We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service, friendly staff, great food and great venue”
Review of The Pig near Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Pig near Bath
Ranked #2 of 3 Pensford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
234 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Friendly service, friendly staff, great food and great venue”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We went as a party of eight for dinner for a family celebration over Easter weekend.
The setting is lovely and the newly refurbished hotel is delightful with lovely reception areas and attractive dining room.
When I booked I was asked whether it was for a special occasion which it was and staff came and congratulated newly engaged couple during meal and brought iced "congratulations" biscuits at the end which was a really nice touch.
The menu is extensive and interesting and we thoroughly enjoyed our food which was well cooked and well presented.
The "Piggy Bits" starters were all a great hit, likewise the potted duck,pigeon breast and loin of rabbit.
The Bath Chap was huge - we were warned - with the largest amount of crackling I have ever encountered on a plate but perhaps a bit more fatty than expected.
The only area where we were slightly disappointed was puddings which weren't quite up to standard of the rest of the meal - or perhaps we had over-indulged on the previous courses!
It was a late booking and we were accommodated on the Kitchen Table which was in a room off the main dining room which was absolutely brilliant for us as we could enjoy ourselves without disturbing other diners by talking as a larger group but you weren't completely isolated from the rest of the diners. If you are a larger group, it is a great venue.
The staff were relaxed and friendly.
Wine list is very extensive and the ones we drank were excellent.
Highly recommended - we will return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brizzley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    132
    46
    7
    6
See reviews for
139
416
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at The Pig to celebrate our 20th anniversary. What a marvellous place. The house appears from the sweeping drive and you would expect the Bennett girls to come out from the house. We we pint to reception - one desk, two laptops that was it and the receptionist came to show us to our room and she was wearing jeans as all the staff do - no stuffy anonymous uniforms. Our room was a comfy lux - lovely wooden floors, comfortable beds ( pillows a little too soft for my liking) and a lovely bathroom with a rainfall walk in shower.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening. We had drinks in the lounge first and and sank happily into comfortable sofas. Chairs were well situated around the room so you never felt on top of anyone else. There was an extensive wine list and we were then show into the dining room. The food was marvellous with vegetables taken from the hotel's extensive kitchen garden. We played a game if snooker in the large wood panelled snooker room.
The gardens are beautiful and you can walk around the deer park. The hotel is close to Bath and surrounding areas.
We had a fantastic stay here - the shabby chic look was lovely, the staff friendly and chatty but not intrusive. The atmosphere was one of complete relaxation but this was obviously an extremely well run hotel.
We will definitely be back - loved it

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mang0jam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at The Pig near Bath for 2 nights over the Easter weekend and what a perfect choice we made. We stayed in one of the Comfy Luxe rooms which had its own front door from the garden. Wonderful comfy bed, beautiful big bathroom with separate bath and shower and a lovely fireplace to build your own fire should you wish (we did and enjoyed a nightcap sitting in front of it in sitting in the armchairs), with all the wood and materials provided (don't worry, there are radiators in the room too!). Nice expresso coffee machine in the room too. The rooms are decorated very well and have a very countryside feel to it all. Lots of nice little touches in the room. The main part of the hotel has a relaxing bar area with plenty of armchairs and sofas for you to relax for a pre dinner drink - again very well decorated and such a wonderful relaxed feel. There is a billiards room and also a large private dining room should you want to come and stay with a group of likeminded friends. The restaurant is again very authentic, surrounded by whatever plants they are growing and probably using in your dinner that night (mint, basil, strawberries to name but a few) and the staff were fantastic. The food was absolutely delicious and the breakfast options in the morning were great too (from muesli, yoghurt, fruit to full english, but all fresh and well prepared). I had a massage whilst I was there in one of their sheds in the garden which was decorated beautifully as a little massage room and was lovely and tranquil. The massage was great too. Distance from Bath centre is only about a 15 minute drive or so. All in all, a great weekend and we will be booking again very soon. To flag two VERY small niggles which are really quite irrelevant to the overall experience. Firstly the dinner felt a bit rushed, I was still chewing my last mouthful of my starter when my plate was taken away and our main courses arrived literally a couple of minutes later - so they would benefit from slowing the pace down a bit so we could have a more leisurely dinner. And secondly - just a couple more products in the bathroom would be nice - I am sure there are other ladies out there other than me that would like a moisteriser or two post relaxing bath (the products for cleansing were delightful). Well done The Pig.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemmie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here over the Easter weekend, and fell in love with The Pig - we will definitely be back. We had a comfy deluxe room, which with the word 'comfy' in the title we assumed would be quite small. Not so, the room was quite large with lots of space. Big king size bed, a well-stocked 'pantry', big wardrobe, and lounge area with chairs and a table. And the en-suite was well stocked with toiletries and bathrobes, with a nice big shower (although no bath). The furnishings, like the rest of the property, were a modern shabby chic style that was right up our street.

But the real gem of this place is it surroundings. The property is surrounded by a deer park, so out of our window we could see deer grazing - can't ask for a better view than that! And in the morning, with the mist and birdsong, it was absolutely stunning and serene.

And that is before you even get to the walled garden, where much of the produce used by the restaurant is grown (The Pig's mantra is that where possible all food must be sourced within a 25 mile radius). This is also where you find The Potting Sheds, where you can get a massage treatment, and even some of the garden rooms where guests can stay. It all makes for an extremely relaxing, enjoyable atmosphere.

We ate in the restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner (the latter of which I've reviewed on their restaurant page) and enjoyed all three meals.

The breakfast came at an additional charge to the room, but was well worth it, I thought. You have a choice of the breakfast table (buffet style), which is well stocked with pastries, cereal, fruit, yogurts, granola etc. But the highlight are the boiled eggs, which you make yourself. The eggs are fresh from the chickens on site, and they taste delicious. Tempted me to have dippy eggs for the first time since childhood!

It costs a bit extra on top to have a cooked breakfast, but again I think it is worth it. I had the Pig Out (the full english) and it was fantastic quality. I especially liked the white pudding. The portion sizes were also just right, so I wasn't so stuffed I couldn't manage other treats from the breakfast buffet.

In the evening, we enjoyed cocktails from the bar in the lounge area. It is a lovely, well decorated space, with fireplaces and sofas to keep you relaxed and newspapers and board games to keep you amused. Generally, the service at the bar was excellent (matching the very high standards of the waiting staff in the restaurant) although when we were there in the late evening they were not nearly attentive as during the afternoon. Nevertheless, the cocktails are great and it is definitely worth trying some of the homemade concoctions the bar staff have created.

The room rate was £189, which I think is great value. It is cheaper because this is a restaurant with rooms, so you don't get the extra mod cons you'd expect in a hotel, but frankly we didn't miss those because of the surroundings, the quality of the room, and the helpfulness of the staff.

Overall, we had a fantastic stay and are already thinking about when we can next return. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: We had room 6, which is in the courtyard area on the corner of the property. It is nice and quite an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shrimp_91a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed at The Pig nr Bath this weekend with my husband and 2 of our children, 12 and 15.
Everything was perfect, the staff couldn't have been nicer, so enthusiastic, helpful, knowledgeable and cheery. The place is beautiful, well designed and decorated with some fabulous little touches. Gardens are amazing too. Super comfy beds and a rainfall shower I didn't want to get out of. I had a wonderful facial in the potting shed which was a real treat. The food and wine are the stars of the show though. A well priced menu and wine list. Delicious local and home grown food and the best breakfast I've had in ages, super fresh eggs from their own chickens, homemade bread and preserves and local meats and cheeses.
The hotel has only just opened but you'd never know it from the slick and super friendly service. I just hope they can keep it up! Back in September with a group of friends and can't wait!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sibs62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solana Beach, San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here last weekend. We flew into Heathrow from from San Diego got straight in a car and gor the The Pig around 7 PM. It was everything we wanted and more. The location was rural and pretty with wonderful countryside in perfect spring bloom. Good areas to walk, towns and villages to wander or just stay at the hotel and realx. Our room was perfect a 'comfy Lux Room'.

All public areas were very comfortable and tastefully decorated and sort of grand but understated. Not stuffy at all yet quite smart and sophisticated too. Food and service excellent. The staff were genuinely nice and seemed to be proud to work for this organization.

My only criticism was the drinks for some reason took a long time to get from them being ordered (whether at the bar or table) to the table or lounge. Food arrived before our wine on the first night. I did say something to the management as a helpful critique which seemed to be taken on board and appreciated.

For a place that has only been open for 5 weeks they (all the staff) are doing an amazing job. I really hope we go back a again some time.

Room Tip: I imagine all good. Just different sizes and shapes as an old building. You pay more for the bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottDunnJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at The Pig for our daughter's 21st birthday and had the most wonderful stay. We had never visited Hunstrete House so didn't appreciate the transformation. However, we have stayed at the Brockenhurst Pig and new the Bath version would have the signature look that is synonymous with the brand. Yes, it's shabby chic but not in the sense of this over used description - behind the laid back vibe is a slick and well oiled machine. Service is impeccable without being formal. The rooms we stayed in were romantic and comfortable. Lazing in the roll top bath by the window being observed by a herd of deer was a new and wonderful experience. The beautiful conservatory restaurant was buzzing and everyone looked relaxed and happy. The kitchen gardens, whilst a work in progress, had a great energy about them. Overall it's a 10 out of 10, we'll be regulars.

Room Tip: Main house rooms have the advantage of not having to go out in possible bad weather though we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squilly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensford
5.3 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
6.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Carpenters Arms
The Carpenters Arms
#1 of 1 in Stanton Wick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
7.4 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig near Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig near Bath

Property: The Pig near Bath
Address: Hunstrete House, Pensford BS39 4NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Pensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pensford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig near Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 29 bedroom mellow country house perfectly situated near Bath and Bristol. This is a real get-away location, truly rural, with quintessentially English views of this undiscovered part of Somerset. Designed in the same shabby chic style that has become THE PIG's signature, it features a greenhouse restaurant, a private room for dinner parties, 29 bedrooms and massage treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Pig near Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing