We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Romantic Getaway”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bonnebosq, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Julia K
Wiesbaden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed for a week at the house and had great time. It is a beautifully restored barn, tastefully furnished. The house lies in between meadows, your neighbours are two donkeys and a horse. The perfect place for a romantic getaway, still if you are seeking to have some more action, there is a lot to see at close distance. The house offers everything you need and a little extra like a fridge full with breakfast items upon arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Misperanz...
Labadie, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magnificent visit to Normandy”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have traveled to France many times over the years. But, this visit - which was anchored by our stay at La Vie de Cocagne - was the most perfect yet. Thierry and Caroline have created a beautiful, comfortable, inviting space at the cottage ... just right for our needs with three, but very capable of accommodating more. The grounds on the farm create a quiet and relaxing environment, where even the tightest wound top couldn't help but unwind. Easily accessible from all directions - Paris/Rouen to the east, Caen/Bayeaux/Mont St. Michel from the west, D-Day beaches and small resort towns to the north, countryside from the south. And situated in a quaint little town ... with other towns within a few miles ... to cover off necessities, wonderful restaurant options, and easy ways to experience life in Normandy. Be sure to ask Thierry and Caroline for advice on how best to use your time ... they can take you off the beaten path and help with logistics, if you need it. The only downside of our stay was having to leave. No doubt, we'll visit our friends (two and four legged!) at La Vie de Cocagne again! Thank you, Caroline and Thierry, for a memorable and magnificent visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gorgeous property in a beautiful part of the world
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ptatworld
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We just returned from Normandie when we spent four nights at La Vie de Cocagne, it is the perfect place for a relaxing break, the self catering barn has been very tastefully decorated and has all the commodities required to spend a relaxing and cosy time.
The owner is very attentive and very helpful with any requests. We ordered dinner on the first night and a beautiful meal was waiting for us.
It is the perfect place to escape a busy life and the enjoy a romantic stay or to stay with friends. Everything has been though through, from the garden furniture, comfy loungers and hot tub.
In the village at very closed proximity (but far enough so you do not feel in the middle of it) there are all the little french shops you need and on thursday mornings, there is even a little markets with lots of fresh fruits, vegetable and fish.
Que demander de plus!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful place
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2014
Thank you Patrice for the lovely review ! It was a pleasure to have you both with us. See you soon ! best, Thierry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald S
Albstadt, Germany
1 review
“Totally relaxed!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Hello,

my wife and I stayed for one week at "La Vie de Cocagne". It's a beautiful, quiet and cosy place to relax. Our arrival was one of the most pleasant ones we ever had: The fireplace was already on fire, the outdoor tube was prepared and warm, our pre ordered dinner was ready to get heated in the cooker … we just had to drop our luggage - and felt comfortable! Walk-in showers, excellent beds, well-assorted kitchen … And the owners are very helpful if you need anything.

Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“The loveliest gite in Normandy”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We could not find fault with La Vie de Cocagne; the Gite was spotless when we arrived with a fire already burning in the log burner, the hot tub is fantastic, the kitchen is simple but very nicely equipped, the showers are luxurious, the beds are comfortable, etc, etc. The main thing, however, is that La Vie de Cocagne sits in the most beautiful countryside, within walking distance of a lovely little Frence village with butcher, baker, grocer, 2 friendly bars/café/restaurants, and Caroline and Thierry have made this old barn into the loveliest Gite in Normandy, if not one of the loveliest in France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the setting
Liked least: could not fault it...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2013
Waow Tom ! Thanks so much for that review...Your comments are very precious, especially coming from an architect ! Thanks again and we will be very happy to see you around again soon ! All the best, Thierry & Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamPK
London
1 review
“Idyllic rural Normandy”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

This was our first holiday abroad with our four-month old baby. We wanted somewhere with a bit of space where we we'd enjoy spending time - more than just a base for exploring the countryside.

It's perfect for both but it's got style as well. If the weather is okay there is so much to do and see within a short drive - picture perfect villages, beaches, historical sites, horseriding, cider/calvados tasting. However, even in the miserable weather, it's the perfect place to throw some wood onto the fire, open a bottle of wine and watch DVDs from the library or relax in the hot tub! We loved it.

The owners are friendly but respectfully keep their distance. The house was spacious, surrounded by fields in every direction, it's clean and very well decorated with beautiful and quirky antiques - but with all the mod cons you'd want from a big TV with cable/DVD to little touches like the rain showers and Nespresso machine.

The fridge/larger was well stocked with the essentials for cooking and the nearest village is a two-minute drive with everything you need from butcher, baker and grocery store - the locals are very friendly. We had great trips to Trouville, Deauville and Honfleur, not to mention other closer places like Cambremer. We completely switched off from work and London life - we recommend the cottage highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Style of the property
Liked least: Not using the hot tub enough!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2013
Thanks Adam for the nice review : it was a pleasure to have you around !!! See you soon and all the best, Thierry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneeEric...
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite place to be in Normandy!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Lucky for me I managed to find this home a few years ago and have been able to return. I can't say enough about how much I enjoy my time at Thierry and Caroline's home in Bonnebosq. Waking up to two adorable donkeys, beautiful gardens and a rolling hill out your front door... it becomes really hard to leave. Normandy is a perfect side trip from Paris and such a unique experience, unlike the rest of France. Book your trip now, you will love it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to say, the donkeys, our hosts and probably the cheese ;-)
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2013
Thanks a lot Renee for taking some time to place a review on La Vie de Cocagne. We miss you and hope to see you soon again ! Best, Thierry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing