We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly lovely setting and food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pig near Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pig near Bath
Ranked #2 of 3 Pensford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Truly lovely setting and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Entering through the front door we passed a selection of muddy wellies - obviously walking in the grounds is very enjoyable. We were met by extremely friendly and helpful staff and shown to our table in the conservatory, with doors open all round - the outside coming inside. The ambience is excellent with pots of herbs and chillies adding to the decor. Home smoked salt and olive oil was on each of the tables, and the menu, although not huge has enough choice to vary meals if you stay for any length of time.

The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the menu. The wine list was good, the food was good etc, etc. I would recommend this restaurant, and will be going back to try another of their dishes. Perhaps the rabbit next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    128
    42
    5
    6
See reviews for
131
392
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our family party of ten travelled by taxi from Bath to this amazing hotel where we were welcomed upon arrival by a member of the very attentive staff. This manor house is set in magnificent grounds. We began our evening by playing croquet that was specially set up for us and we all agreed it was a great way to start the evening. We went in for dinner and party games. The meal was tremendous we shared the piggy bits that were very interesting and tasty, I followed this with pigs cheek and for main I had venison that was the best I have ever had. The service was excellent. We finished the evening in the bar and were later collected by taxis for the return journey. A brilliant evening enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just returned from an amazing couple of nights at The Pig - we loved it from curly tail to hoof!

The country house and grounds are stunning, and everything is so thoughtfully done. From rooms that are immaculate, yet full of character, to making the most of the beautiful grounds - chairs/benches and tables strewn at strategic intervals - they've really nailed it here. If you're looking for the ultimate relaxing break in beautiful surroundings, book The Pig right now!

In more detail... we stayed for a night on the way to visiting friends and again on the way back. The first night we stayed in a Comfy room by the courtyard. It was a lovely, airy room with everything so well thought through, from the well-stocked larder, to the beautiful Drench shower and toiletries. The complimentary bottle of Nyetimber on ice was a fantastic welcome! I woke early the next morning and enjoyed a great coffee from the Nespresso machine in our room (such a great idea!) in the courtyard.

The grounds at The Pig are amazing - you can visit the Burford chickens that supply the eggs for your breakfast, and wander through the extensive kitchen gardens to see the herbs and vegetables that are grown for the kitchen. We loved going to see the pigs, 2 adult females and 3 male piglets - they were absolutely adorable! There's also a deer park running across the grounds and we were lucky enough to see them at various times of the day. .

On our second night we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a Comfy Luxe room, the Gardener's Cottage, at the bottom of a walled garden. It was stunning - beautiful bedroom and woodburner (would be great in the winter), rolltop bath and Drench shower, another complimentary bottle of Nyetimber, private patio beautifully surrounded with shrubs and flowers. The wooden loungers were so comfortable and it was absolute bliss to relax out here in the sunshine. Perfect for romantic break.

Dinner on both nights was fantastic, everything either grown or bred in the grounds or within a 25 mile radius. The staff were all really friendly and knowledgeable, without being intrusive or obsequious. We spent as much time as possible outside thanks to the sun, but The Pig would be brilliant to visit in the autumn/winter, especially the bar and the billiards room!

In short, I can't say enough good things about The Pig and we can't wait to go back. Absolutely loved it.

Room Tip: Any room at The Pig would ensure a delightful stay, but the Comfy Luxe rooms are worth splashing out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFJ_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Egreve, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Wow what a place! Cannot recommend highly enough! Everything from the service, the surroundings and most importantly the food was superb! Such a special place and well worth a visit. Want to go back tomorrow! Order the mini starters to share.... Just amazing, every one of them! Take me back....ps great value considering everything!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
207 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for one night on the way back from our mini-moon (honeymoon) in Cornwall. We was surprised intiially how close The Pig is to the main road, but once you enter the grounds it's astounding how little you hear and you forget you are only a few miles from Bath.
We was greeted like old friends upon check in and was shown around the hotel which was just so unique and outstanding. Our room was room number one in the courtyard as we had our dog with us. The room was absolutely stunning, the decor was beautiful from top to bottom and it was such a treat that we had a roll top bath in the room and the bathroom had a huge shower and wet room. Underneath the television was a well stocked larder with delicious goodies which we dived into.
Talking about food, well this just made The Pig for us. Whilst mainly being a meaty place, we as vegetarians were very well catered for. The room in which food is served is like a victorian conservatory and everything was just perfect from start to finish. The service was impeccable, the food was divine and the atmosphere was just wonderful.
Our sleep was very peaceful and we went to a huge delicious breakfast in the morning which again was just amazing - so much choice !
I wouldn't hesitate to stay at The Pig again, it was such a treat and we was made to feel very special whilst we was finishing the last leg of our honeymoon. Thank you to The Pig and all of thw wonderful staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We went for 2 nights expecting to visit Bath on the middle day - but we never left the hotel! Why would you? Really good styling - especially in the lounges, bar and dining room. Lovely grounds with an inspiring vegetable garden. Delightful piglets (whose fate is undecided as the staff love them so much!). The staff were very well trained. Friendly, efficient, helpful. We love Babington House and this has a similar feel, but without the uber cool young clientele.
Food was good. The pork based appetisers to have with your pre dinner drink have to be tried once. But don't order a heavy meal after!
We will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiggyWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is a truly beautiful building which is very pleasing on the eye, its surrounded by wonderful scenery which encases the welcoming Village of Pensford, only a lovely 3 mile country walk, a Couple of local Pubs and a quaint Corner shop that had everything we needed for our journey home. All in all a great day, so we will definitely be booking to stay over night on our next visit, as once booked into the Hotel there's not far to go for all your needs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensford
5.3 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
6.4 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
7.4 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
6.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig near Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig near Bath

Property: The Pig near Bath
Address: Hunstrete House, Pensford BS39 4NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Pensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pensford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig near Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 29 bedroom mellow country house perfectly situated near Bath and Bristol. This is a real get-away location, truly rural, with quintessentially English views of this undiscovered part of Somerset. Designed in the same shabby chic style that has become THE PIG's signature, it features a greenhouse restaurant, a private room for dinner parties, 29 bedrooms and massage treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia and Hotel.de so you can book your The Pig near Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing