We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first class attraction.”
Review of The Tank Museum

The Tank Museum
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Bovington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tank Museum brings history to life, with the world's best collection of tanks and explosive live displays. See almost 300 armoured vehicles as you explore seven powerful exhibitions. "The Tank Story" details tank history from 1915 to the present. "Battlegroup Afghanistan" transports you to the modern front line. In "The Second World War - Discovery Centre", you'll see the breadth of our unique collection plus "Fury" uncovering our involvement in the film. Following the First World War centenary commemorations, explore "The Trench Experience" and "Warhorse to Horsepower". New for 2015, "Tank Factory" tells the story of the tank makers.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Dorset UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A first class attraction.”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The Tank Museum at Bovington (Dorset) must rank alongside the Imperial war Museum in London as an attraction which anyone with an interest in the subject of warfare and its weaponry, should visit. This museum, provides the most extensive collection of armoured vehicles located in one place that, I certainly, have ever seen. In addition to the tanks, there are other static and interactive exhibits providing detailed information with photographs text and other aids. At the time of this review there is an interactive "walk through" taking the visitor into the recruiting office, through the rail head, past a dressing station and into the trenches.
At first, I thought that the entrance fee was a bit expensive, but after (and during) our few hours at the museum (time passes very quickly) we felt that the fee was worth every penny. The museum also provides a "free pass" for 12 months as part of the entrance fee for those, who like us, intend to visit Bovington again soon to catch up with what we must have missed, as there is so much to see.
There is an excellent restaurant providing meals and snacks, and also a number of smaller facilities for just a drink and a bun if you prefer.
An extensive car park means that there is no problem in finding a space for the car.
All in all a good value, well presented attraction and well worth a visit, (or even more visits).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnDorsetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,317
    499
    66
    8
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must if you have any kind of interest in tanks...”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We visited the Bovington Tank Museum for the "Tank Fest 2014" event and both me and my two sons (8 and 12) loved it. A great museum with a collection of tanks that is unmatched by any other tank museum. The Tank Fest show was also great and very well coordinated by the staff.

The museum itself is very nice and worth a visit any day of the year - but if you can go there on the "Tank Fest" you will also see the museum relics rolling. And it's the biggest show of working WW2 tanks in the world - many of the visitors there had flown in from around the world just for the show. The only problem is that there is so much happening on the outside that it is very hard to get the time to go through the vast museum!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Måns S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tank Museum”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a very interesting attraction. The staff are very knowledgeable in "tank matters" and are happy to talk about their experiences when they were in the Army (if that was the case) and the exhibits and displays.

Plenty of car parking (free) and easy to find.

The only downside was the restaurant. I chose Chilli, but was sorely disappointed. The meat was just warm, and dried out. The rice was also just warm. Tiny portions. Not good value for money.

Anth0ny 1943

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anth0ny1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant!! ”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful place to visit! I was a bit skeptical to be honest about a museum of just tanks but how wrong was I! The exhibits were interesting and thought provoking, and weren't just about tanks but the stories around them as well. The exhibition about the horses used in the First World War was really moving. The entrance cost was excellent value for money at £40 for the 4 of us and we spent over 4 hours in the museum. The cafe was lovely and clean and not too expensive. The whole site is obviously well looked after. Make sure you have some pound coins so you can have a go on the target practice games! I'd recommend this museum to anybody!

Helpful?
2 Thank FifiWatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wick
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“'Blown away' - better than anticipated!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Son wanted to visit this for four years and finally succumbed. So glad I did, the museum is simply amazing, the numbers and variety of tanks is immense and we spent 5 1/2 hours there!

The staff were great, the cafe was clean and reasonably priced and all in all - brilliant!

Highly recommend it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ATHRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tank Museum also viewed

 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The Tank Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing