We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only i could have had a read in the bed.”
Review of The Pig near Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pig near Bath
Ranked #2 of 3 Pensford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was our second pig venue, the first was at Brockenhurst, and i have to say the four of us loved it, at Pensford. One thing, whilst the lighting in public areas is close to perfect i cant think any one has tried an overnight stay in the rooms from management. Had they done so they would have found the lighting totally inappropriate. The bedside lights give nowhere near enough light to read by, and as regards a make up light in the room, their isnt one that suits. I know its a small thing , but if you like to read in bed, you cant in room 2. The style statement of a stand alone bath under a window, looking out on the drive to the car park is puzzling, and for 189pounds a night the view of a drive , and a newly constructed chicken run , is a little rich we thought. Would we go back, for sure we would. staff great, food great, wine waiter excellent, .

Room Tip: Try not to get one in the courtyard , overlooking the drive to the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

749 - 755 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just spent a wonderful two nights this weekend at The Pig. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we were so well looked after, all the staff are a real credit to the hotel, so helpful, charming and friendly. The food was excellent, home grown or locally sourced and the service by the staff made the dining a really enjoyable experience, never mind the food which was excellent, compliments to the chef. Nothing is too much trouble. We strolled around the beautiful grounds and saw the vegetable gardens which were amazing with a wide range of varieties of vegetables and fruits grown and saw the pigs and piglets as well as the deer, chickens and quail. This is a very special hotel with an excellent restaurant and the staff just make it extra special, I would recommend this hotel to everyone and will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckynKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Four of us went to stay at The Pig for two nights to celebrate our friend's 65th birthday and had the most wonderful time. Right from the start we were treated like Royalty, The Manager and staff were absolutely charming, each and every one, so friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The food was superb, the service impeccable and the hotel has been renovated to a very high standard, beautifully decorated with the atmosphere giving you a very homely, relaxed feel. The bedroom was extremely comfortable in every way. Lovely grounds, with an impressive kitchen garden and allotment, worth a stroll around that alone. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: The Super comfy rooms are sumptious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary with an overnight stay at The Pig and found it to be absolutely perfect! Slightly 'shabby chic' in style it has been beautifully renovated and feels very homely. Our room was very comfortable and the food quite superb! The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful and it was very clear that they all enjoy working there. We stayed at the old Hunstrete House hotel a few years ago and I have to say that the newly renovated version is a million times better. It is pricey but worth it for a special occasion. The building is beautiful as are the grounds. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlastairG531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Two of us went for dinner on a Saturday evening. It was very busy and extremely noisy, as previously commented this wasn't helped by wooden floors. A good menu but very overpriced side orders (£3.75 for some carrots!). Our starters and main courses were good - decent portions and delicious. Somewhat let down by rhubarb and custard tarts for dessert which had a runny consistency and not quite crispy enough pastry. The service was efficient, perhaps a bit much so when our coffee arrived before desserts. I also found the chairs uncomfortable, perhaps worth requesting a proper wooden chair rather than the metal garden variety.
Probably good for a group night out but for a relaxed, civilised evening in more comfort, when you'd like to be able to have a conversation without raising your voice I'd much prefer Ston Easton.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Six of us celebrated a birthday with an early Sunday supper. From the moment we arrived we felt very welcome and the service was excellent but not obsequious. The food was delicious and enjoyed by all. One main course was served approx. 10 minutes later than the others, with sincere apologies and free chips, which was most welcome. However at the end of the meal this dish was removed from our bill and the bottle of dessert wine was given as a present. Lovely gesture, much appreciated, particularly as we didn't moan or complain at the time….it was just noted by our waiter. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7clifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Flexible menu
Fresh healthy food
Suitable for vegetarians
Friendly helpful staff
Good,
I have been twice and found on both occasions that I was well looked after with approachable and helpful staff eager to please. I will be a regular visitor to the restaurant

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitzi_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensford
5.9 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,386 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
6.9 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
5.3 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig near Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig near Bath

Address: Hunstrete House, Pensford BS39 4NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Pensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pensford
Price Range: £154 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig near Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 29 bedroom mellow country house perfectly situated near Bath and Bristol. This is a real get-away location, truly rural, with quintessentially English views of this undiscovered part of Somerset. Designed in the same shabby chic style that has become THE PIG's signature, it features a greenhouse restaurant, a private room for dinner parties, 29 bedrooms and massage treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your The Pig near Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing