We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it doesn’t get any better than this”
Review of Glangwili Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glangwili Mansion
Ranked #1 of 1 Llanllawddog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

we booked the 4 rooms and the barbecue package for 8 adults to celebrate a significant birthday, George and Linda are the best hosts ever, ensuring that our stay was memorable, every aspect was spot on and could not be bettered in any way. the setting is idyllic and accommodation luxurious. can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: the garden room is the largest but all 4 are very comfortable and can be recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JeffS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glangwilimansion, Owner at Glangwili Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review - we really do appreciate your comments .
It was great to be able to share in your family' s birthday celebrations and hope that you all have very happy memories of your evening in the BBQ Cabin. We look forward to your next visit. Best wishes Linda & George Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

First of all, would like to say a big THANKYOU , to George and Linda for their hospitality, they are two of the nicest hotel owners we have met! We travelled as a couple and booked the champagne room. Came to find the mansion house by looking on trip advisor at the last minute , what a gem! We have stayed in hundreds of hotels all around the world, and can honestly say, this is the cleanest we have been in. The mansion house is beautiful, the grounds are gorgeous and the rooms are tastefully furnished and decorated. The dining room is a treat too, the breakfast was lovely. Loved seeing the alpacas, chickens, birds and dog too.
Seriously, couldn't fault the owners or the mansion. Don't hesitate to book if you are looking for somewhere in the vicinity, great value for money too.

Room Tip: Champagne room was large with front and side facing windows. Took a look at the disabled room too, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank m r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glangwilimansion, Owner at Glangwili Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to meet you both. Best wishes Linda & George Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Glangwili Mansion is pretty unique. Set in a beautiful, peaceful and rural location but close enough to visit and enjoy all that the Gower and west of Tenby has to offer whether that be fantastic beaches or more cultural interests. George and Linda are delightful hosts. We stayed 3 nights in late July and were blessed with fantastic weather but we felt very much at home. Breakfast is superb and the room we stayed in (Champagne) equally so. A dinner option would be a perfect topping but I can see that all owners need a life. We ate at The Railway pub about 3.5 miles away down quiet but narrow roads which George will book and advise on how to get to. Friendly locals and great food. Little things make it unique. Our white wine was in a bucket of ice for our return one night - not requested but George had spotted in our room and had ready chilled for our return. No phone reception but wifi responsive. Thank you George and Linda.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dunners21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glangwilimansion, Owner at Glangwili Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your 5 star review - we really appreciate your feedback. As you found out, there is plenty to do, in and around Carmarthenshire, as well as great places to eat out and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Come back again soon! Best wishes Linda & George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We all know that life can be full of disappointments. A highly recommended restaurant that doesn't quite come up to scratch or a holiday resort that looks great in the brochure but lacks that little 'something' to make it special. We can all recall experiences which left us wondering what all the fuss was about, as our experience didn't quite match our expectation. My wife and I recently stayed at Glangwili Mansion for 3 night break and are delighted to report from the time we arrived until the time we left, just proved to be a quite incredible experience without a hint of disappointment! On arrival we were very warmly greeted by the hosts, George and Linda who showed us to our accommodation - the Garden Suite - wow!! Every conceivable luxury on hand to make our stay comfortable and unforgettable and located in an area of Wales which could only be described as breathtaking. George and Linda have achieved a level of excellence and comfort which would be envied by top flight hotels and it is clear to see why their hard work and dedication to customer satsfaction has been selected to receive the 'Gold Award' by Visit Wales. This luxurious country mansion cannot fail to impress the most discerning guests who will find the relaxed, comfortable accommodation coupled with incredible hospitality, hard to beat. Breakfast gave Linda an opportunity to demonstrate her culinary skills using locally sourced products, particularly the 'home-grown' eggs, to provide a wide range of mouth-watering dishes. Impeccable service provided by George just added to the fabulous overall experience. We shall certainly return for another short break in the not too distant future and don't look any further if you would like to benefit from first class accommodation with good old fashioned customer service in a beautiful area of Carmarthenshire.

Room Tip: Select the Garden Suite if available, for spacious accommodation with an excellent outlook over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glangwilimansion, Owner at Glangwili Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Linda and I were as sad to see you leave as you were to be leaving.
We set out 8 years ago to create a fabulous property, set amidst the most beautiful scenery in Carmarthenshire, offering a quality experience for all of our guests. Your review reassures us that we are succeeding in delivering the top class service that our customers deserve. You were a pleasure to look after and we look forward to welcoming you back at the next opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

An absolute gem that has all the plus points that make a stay an absolute pleasure.Perfect accomodation,superb location,hosts that really really look after you and care that your stay is enjoyable.Breakfast superb with locally sourced products,such as eggs that have travelled approx 10 feet!!!!!
Congratulations to George and Linda,hope to see you again soon.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SouthWalesAvalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glangwilimansion, Owner at Glangwili Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and our 'girls' are happy that you enjoyed the eggs! Best wishes, Linda & George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Although we don't usually write reviews we do read them and have broken our habit as we wanted to reassure any readers that although previous reviews may give the impression that Glangwili is 'too good to be true', it really is that good! The location is the most peaceful we have ever stayed in (background noise here comprises the local buzzard calling as it flies over or the continual sound of redstarts singing), our room was high spec and the breakfast will fill you for a week. George and Linda really are the ultimate hosts - genuinely lovely people who want everything about your stay to be perfect. We stayed for 7 nights and found the location was also ideal for our 'wish list' itinerary of visiting locations in Carmarthen, Pembrokeshire, and Ceredigion. We visited Tenby; St Davids; Solva; Llanelli; New Quay (yes, we did see the dolphins :-) Llandeilo; Aberaeron and also National Trust properties at Llanachaeron and Dinefwr. All were in easy reach and it was even a pleasure to drive on the empty roads. We hope to return to the area in future and would not even consider staying anywhere other than Glangwili. A wonderful break from which we will have many lasting happy memories.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al_Smart137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glangwilimansion, Owner at Glangwili Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your fabulous review - we really appreciate your comments.
It's quite unusual for guests to stay for 7 nights but as you found out, Carmarthenshire is South Wales's best kept secret with no shortage of things to do - fabulous scenery, beautiful beaches, great restaurants and plenty of opportunity for shopping! A weekend is definitely not enough time to fit everything in!
We really hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again - it's not difficult to look after lovely guests. Best wishes Linda & George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I wasn't going to write a review as I can only reiterate all the previous comments double/triple fold, but that wouldn't be fair to Linda & George who deserve every accolade possible. We stayed at Glangwili Mansion overnight on 3rd June, it being our 2nd overnight stay at this wonderful place. When you step into Glangwili you find yourself in the most amazing contemporary surroundings worthy of being a millionaire's "pad"! You immediately feel you are in a very special place which has been restored with great love. We stayed in the Chartreuse suite the 1st time. which was simply luxurious with an enormous en suite bath. The 2nd time we stayed in the Garden suite which was perfect for my husband who now has mobility difficulties as it was on the ground floor. It was sumptuous and spacious with a fabulous wet room. It also had a private patio where we enjoyed welsh cakes and coffee on our arrival. Glangwili Mansion is set in the most spectacular, quiet location, which is very therapeutic & also is close to Brechfa Forest, Aberglasney Gardens & the National Botanic Gardens.It is an ideal base for people who like to walk or cycle. Linda & George are the most loveliest, empathetic couple you will find. They enjoy people immensely, they love their home and they care about their local community. After a most delectable breakfast, which catered for every possible taste, George invited us to feed the alpacas and Harris Hawks & this was such a highlight for my husband who adores animals. We left feeling like we'd had the most wonderful break feeling refreshed & rejuvenated and were saying goodbye to special friends. Since returning home I have been asked if I am on commission as I have recommended Glangwili Mansion to so many people and I would now like to recommend it to Trip Advisor readers as I would hate you to miss out on this very special place. We sincerely cannot wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: The 2 suites we have stayed in have been "awesome" and I have no doubt the other suites ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eileenk35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glangwilimansion, Owner at Glangwili Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your amazing review - we really appreciate your comments and it's good to know we are 'on the right track'.
We love to see guests returning to Glangwili Mansion as it is like welcoming back old friends so we look forward to your next visit.
Best wishes Linda & George.
P.S. I don't know about you being on commission but would you like the title Director of Marketing??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanllawddog
6.4 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
472 reviews
6.5 mi away
Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
6.4 mi away
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
#4 of 7 in Carmarthen
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Drovers Arms Hotel
The Drovers Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Carmarthen
76 reviews
6.5 mi away
Rose and Crown Hotel
Rose and Crown Hotel
#3 of 7 in Carmarthen
107 reviews
17.5 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glangwili Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glangwili Mansion

Address: Glangwili Mansion Glangwili Mansion Glangwili Mansion | Llanllawddog, Llanllawddog, Carmarthen SA32 7JE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen > Llanllawddog
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llanllawddog
Price Range: £104 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Glangwili Mansion 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious 5 star, Gold Award, boutique style Bed and Breakfast. Situated on the edge of Brechfa Forest, a few miles north of the bustling market town of Carmarthen, South West Wales. Create the perfect weekend break... A romantic getaway?, Maybe walking in the forest?, Montaing biking?, Or simply relaxing in your luxurious room - at Glangwili Mansion, we give you a special place to chill out and unwind in complete comfort. Glangwili Mansion is in a great central location within easy reach of fabulous beaches, ancient castles, the Coastal Path, the Brechfa Mountain Bike Trails, The National Botanic Garden of Wales and a rich selection of award winning restaurants. Situated not far from the western end of the M4, Glangwili Mansion is an easy run from London but it will feel like a world away. Informal luxury, first class service, peace and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Glangwili Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing