We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eggy pint”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Eastern Touch

Eastern Touch
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eggy pint”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Visited here on a Sunday night. Only people In the building. Ordered a pint of fosters and was given a flat pint which smelt like eggs. The lines clearly have not been cleaned in a while. Ordered pomperdoms which were stale and tasteless. Starters where brought out while in the middle of eating these and to be honest that was the only nice part of the meal. Main was tasteless and chips were cold oven chips. Bill. And and drinks were a rip off. 9.45
For an eggy pint and 2x half pint cider and black. When the bill was put down the waiter now became the security guard and stood over us or blocked the doorway in fear that we far off. Safe to say no tip was given and we will not be visiting here anytime soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Atu93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    5
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tasty food, great location, good price, great service”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have had loads of meals at The Eastern Touch because the food is lush! There is loads to choose from on the menu, the prices are good and the service is excellent. We have never had a meal that we didn't thoroughly enjoy. You can ask for tweeks to the food (if you like it a bit more spicy, or no onions etc.). The staff are lovely and go out of their way to make your visit as lovely as can be. We've been for Valentines night for the last 3 years because it was such a lovely atmosphere and they had decorated the restaurant perfectly for a romantic evening. Large groups are catered for too. They do a takeaway service and the quality of the food is just as good. The restaurant is just 2 mins from East Boldon metro station, so if you are looking for somewhere to have excellent Indian cuisine then you need to visit the Eastern Touch. I only hope that by being honest on here that it isn't fully booked next time I want to go!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheShawsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very poor.”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Starter was tasteless. Bhajis dry. All 3 of our currys were bland and seemed more like pasta sauces. Could be called italian touch. £10 for a king prawn dish with 3 prawns in. Wouldn't go back. Terrible.

Helpful?
2 Thank Rikki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We visited here with friends using a Groupon.
The Eastern Touch has been here for a long time and it's been several years since our last visit.
The interior looks to have been recently refurbished and is spotlessly clean, we we're welcomed by staff and Shown to a small waiting are, given menus and drinks order taken. Our food order was taken a few minutes later and we were shown to our table.
The food arrived quickly and obviously freshly cooked poppadums crisp and dry,pickles tasty.
I ordered Garlic Chilli Chicken with mushroom pilau. This was delivered piping hot and tasted delicious. Not the hottest/spiciest I have eaten nor the largest portion however it was good and I had enough to eat.
I don't think this is a 'must visit' place there are better and worse in the town however we all enjoyed our food and may return.

Helpful?
2 Thank cazdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Won't be ordering take away from here again!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Really disappointed, chicken was tough, madras was mild, tasteless and sauce was thin. Pathia had lentils in, I've never had a pathia with lentils and no onion. Chips were shop bought oven chips that were fried but not enough as they were soggy. Also expensive. On the positive side it arrived hot.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larla100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eastern Touch also viewed

East Boldon, Sunderland
 
East Boldon, Sunderland
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Eastern Touch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing