We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of The Pig near Bath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pig near Bath
Ranked #2 of 3 Pensford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We held our 30th wedding anniversary dinner in the private dining room at The Pig @Bath and couldn't have been more pleased. The room, food and service were exceptional - Daryl was our host and he couldn't have looked after us any better. The ambience in the room was perfect as was the food.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank skinnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

764 - 770 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

This used to be Hunstrete House Hotel which closed in 2011 are the company that owned it went into administration. After a £3m refit I'm pleased to say it has re-opened. We had lunch here today and I can report good things. We arrived on a beautiful sunny afternoon and were shown in the bar where we had drinks and and a chance to peruse the menu. The whole atmosphere is one which is laid back and relaxed with no stuffy staff pushing you along. All the sfaff are young pleasant and friendly. After ordering we were shown to our table in the dinning room with a magnificent new conservatory which has been recently added. My starter of black pudding with chorizo, quails eggs and dressed leaves was a little below par. Just wasn't enough egg or chorizo and the leaves we're lacking in dressing. However the flavours worked just fine and it was all fresh. My main was rump of lamb and it made up for the disappointing starter. Cooked pink and serve with mange tout and courgettes with a lovely rich reduction of sauce. It was delicious just needed a little more sauce. The potatoes we ordered were meant to be roast with rosemary and garlic but were overcooked, dry and lacking flavour 1/10 for the spuds. I rarely eat dessert but my wife reported the rice pudding was a sticky sweet joy. I just ordered a Coffee which was quite simply disgusting. It was right out of a coffee machine very poor when so much effort has gone into other things. I did mention that the coffee was bad and this was subsequently removed from our bill. Lovely setting and beautifully restored hotel. Just need to improve in a couple areas. Would certainly return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank phil186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a mid week break here to celebrate a special birthday, and it was just delightful. The Pig is in a beautiful setting with opportunities to visit the kitchen gardens and see the pigs.
The hotel is very comfortable with a well appointed bedroom and much attention to detail. we were a little hot in the bedroom and would have welcomed a lighter duvet.

Although I hadn't 'promoted' my husband's birthday, nevertheless it was acknowledged with a card in the bedroom, a complimentary glass of dessert wine and a decorated Pig biscuit.
A great place to stay if visiting Bath which is about 8 miles away but easily accessed by the park and ride.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Arriving down the long drive way we had no idea what a perfect afternoon we were about to enjoy. The building was a delight to behold as we drove up and it only got better. We received a warm welcome and were shown into the gardens. The place had a wonderful feel about it with croquet and bowls available. The staff were all friendly and exceptionally well trained and versed in the menu. The food was sublime and from pigs cheek & black pudding & pancetta starter to lamb rump and rib eye steak it was all simply gorgeous. The real stars of the show though were the little extras, home smoked salt, their own olive oil to compliment home made bread. Tobacco onion rings are an absolute must and the garden salad the best dressing I have ever eaten. When the bill arrived we were pleasantly surprised and both said what exceptional value for money it had been. Reluctantly we left but with the comfort we will soon return and definitely stay over.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pollyanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We are locals and just popped in to have a quick look what is all this Pig thing about. Well, what can I say ?!! All of my adjectives to describe the place would be stunning, lovely, beautiful, tasteful and so on.. The food is great, service second to none, setting , house itself - outstanding. Also great value for money, especially comparing to far overpriced Bath.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank anabelle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel had a lovely decor and our room was clean and well-kept. The bed was very comfortable... The bath and rain shower were wonderful. Gardens pretty. I do wish they had room service for breakfast. The food in the restaurant was great, although we both had upset stomachs the day we left. The apple pie was way too tart, so best to avoid. That said, we'd return as we had a great weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingLady0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Popped in on the way home from dropping children off on a Friday early evening. Lovely setting especially the restaurant area, great attention to detail, well priced and very high quality non pretentious food - outstanding in fact.

Wine by the glass expensive so a treat but the staff and food made this place somewhere we would go in a flash when feeling flush.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Binsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensford
5.3 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
6.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
6.5 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,324 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
5.9 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 34 in Bath
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig near Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig near Bath

Address: Hunstrete House, Pensford BS39 4NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Pensford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pensford
Price Range: £150 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig near Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 29 bedroom mellow country house perfectly situated near Bath and Bristol. This is a real get-away location, truly rural, with quintessentially English views of this undiscovered part of Somerset. Designed in the same shabby chic style that has become THE PIG's signature, it features a greenhouse restaurant, a private room for dinner parties, 29 bedrooms and massage treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your The Pig near Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing