacky hotels. But one hour a day is reasonable so not the end of the world.

Otherwise, this place is for those like things understated and off-the-beaten-track. It's very comfortable and it is as close to paradise as you're likely to get. It will NOT suit people who want to spot celebs, name-drop about hotels they've stayed at, and collect designer shampoo miniatures etc. Nightlife is limited to socialising with guests and staff, playing back-gammon and nursing cocktails/night-caps while listening to the waves lapping on the shore. It's bliss.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Butlinsrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

A representative from Tsarabanjia was at Nossi Be airport to meet our flight but he dissapeared with some other passengers whose luggage arrived before ours and we had to take our own luggage to the car park to find the bus. There was a short drive to the harbour - the boat to transfer was not there. it arrived after about twenty minutes and we boarded and the had to wait a further 30 minutes for another passenger who turned out to be one f the staff. The welcome on the island was beautiful with staff out on the beach to welcome us and give us cold drinks then an explanation of the running of the resort and excursion opportunities.
The rooms are wooden chalets spaced well apart and all with a view of the beach simply furnished but clean and comfortable but it was like sleeping in a sauna no aircon and inadequate cooling fan obscured by very heavy / drapes for mosquito net everyone was complaining of the heat. The restaurant menu was quite restricted with three choices at each course for dinner and nothing for vegetarians the breakfast and lunch buffets were very good.
Most visitors were either French or Italian and activities were geared to them with an Italian guide organising most of the activities. Take your own snorkel mask as the hotel did not have enough masks for all guests and I finished up with a mask which didn't fit properly and had to abandon my snorkelling

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidayhoustons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nosy Mitsio
24.2 mi away
Manga Soa Lodge
Manga Soa Lodge
#18 of 31 in Nosy Be
103 reviews
23.9 mi away
VOI Amarina resort
VOI Amarina resort
#3 of 31 in Nosy Be
1,035 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Le Lagon
Hotel Le Lagon
#1 of 3 in Mahavelona
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#7 of 14 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
32 reviews
0 mi away
Le Village Diego
Le Village Diego
#10 of 14 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
20 reviews
0 mi away
Royal Sakalava
Royal Sakalava
#14 of 14 in Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Tsarabanjina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Tsarabanjina

Address: B.p. 380, Nosy Mitsio 2007, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Region: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Nosy Mitsio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nosy Mitsio
Price Range: £400 - £943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Constance Tsarabanjina 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From ecological thatch roofing to unspoilt clear water, Constance Tsarabanjina is one of our unique resorts. All villas are built and decorated in simple tones with a hint of Constance comfort. Feast on fresh seafood and Malagasy specialities in sand floored restaurant and contemplate beautiful view from your hammock. Discover the island’s unique biodiversity with a guided nature walk or explore water still largely unexplored with guided snorkelling and private cruises. The friendly Akio Diving staff, professional and always available, will take you by the hand breathing underwater, and will make you live new experiences and unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Constance Tsarabanjina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Lodge Tsarabanjina Hotel Tsarabanjina
Constance Hotel Tsarabanjina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing