We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place to remember”
Review of Barrachandroman

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochbuie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barrachandroman
Ranked #1 of 1 Lochbuie B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A place to remember”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

A lovely brew to welcome us, a unique house. Richard and Maggie were very friendly and helpful hosts. The decor may not be to everyone's taste but it had its own style and fitted the place. A very quiet and remote area accessible by single track lanes through awesome scenery. The dinner was one of the highlights of our holiday with smoked beef or salmon, trout fillets and raspberry panacotta. Meals can be arranged beforehand as the nearest eating place is a way away. All cooked to perfection, served in a wooden panelled dining room which made me feel like the lady of the manor for the evening. A lovely lounging area to chill and meet other guests if you so wish. Breakfast was great too...best porridge ever! If you want to get away from it all and stay somewhere a bit quirky and not run of the mill and forgettable then stay here. Good value for money.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the self catering house for 4 nights, and found it an idyllic base to explore Mull. Richard and Maggie were very accommodating and helpful with local knowledge. The peace and tranquility is unrivalled. Just whilst out walking close by on an evening we saw otters, seals, red deer and a variety of eagles.
The accommodation itself was clean and tidy. It could be perceived as dated, but absolutely in keeping with the style.
We must also strongly recommend Flora at the Old Post Office in Lochbuie for meals - absolutely fantastic and generous.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank olibot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
235 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

What a lovely find for four nights/days in Mull. Richard and Maggie are actually sharing their home and all their private possessions with you when you stay here. Home from home plus more.
Accommodation is on the ground floor with either Ensuite or private bathrooms. A lovely layout and well furnished. Our bed was a "tester" with lovely brass fittings. Wardrobe,sitting spaces and dressing table completed the feeling of being in a private house and not a commercial enterprise.
Upstairs was a lovely lounge just like home with roaring log fire. On arrival we would find Richard leaning on his balcony and offering "tea or coffee in five minutes?" This was in the lounge and the fire lit. Well stocked bookshelves and furnishings completed the homely feeling.
Breakfasts were ordered the evening before from a 'tick list' and thus when we came down (went up to the panelled dining room to be accurate) the places were set and our requirements for the first course, juice/cereal etc., ready and waiting. Beverages and toast rapidly followed and then out main breakfast as ordered. Served on a Salver and not plated that left us to take what we wished and just what we could handle. Dilemma! Do we clear the plate as a courtesy and imply we had room for more or do we leave a bit to go to waste and thus imply portions were more than adequate? I think after four mornings Richard had got the measure of our appetite as he was extremely attentive to such details.
The property is an old farm and I think we were in the granary area. You could never tell.
Situated around five miles from the 'main' road from Craignure to Bunessan alongside Loch Spieve there was plenty of wildlife to enjoy in splendid scenery. We saw Otters in the loch and many sea birds and waders on the shore.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in April - hosts were very kind, attentive - happy to leave you alone . Fireplace in the living room was a real treat. Bed was comfortable and we slept well. Meals are great and large in size- eating in the dining room with the fancy setting was lovely. Quiet and breathtaking setting. Breakfast was great too. Only drama was the bath- not really a shower and the hot water was a bit shy at times. But given the people and the setting is only a small issue - will return

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Luddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My partner and I spent two nights here following a busy few days at the Tobermory Music Festival. It was an absolute delight, with generous and attentive hosts in a truly extraordinary B and B. Both the house and its location are beautiful, the room and breakfast and Richard and Maggie's attention to our every need was exceptional. I would recommend it to anyone who loves the natural world, wildlife, fascinating antiques and paintings and a hearty traditional breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

During our visits to England and Scotland we often make use of B&B’s. On most occasions these overnights were nice; however our stay at the Barrachandroman (Isle of Mull, April 2014) proved to be more than nice and belong to our top five of best B&B’s. Although Barrachandroman is near to the remote yet beautiful Lochbuie it is easy enough to reach from Craignure by car. After a thirty minute scenic drive along narrow winding roads owners Richard and Maggie were there to welcome us in an instant. The bedroom met our requirements of not being top big our too small and being warm and cozy. Just across the corridor was our bathroom, which was simple and clean. Apart from sleeping we didn’t spend much time in our room, most of our time inside we sat front of the fireplace in the wonderfully set lounge. Barrachandroman is an ideal location to undertake trips from, the walks on the peninsula have some great views on the Firth of Lorn, Torosay and Duart castle is round the corner and Iona is an hour’s drive away. And, when pulling up to the B&B after a day out like this, Richard is there to welcome you again with a cup of coffee or tea. Both owners are also open to all questions about the surroundings and are attentive in helping you to plan a hike. Richard and Maggie serve a fine Scottish breakfast and offer even better home cooked meals. The latter is quite convenient because the nearest establishment to have some dinner is the pub in Craignure. Please note that meals are not included in the accommodation costs but prices are very reasonable to our opinion. Now that’s been said, we can only highly recommend Barrachandroman when visiting Mull for a few days. It’s remote, authentic and charming. Moreover, it’s also a great starting point to explore the island from. Without a doubt this B&B deserves five out of five stars. So, here you go.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vor28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

It was February in Mull and I had mountain biked to this venue and the arrival of a filthy wet biker can phase some B&B owners. Not so Richard and Maggie.
My clothes were dried, Saturday and Sunday.
The position of their house is superb at the end of a Loch famed for isolation, otters and eagles.
The house made me feel I was staying in a National Trust house such was the grandeur of the lounge and dining room.
I was fed well and told about the local area.
I achieved my aim of seeing golden eagles and otters.
I watched England best Scotland in the rugby and Richard brought me a couple of beers thru, truly hospitable.
If you want rooms at a constant 21 degrees and power showers, try a Best Western, if you want grandeur, isolation, deer, eagles and otters, this is the place for you.
Ps don't miss the venison stew with junipers.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Davebuckler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Barrachandroman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrachandroman

Property: Barrachandroman
Address: Near Loch Spelve, Lochbuie PA62 6AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Mull > Lochbuie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lochbuie
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing