We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect weekend at The Pig”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pig near Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Pig near Bath
Ranked #2 of 3 Pensford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A perfect weekend at The Pig”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed at The Pig nr Bath this weekend with my husband and 2 of our children, 12 and 15.
Everything was perfect, the staff couldn't have been nicer, so enthusiastic, helpful, knowledgeable and cheery. The place is beautiful, well designed and decorated with some fabulous little touches. Gardens are amazing too. Super comfy beds and a rainfall shower I didn't want to get out of. I had a wonderful facial in the potting shed which was a real treat. The food and wine are the stars of the show though. A well priced menu and wine list. Delicious local and home grown food and the best breakfast I've had in ages, super fresh eggs from their own chickens, homemade bread and preserves and local meats and cheeses.
The hotel has only just opened but you'd never know it from the slick and super friendly service. I just hope they can keep it up! Back in September with a group of friends and can't wait!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sibs62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    129
    44
    7
    6
See reviews for
136
405
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Solana Beach, San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here last weekend. We flew into Heathrow from from San Diego got straight in a car and gor the The Pig around 7 PM. It was everything we wanted and more. The location was rural and pretty with wonderful countryside in perfect spring bloom. Good areas to walk, towns and villages to wander or just stay at the hotel and realx. Our room was perfect a 'comfy Lux Room'.

All public areas were very comfortable and tastefully decorated and sort of grand but understated. Not stuffy at all yet quite smart and sophisticated too. Food and service excellent. The staff were genuinely nice and seemed to be proud to work for this organization.

My only criticism was the drinks for some reason took a long time to get from them being ordered (whether at the bar or table) to the table or lounge. Food arrived before our wine on the first night. I did say something to the management as a helpful critique which seemed to be taken on board and appreciated.

For a place that has only been open for 5 weeks they (all the staff) are doing an amazing job. I really hope we go back a again some time.

Room Tip: I imagine all good. Just different sizes and shapes as an old building. You pay more for the bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottDunnJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at The Pig for our daughter's 21st birthday and had the most wonderful stay. We had never visited Hunstrete House so didn't appreciate the transformation. However, we have stayed at the Brockenhurst Pig and new the Bath version would have the signature look that is synonymous with the brand. Yes, it's shabby chic but not in the sense of this over used description - behind the laid back vibe is a slick and well oiled machine. Service is impeccable without being formal. The rooms we stayed in were romantic and comfortable. Lazing in the roll top bath by the window being observed by a herd of deer was a new and wonderful experience. The beautiful conservatory restaurant was buzzing and everyone looked relaxed and happy. The kitchen gardens, whilst a work in progress, had a great energy about them. Overall it's a 10 out of 10, we'll be regulars.

Room Tip: Main house rooms have the advantage of not having to go out in possible bad weather though we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squilly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Only a month after opening it feels like The Pig near Bath has been around for longer. It is a 10/10 from us. We took our dog (only let one dog stay at any time so book well in advance). He had a fab time and so did we. The wonderful people who run The Pig made a huge fuss if him including looking after him whilst we had dinner and breakfast. Our room was a Big Comfy Luxe and just off the walled garden. It was sublime, well stocked bar/ cabinet, huge fluffy towels and wooden garden chairs outside. The restaurant is gorgeous and unstuffy (as are the staff). The lounge areas are comfy and welcoming as well as atmospheric and there are plenty of sofas and
armchairs to chose from. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

A lovely shabby chic place to stay. Very informal and relaxed, with great design and fabulous food and provenance of ingredients. My only reservation are the wooden floors in the bedrooms. This gives the room the appearance of being slightly cold, rather than warm and cosy and does little to absorb noise from the rooms above. Throughout our stay we were aware of the other guests upstairs, and, during the night their visits to the bathroom. I notice that this is emerging as a theme from fellow reviewers, so perhaps some rugs would help in this instance?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bardswalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

What a transformation, the Pig has evolved from the old Huntstreet House and is now a wonderful place to eat, drink,sleep and be merry of course.
Our last visit was in the dying days of previous owners, when just 8 guests in restaurant. Last Saturday the restaurant was full and everyone seemed to be having a good time. The service, starting with the welcome was simply 1st class all evening. The staff were both knowledgeable and genuinely pleased to help.
The food was good, not great and wine lists are far too long, 15 minutes to read!Interesting use of old school bench's in restaurant, we asked for them to be changed as problem if you have any sort of back condition!
Overall, an excellent and exciting place to visit, well worth the effort!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Well the place is cool and chic.
The rooms are well done.Please don't get the room I stayed in 24 as you have wooden floors with a connecting door with the staff showing people around at 10:30 at night.Best bit at 7 am they cleaned the room next to me and chatted on the walie talkies for the full time.

Dinner well to be fair the chief must have been away.Breakfast all the food was cold including the eggs.
Great place but to get the staff in as we see all these places go bust if not done right.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattywasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensford
5.3 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
6.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Carpenters Arms
The Carpenters Arms
#1 of 1 in Stanton Wick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
7.4 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig near Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig near Bath

Property: The Pig near Bath
Address: Hunstrete House, Pensford BS39 4NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Pensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pensford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig near Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 29 bedroom mellow country house perfectly situated near Bath and Bristol. This is a real get-away location, truly rural, with quintessentially English views of this undiscovered part of Somerset. Designed in the same shabby chic style that has become THE PIG's signature, it features a greenhouse restaurant, a private room for dinner parties, 29 bedrooms and massage treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Pig near Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing