We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Repeatedly welcoming, hospitable and a pleasure to stay, home from home in beautiful surroundings.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hallbarns Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Simonburn B&B and Inns
1 review
“Repeatedly welcoming, hospitable and a pleasure to stay, home from home in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I've been lucky enough to stay at Hallbarns with my family for a few years now. We drive up every year to run the famous local road race. Margaret is ALWAYS so incredibly welcoming and cooks the most fantastic breakfast ( often at odd times ) The local countryside is absolutely beautiful and fantastic for walking. Plenty of great places to eat and not far from Newcastle if you need to get to and from town.
I cannot sing their praises enough as its ALWAYS a joy to stay there... There's often some delicious cake on offer as well!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    21
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
71
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and 2 young kids for one night and we were really happy with everything. It's a beautiful old house, the rooms are huge yet cosy. Beds are really comfortable. Everything was spotlessly clean. We felt happy to let the kids sleep while we watched telly in the guest sitting room. Our host gave us tea and cake even though we didn't arrive until 9pm! Breakfast was lovely. Wish we could have stayed longer to explore the stunning countryside setting.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Tea, cake and then a lift to the nearest pub. Nothing is too much trouble a great place to stay. Comfortable beds and the most fantastic breakfast you'll see in a long time. If you are anywhere near this place make sure you choose it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parispuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed here for one night during our hadrians wall walk. Margaret was a brilliant hostess. She collected us from Chollerford . Despite her husband being in hospital nothing was to much trouble. She made us tea and home made cake on arrival before showing us to our room. A good sized room with a double bed, En suite with a bath! Much appreciated after a hard day's walk. Plenty of tea and coffee and fresh milk -not rubber. Margaret was supposed to cook our evening meal but asked if we minded her dropping us off at a pub and then we would ring her for a lift. We were in awe of her hospitality, nothing was too much trouble. What a lovely stay

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Great B&B very clean and comfortable. Picked up from the wall by Margaret and driven to the B&B and in the morning returned to the start point. Made to feel welcolme straight away with tea and cake in a lounge that you can use during your stay so no sitting in your room at the end of the day. As there is no nearby eating places served a wonderful evening meal at the B&B which was of good value. Sat watching a family of wookpeckers feeding at a bird table from my bedroom doesn't come much better that that.
Bedroom was comfortable and clean with a full sized bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindsorFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Another stopping off point on my trip on the Hadrian's Wall Trail. My arrival was greeted with tea/coffee and home-made cake, served in the luxurious sitting room complete with log fire, always a welcome touch after a long hard slog on the Trail in hot weather. The room was fine, with a nice comfy bed and good shower room. The host serves dinner if notified in advance and a very tasty affair it was too (three courses are on offer). As was the breakfast - you can always taste the difference in locally sourced food. A word of warning if you walk to the b n b from the Trail itself - I was quoted a distance of 1.4 miles from the Trail to the b n b and I think it is actually a bit longer than that. But to be fair the host will collect (and return) you from the Trail at Black Carts if you do the advance notification thing...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Brilliant welcome, pot of tea and tea bread served in a very comfortable lounge with a roaring fire, before taking a relaxing bath in a very well appointed bathroom and bedroom. The whole stay was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simonburn
3.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
2.3 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
2.1 mi away
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Humshaugh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallbarns Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallbarns Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hallbarns Bed and Breakfast
Address: Hexham North Road, Simonburn NE46 3AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Simonburn
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Simonburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallbarns Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming hospitality in luxury farmhouse accommodation on the edge of the Hadrian's Wall Path. Scenic views and a walled garden to sit and relax in after you days walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hallbarns Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing