We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic

What an amazing place! You could easily spend an entire day here or split it over more than 1... read more

Reviewed yesterday
lornah817
,
North Wales, United Kingdom
via mobile
Great family day out

Loads to see and do, my boys and husband love it here, not just loads of tanks, interactive... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
CharlDaz13
,
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Read all 3,774 reviews
  
Reviews (3,774)
Filter reviews
3,663 results
Traveller rating
2,959
589
89
12
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,959
589
89
12
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews first world war military history on display annual pass rainy day gift aid all ages well worth a visit soft play area sandwiches free entry last visit great place to visit value for money monkey world armoured vehicles tracked vehicle
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,663 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

What an amazing place! You could easily spend an entire day here or split it over more than 1 visit, (12 month entry with giftaid entrance), Staff all very friendly and helpful, cafe decent and facilities good too (baby change facilities available). Everything was accessible with a pram, even managed to get it round the "trenches" (I don't like to miss out!!). Great layout, and so much to see! Actually left with brain ache from all the information! Not to be missed.

Thank lornah817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

Loads to see and do, my boys and husband love it here, not just loads of tanks, interactive experiences, trench experience, talks and activities and more.
Also free admission for up to a year after paying for admission.

Thank CharlDaz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

A mother and son trip which appealed more to the 16 year old boy than the middle aged woman. However the museum is so well laid out and tells some really compelling stories that it was a delight. In addition the staff, mostly volunteers, were excellent and so knowledgeable. It was great to see their enthusiasm more than matched my son’s and they took time to listen as well as tell. The cafe was an unexpected haven with good coffee for a bit of respite for me, whilst my son re visited his favourite bits. In all we were there for 6 hours but it did not seem that long even to Mum who was not that interested before we visited.
Well worth a visit for all ages, and genders.

Thank FredandTilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Visited for the first time and Was really impressed, loads of tanks as you would expect, but more interactive stuff and also in light of ww1 focus the ‘Trench experience ‘was really moving and evocative

Thank andymurray948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I was blown away by the restored tanks, armored cars, and even remote-controlled bombs at The Tank Museum. In my mind, the tank had the biggest impact on land battle tactics in the 20th Century and this place has the largest number and variety of those war machines, from the first tank ever produced, to key WW1 tanks, most of the top WW2 tanks, the key Cold War era tanks, and key 21st Century tanks.

Many of the tanks are completely restored and are in like-new working order.

A few notes for anyone interested in going: 1) We rented a car and drove on the “wrong” side of the road to get there. If you aren’t so adventurous you will need to plan your trip- maybe rent a taxi for the day?, 2) From London, this can be done as a day trip while including a short stop at Stonehenge as long as you start early, 3) If I had to do it again, I would have probably taken the train to Heathrow and rented a car from there to avoid central London traffic.

Thank GregM725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent museum, has developed massively since I last visited 20 or more years ago (was good then!). However price is too much and the ‘multiple return visits’ insulting WE ARE ON HOLIDAY AND WILL NEVER RETURN IN THE SHORT TERM. However this is now the industry standard used by many attractions to hike the entry price.
Gift aid was zero cost unlike most Cathedrals & English Heritage - which was good & inline with government policy.
Food good quality And very reasonably priced.
Massive and reasonably priced gift shop.
Interested adults need 4hrs +

1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the tank museum a couple of years ago on holiday in Dorset as a family and loved it. It is not just about 'tanks' but we love the way social history is incorporated into the exhibits making it very interesting for the whole family. The children (12 and 7) were offered a day out anywhere (within reason!) and that was the place they chose.

My one and only criticism is that the 'latte' was awful and very old fashioned, tasted like the coffee served 20 years ago.

Coffee aside, we will definitely visit again.

Thank thefamilyTaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

OK its quite likely that girls will like it too. This is a very well run and amazing museum containing hundreds of tanks ranging from the very first efforts from the Great War to the vehicles in use today. Everything is well presented and explained with no end of opportunities for interaction. The guided tours on offer and included in the ticket price are exceptionally well done with in some cases, opportunities to climb inside a tank. There are various amusements on offer for small children and by reference to their website you can choose to attend when opportunities are available to ride in a tracked vehicle and to watch some of the exhibits being put through their paces in the arena. There is an excellent restaurant on the first floor and a nice cafe on the ground floor. Best of all, the ticket allows repeated visits for a whole year!

Thank JonahSwashbuckler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place is huge and so, so interesting.

There’s clearly a lot of thought, expertise and, (I would guess), quite a bit of money behind it.

More than ‘just’ tanks. A lot of very interesting and informative exhibits about British military and social history.

I would say, although it’s really entertaining for children, some of it was a bit noisy for one of mine who is a bit sensitive to noise. But not a big deal at all.

Overall really, really good. If we’re ever back in the area we will go again.

Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Tank Museum in Bovington is a couple hours by train to Wool Station from LondonWaterloo but so worth the trip for anyone interested in tanks and military history. The museum is clean, well organized, and so informative. Depending on your interest, a visitor can spend several hours exploring the exhibits and the examining the tanks. There’s a nice little restaurant on-site with good food and a friendly staff to break up your visit. BTW- if you take the train from Waterloo to Wool there is a usually a taxi at the station to drop you off at the museum and pick you up later in the day. Very convenient!

Thank Roseann1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews