We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Gorgeous Glangwili” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glangwili Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glangwili Mansion
Ranked #1 of 1 Llanllawddog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous Glangwili”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at Glangwili Mansion for two nights as we wanted a central base in South Wales for a whirlwind mini sightseeing break. From the outset, we received a very warm welcome from George and Linda (the owners) ……. Along with much appreciated tea and Welsh cakes!

The guest accommodation was very well appointed and the bathroom was so much better than most Hotels we have stayed in.
The bed was incredibly comfortable and the pillows were squashy, so after watching a spot of TV at the end of the day we were out like a light.

The attention to detail with the décor, amenities and service were tremendous, as was the tranquillity of the location.

There was an excellent choice of breakfast available, with my personal favourite being the “Full Welsh”. This by the way filled me up for a straight 8 hours, I didn't need to eat all day, which was a bonus!

To summarise, I can say nothing more than to applaud George and Linda for what they have achieved at Glangwili Mansion. It is MUST if you are visiting Carmarthen or surrounding towns, but also need peace and quiet at the end of the busy day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glangwilimansion, Owner at Glangwili Mansion, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review and we really appreciate your comments.
We are always happy to hear that guests have enjoyed our hospitality at Glangwili Mansion and our hens are very happy that you enjoyed the freshly laid eggs for breakfast!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes George & Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
106
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight and had a wonderful time. We arrived late and were warmly greeted by George who took us to our suite for the night, Champagne. Very roomy with a king size bed and plenty of room for a settee too. I became so relaxed that I soon fell asleep watching tv.
The following morning's breakfast was a feast - fresh fruit salad, the most delicious croissant ever and scrambled egg and bacon, and a delicious pot of hot coffee. We were set up for the day ahead.
Linda and George are fantastic hosts and an example of how a business of this kind should and can be run. Well done and I can't wait to find an excuse to come back to stay again with you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glangwilimansion, Owner at Glangwili Mansion, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your great review - it's very much appreciated and we look forward to your return visit.
Best wishes from Linda & George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandyrnog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Carmarthen is not overly blessed with quality hotel or b&b accommodation. We decided to try Glangwyli mansion although it is some way out of town. My wife and I spent one night at this modern extension to a much older house. It was cold and wet outside but we were warm and snug in the large modern room. For a small b and b the breakfast was absolutely amazing. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glangwilimansion, Owner at Glangwili Mansion, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you so much for your 5 star review. We very much appreciate you taking the time to give your feedback. Best wishes George & Linda Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We've just spent 3 nights at Glangwili Mansion & cannot sing its praises high enough. Linda & George are sublime hosts & Linda is an excellent chef . The tea & cake when we arrived was most welcome.
We stayed on the ground floor in the largest room as it had a sofa bed to accommodate our teenage daughter. We all had such comfortable beds that we fell asleep instantly. The en suite wet room was luxurious.
There was plenty of space for the 3 of us & the views over the front lawn were wonderful. Breakfast was delicious; Fresh fruit salad, a choice of juice as well as yoghurts & cereal are on offer before you get down to the serious business of choosing your cooked breakfast, over a warm croissant if you wish. Pots of tea or coffee freely flow from the kitchen. Everything was beautifully cooked & presented; we didn't eat again until the evening.
Glangwili Mansion truly gives food for the body & the soul; our batteries have been recharged & we shall certainly be returning!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beechtree35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glangwilimansion, Owner at Glangwili Mansion, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review - we really do appreciate your comments, particularly that Glangwili Masion is food for the body and soul and a great place to recharge your batteries. We are very passionate about the house and the area and love to share it with like-minded guests. It was lovely to meet your family and good luck with house hunting in beautiful Carmarthenshire!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymru
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Burgundy Suite. George & Linda were simply the best hosts we have ever experienced anywhere in the world. You are really made to feel that you are visiting long time friends things were so friendly. When I say nothing is too much trouble I mean it, George & Linda really take care of everything, take their advice on dining, they really do know what they are talking about. Suite was designed, decorated & furnished to the highest of high standards. Mansion house is an incredible place to stay. Welsh cakes & coffee lounging on leather suites in front of a fire, heaven. Location is picture perfect & the ideal location to get away from everyday life. You may want to lounge in your room relaxing in the luxury of it all but I urge you to get up for breakfast, it's not to be missed! This is one of those places you will say you'll return to and always will. Not a point of will we go back but when can I go back!

Room Tip: Burgundy suite overlooks front of mansion house & gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BucsFanCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glangwilimansion, Owner at Glangwili Mansion, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Wow! Thank you for such a wonderful review although it really isn't hard to look after lovely people! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes Linda & George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I dont usually write reviews but our stay at Glangwili Mansion was so wonderful I feel compelled to tell others. My boyfriend and I stayed here for just one night this weekend. After a not so good night elsewhere we needed somewhere tranquil. This place fit the bill perfectly.George and Linda were the perfect hosts.They had provided everything we needed - stunning decor, the original art was beautiful and the breakfast was perfectly cooked with local produce and some homelaid eggs! The bed was the comfiest I have ever experienced , even better than my treasured mattress at home and the surroundings were simply beautiful. We are already planning our return visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovepuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glangwilimansion, Owner at Glangwili Mansion, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review - we always appreciate guest's honest comments and we look forward to your next visit. Best wishes George & Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed recently for just one night. The hosts were friendly and welcoming. The rooms were immaculate, comfortable and well decorated (we stayed in the 'Champagne' room).
It was peaceful and there was a selection of books/DVDs available, if needed. There was a good choice at breakfast; freshly cooked, delicious and filling! Had we the time we would have loved to explore the surrounding valley.
The weak shower in our ensuite was the only (slight) downside to an otherwise perfect experience.
We hope to return for a longer stay soon.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JonHSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glangwilimansion, Owner at Glangwili Mansion, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your very complimentary review - we always appreciate constructive suggestions and as such the shower head has already been upgraded! As you have already commented, one night isn't long enough to explore this beautiful area so we look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay in the not too distant future. Best wishes George & Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanllawddog
6.4 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
6.6 mi away
Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
6.4 mi away
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
#3 of 7 in Carmarthen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
6.5 mi away
Boar's Head Hotel
Boar's Head Hotel
#6 of 7 in Carmarthen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hollybrook Country Inn
Hollybrook Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Bronwydd
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glangwili Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glangwili Mansion

Property: Glangwili Mansion
Address: Glangwili Mansion Glangwili Mansion | Llanllawddog, Llanllawddog, Carmarthen SA32 7JE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen > Llanllawddog
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llanllawddog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Glangwili Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious 5 star, Gold Award, boutique style Bed and Breakfast. Situated on the edge of Brechfa Forest, a few miles north of the bustling market town of Carmarthen, South West Wales. Create the perfect weekend break... A romantic getaway?, Maybe walking in the forest?, Montaing biking?, Or simply relaxing in your luxurious room - at Glangwili Mansion, we give you a special place to chill out and unwind in complete comfort. Glangwili Mansion is in a great central location within easy reach of fabulous beaches, ancient castles, the Coastal Path, the Brechfa Mountain Bike Trails, The National Botanic Garden of Wales and a rich selection of award winning restaurants. Situated not far from the western end of the M4, Glangwili Mansion is an easy run from London but it will feel like a world away. Informal luxury, first class service, peace and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Glangwili Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing