We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Country Escape”
Review of The Pig near Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pig near Bath
Ranked #2 of 3 Pensford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I have experienced both the Pig Hotel in Brockenhurst and now the Pig hotel near Bath. They are both lovely and I highly recommend them. As a Londoner, it is a true treat to be able to stay in such a relaxing environment. The Pig is a luxury hotel but with comfort and not pretense. The pastoral setting combined with delicious home grown food and elegant comfort is what defines The Pig. I look forward to returning!

Room Tip: I had a lovely corner room above the dining room which was excellent for having my child sleep while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purposeandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

810 - 816 of 842 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for a weekend recently without the children and dogs, our room was really lovely it was a comfy with a roll top bath in the bedroom and lovely shower. Bed was comfy and lovely crisp white sheets my only criticisms were no biscuits for tea in the morning something I really enjoy laying in bed with tea, paper and biscuits even the well stocked larder didn't have any which was a real shame. Also no body lotion although there were toiletrys shampoo, body wash and the larder did have a set of four but to purchase. Food was good although we had pork scratchings before and they were obviously greasy so made us both a bit full and sick to be honest....... we were again disappointed as although a hotel they are also a restaurant so the bar areas filled quickly with others so we couldn't sit anywhere for pre dinner drinks which was a shame and exactly the same thing happened at the New Forest. Although we did enjoy the stay having paying extra for breakfast I'd rather pay a bit more and go to Lucknam Park.....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayley.gibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at the Pig hotel last month and absolutely loved it. It's a short drive from Cheddar Gorge, Bath or Bristol with plenty of lovely local walks to. The food was fantastic -especially the 'piggy bits' mini bites, the steak and the breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fnatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed for 2 weekend nights in May. It's a very classy place without being stuffy or pretentious. Our lovely room was a nice size and included a roll top bath to relax it. The bed was huge and shower hot and powerful. Our room also came with nice touches like DVD, Nespresso coffee machine, digital radio and fresh milk!
The restaurant serves amazing local food, with a real creative flare. Dishes like Pork Chap, Kentucky fried rabbit and sticky chilli pork bites are just a few examples. I'd eat every meal there if I could. Breakfasts were simple, varied and quality, though you do pay extra on top of your room.
rate.
Although not cheap, this is a great place to stay, and the staff make is all seem relaxed and effortless. Treat yourself, it's worth it!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We went as a party of three for lunch on Easter Saturday and the place was packed with people. It is usually only a 20 minute drive from Bath and in a wonderful rural location.

I liked the way the new conservatory was full of little pots of various herbs and plants as well as large shrubs in pots. It made a lovely atmosphere in there although somewhat noisy with the hard floor.

The extensive menus certainly concentrated on local produce and fresh vegetables from their own kitchen garden – more of that later. The dishes were innovative, nicely presented and served by well trained attentive staff who performed their task unobtrusively. I was delighted to find a bio dynamic wine from Marlborough New Zealand. The sauvignon blanc was superb, full of flavour as is the characteristic of a biodynamic wine.

We had three courses, a fresh and lively soup and my main course was South Devon hake served with rocket mashed potatoes. A really bright green – don’t be put off, it was very good! Two of us had a shot of crab-apple and nettle sorbet, very different and one went for the old favourite of apple pie served with Somerset brandy and walnut ice cream. No complaints at all about the food and wine at all - we were very happy with what we had.

Shabby chic may be in vogue but the noisy floorboards just about everywhere are not cosy or welcoming. Ladies clatter around in high heels and chairs scrape noisily when sitting down or getting up from the tables. At times you have to almost shout to make your voice heard.

I don’t like the large ornamental plant at the entrance to the hotel; I would liken it to something out of a bad 1950’s horror movie. Wouldn’t a delightful sculpture of a deer have been far more in keeping?

My guests from London were rather disappointed not to have a better view of the deer. Unfortunately they were some distance away at the bottom of the pasture resting under the treees. It will be just a matter if luck if you get a close view of them.

The kitchen gardens were superb. The Spanish gardener insisted on showing us around. A massive amount of work has been put into these beds of vegetables at various stages of growth, all immaculately weeded. Well done gardening staff!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel and location ruined by having to eat in a potting shed with garden themed nonsense.
The produce is good , but my dish was far too large and greasy making it sickly, and the surrounding and service with 12.5% service charge spoils everything.
I left irritated and sadly wouldn't return.

Stayed: April 2014
13  Thank Suz909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here just a couple of weeks after it had opened and I can't praise it enough. The hotel is beautiful - the decor, the location and the outside area. The serve was fantastic and the food great. It has a very relaxed atmosphere with excellent service but not in your face. Our room was lovely and the bed very comfortable. It was Mother's Day that week-end and they accommodated the changes to our lunch on Sunday with smiles and attentiveness. They made a small mistake of delivering champagne to my room instead of at breakfast but soon rectified this by making sure we had champagne in both places - at no cost. How can anyone complain about that. Perfect - will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: There is one room for dog-owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baroness V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensford
5.3 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
6.9 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
No.15 Great Pulteney
#10 of 34 in Bath
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
5.9 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 34 in Bath
1,452 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig near Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig near Bath

Address: Hunstrete House, Pensford BS39 4NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Pensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pensford
Price Range: £153 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig near Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 29 bedroom mellow country house perfectly situated near Bath and Bristol. This is a real get-away location, truly rural, with quintessentially English views of this undiscovered part of Somerset. Designed in the same shabby chic style that has become THE PIG's signature, it features a greenhouse restaurant, a private room for dinner parties, 29 bedrooms and massage treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your The Pig near Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing