We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Horse & Groom
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nags Head(Chichester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crouchers Hotel(Chichester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Goodwood Hotel(Chichester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown(Emsworth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
36 On the Quay(Emsworth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
26
38
25
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
38
25
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgood selection of real alescountry publarge car parkselection of beersgreat pubsunny beer gardenroom was largean overnight stayhopheadgoodwoodchichesterbeamsbarn
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Having read mixed reviews, we thought we would try the Horse & Groom for a meal on a Tuesday evening. The bar was fairly quiet, even though the place is famed for its real ale but had a good atmosphere. We had reserved a table but even this proved unnecessary, in spite of a group of about a dozen in the restaurant.

The eating area is very simple, with scrubbed wooden tables that give it a rustic look. In the absence of menus, diners are expected to select from a blackboard, which offered a wide choice (although several items were marked as unavailable). We ordered at the bar and collected a couple of glasses of “house” wine. The white was OK but the red was a mediocre Vin du Pays because we had not realised that a much better wine from Chile was available for just 30 pence more.

We enjoyed a Deep Fried Brie starter, which we shared. My wife chose King Prawns accompanied by vegetables and chips, whilst I opted for Duck. The portions were good but, of course, half a duck always looks large when served on the carcass. Both meals were OK, rather than “special” and neither were great value at around £16 and £17 respectively.

Most of the critical reviews on Tripadvisor seem to complain about the accommodation and landlady, so I was not surprised to see the place listed as 37th out of 45 B&Bs in the Chichester area. Unfortunately, it does not appear to be listed separately in the restaurant list. Having eaten at quite a few of the 59 restaurants currently listed, I would certainly not rate the Horse & Groom amongst the top 10. We think El Castizo and Hallidays are better and Cassons or the Richmond Arms look like good alternatives.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Chichester_Duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horseandgroomchef, Manager at The Horse & Groom, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2011

Thank you for your resent comment about your visit to us on Tuesday 5th July.

To enlighten the viewers of this review:

FOOD

king prawns and half roast duck are 2 of the most expensive items on our menu. Our starter prices range from £3.95 up to £7.25 and our main courses range from £8.95 up to £19.95. Which gives our customers a wide variety of choice at a very varied and competitive price, Also we have a bar menu that is available for lunch & evening if you would like a cheaper and lighter meal.

I was disappointed to see that you would not rate the Horse & Groom amongst the top 10 as I can assure the viewers on average 98% of people who dine with us absoulutly love the food, Its just a great shame that "most people" only use review sites if they suffer a non satisfactory or bad experience.

Bar & Restaurant

Our bar and restaurant is set out to give the property its traditional feel, hence having a big blackboard with handwritten content. We are reluctant to change our style as it's a traditional pub with character.
The horse and groom is a 17th century pub, with flagstone floors, cast-iron cooking range, aged wooden tables and wood-panelled bar which provides a traditional public-house charm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Warm and friendly, local,character pub serving a good food and selection of very well kept ales. Rooms in annexe, basic but clean and comfortable 'hotel style' layout. Nice breakast friendly service, good value, midweek stop over with no complaints. Outside Chichester and near to Goodwood.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gazza747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

The pub is lovely and was full of locals when we arrived. The accommodation is quite basic and characterless but was clean and warm(ish). The landlady though is something else. We stayed for two nights and the longest communication we had from her was "would you like sauce with that?" An example of the complete lack of thought paid to guests was on the second night. There was only one other party staying and they were placed in the room next to ours. When we returned from celebrating a friends wedding we were greeted by two grumpy people banging on the (thin) walls.
In summary if you don't require a warm welcome, character and spacious accommodation this could be the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Helenmarieclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

A very enjoyable stay, the other review's seem pretty biased & Show's that there is alot of sad people in this world, Hopefully mine show's the correct side.

I stayed at the horse and groom with my wife after a day of visiting the city of chichester, we arrived at 6:30pm, Note if you arrive before 6:00pm you may not be checked in untill the Pub opens at 6, but you will be told this.

we were taken to our room by a Young lady (about 18 - 19) who i assume was the land ladys daughter. Our room was cozy but there was still a good about of space, There WAS a small bathroom but im sure it's never killed anybody.

we went for dinner at about a quater-past seven in the evening and were treated to a Beautifully cooked stake, In the evening the pub has a very unique and fantastic atmosphere, it also gets very busy fast.

All in all i would Recommend this place in a heartbeat, the surronding area of Chichester And bosham give great shopping, the hills and countryside give for a nice long walk across the fields. a Perfect Place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

I traveled here in October 2010 for a wedding; we had booked 1 double and 1 single room for 1 night. The day before I called them to check what time we could check in to give us time to get ready for the wedding. The lady I spoke to said that we were actually booked in for 2 nights, Fri and Saturday - I explained that we only booked it for 1 night only and I did not expect to be charged for 2, she understood and said it would be fine. We turned up the next day and had to have the same conversation again! However, they told us that someone had checked in under our name and taken both rooms for 2 nights. We were obviously concerned as we had no where to stay and a wedding to get ready for and attend.

After lots of to-ing and fro-ing, they explained there was nothing they could do as they had over booked and we could stay with a lady who lived 2 doors away in her cottage. We had no choice as we had traveled nearly 200 miles. Her cottage was very nice and she was very accommodating considering she had 3 strangers staying in her cottage. We saw the funny side of the situation and happily went to our wedding.

The following day we thanked the lady for her hospitality and went to The Horse and Groom for breakfast, it was just before 9.35am. They refused to serve us breakfast as they only serve until 9.30am. The girl also insisted we pay full price for the rooms as we still had a bed! She also said that we were booked in for 2 nights but she would only charge us for 1 (even though we had now explained 3 times that we only ever booked for 1 night). She was aggressive and rude, and didn't feel we had been inconvenienced in anyway as we had a bed! Even though this was someone's else’s house, we had no privacy, we couldn't make a drink, we couldn't even shower before the wedding or the day we left as the lady had told us she hadn't cleaned the bathrooms! The girl's attitude was unbelievable and we were stunned by her customer service skills or severe lack of them. After the third attempt of explaining to this girl that no one had even apologised to us, she eventually explained that they were overworked, and she had been at work from 5am every day and they were really struggling to keep things going!

From what I have read about the land lady's rudeness from the other reviews I'm not surprised that her staff are equally as rude. They were still trying to charge us £80 for the double and £55 for the single! Absolutely unbelievable! I would absolutely not recommend The Horse and Groom. Someone has referred to this hotel as a Basil Fawlty type welcome, I couldn't agree more. They eventually agreed not to charge us any more and just keep our deposit! This place is an absolute joke and I would recommend it all.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
14  Thank MartinsBindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews