We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay @ Dongwe Ocean View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dongwe Ocean View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dongwe Ocean View
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dongwe
Certificate of Excellence
Dorking, Surrey, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Stay @ Dongwe Ocean View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

After arriving on our flight from Nairobi, we were picked up and transferred straight to Dongwe Ocean view, in just over 1 hour we had arrived, we saw the sign for Dongwe and turned down a sandy road filled with brightly coloured trees and bushes towards the Ocean, and we were finally there!... time to relax:-)

We were warmly greeted by Samson and Juma, with some very welcome cold drinks and cool towels.

The rooms are split between two small blocks, with a pool and bar/restaurant area over looking the beach. we were at the top in room 109.

The room was very spacious, with a very big bed, lovely rattan furniture and a comfortable sofa and chairs to relax in. It even had AC which was a nice surprise and meant that we had a great nights sleep in the cool!

Each room has a balcony with big squidgy chairs and we went straight out to the balcony to take in the beautiful view, our room looked out on to the beach/pool and bar, it was a great place to watch the sunrise or have drinks in the early evening.

The rooms were very clean as were the communal areas, while we were there I was always aware that the staff were working hard tidying and cleaning.

We spent the days relaxing by the pool, reading, and taking walks up and down the beach, the beach is beautiful, very clean and very quiet . A small group of fisherman sort the days catch out on the beach, like a small fish market, it was great to see. The Restaurant manager saw we were watching and even offered to take us down so we could have a look.

The evenings were quiet while we were there, but the bar area was a great place to have cocktails before dinner and chat to the staff & other guests. I am a Vegetarian so always struggle with the options of food available to me but i found once i spoke with Samson and Juma to explain what i would like they made sure i was looked after.

On our last night we all had a candlelit dinner on the beach, there was a big bonfire which we sat round and chatted to the other guests into the early hours of the morning, it was a lovely evening!

There were a few problems with power due to a storm a few days before we arrived, but as soon as we went to reception to advise the generator was switched on and everything was fine again.

We also went to the Rock restaurant for lunch, if you stay @ Dongwe you MUST visit The Rock either for lunch or dinner, food was fantastic and the buidling and views amazing!..(i think Dongwe even do a free transfer too and from the Rock)

All in all, we loved Dongwe Ocean View, the staff were great and couldn't do enough.

Would we go back? absolutely!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr&MrB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    97
    23
    8
    7
See reviews for
62
168
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

Excellent solution for those who needs quiet and relaxing vacation. Very nice service, beach in front of hotel is very good. Food in restaurant is good also.Staff is always ready to help you. We spent 4 nights thre I would come again for longer stay :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabadaev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norrkoping, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

We, a family of two adults and two teenagers, had a beatuful stay at Dongwe Ocean view. After a hectic safari week with a lot of travels and fantastic impressions, Dongwe Ocean View was a perfect retreat. We had three calm days at the beatiful beach and was very well taken care of by the service-minded staff.
We can warmly recommend the hotel to other travellers that want to calm down after a more active safari.

Family Ottenklev
Sweden

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ledzep_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudewater, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

Went for a week cleaning the inside of my head. We came to the right place. Hotel is perfect, food clean and excellent and the staff so friendly!!
Just sitting on the veranda, drinking good wine and having a laugh was all we needed.
Their other restaurant The Rock is an amazing experience...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoopBartels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

A small, laid back hotel, quite isolated -no general shops within walking distance. Rooms are fine and have recently been refurbished. Very clean. Staff very helpful and friendly. Fab beach [watch out for sea urchins].The hotel is let down by it's food offer particularly the evening buffet which is not the quality you hope for on holiday and the food was often not very hot. There are no other evening options as neighbouring hotels are resident only. Drinks are quite expensive compared with other places on the island. The other major fault is lack of shade -ther are plenty of loungers but no umbrellas or sun shade. This menat we spent a lot of time on our lovely big balcony instead which was fine for us but not if you want to be poolside. Tip- there is a great lunch time seafood restuarant 10 minutes stroll to the north along the beach.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norfolkwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

A great place to unwind after the fast pace of a safari. Stunning views, nice food, staff could not be more attentive. A bit of hassle from the beach sellers although the staff did their best to stop this. We would fully recommend this hotel to any potential visitors.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chumleyandcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

As a solo traveler, I arrived at Dongwe Ocean View a tad concerned that I might be more isolated than I wanted. I need not have worried. Because DOV has only 18 rooms, the staff has the time (and the inclination) to get to know the guests, your preferences and desires, and are eager to please. One morning, three other guests & I had a 6:30 am appointment for a dolphin safari - Samson (the resort manager) not only offered to knock on my door at 5:45 to be sure that I was up, but had the kitchen staff prepare and serve a 6 am breakfast for all of us. The resort is efficiently and effectively designed around a central, beachfront pool. With a beachfront pool, a separate deck (with palms so that you can choose sun or shade), beach, and two lounges, there is plenty of space for guests to spread out and have privacy. Although secluded, there are villager-owned "shops" on either side of the resort, so, if you're so inclined, you can still pick up souvenirs for yourself or loved ones at home. Samson, Juma, Cato, and Siti are amazing - friendly and helpful without being intrusive. When Samson says, "no worries," he means it - whatever you need, he will go to any lengths to help. Beautiful surroundings, wonderful staff, simple but comfortable accommodations. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skibo2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dongwe
17.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
33.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.6 mi away
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Pongwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ras Michamvi Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongwe Ocean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongwe Ocean View

Property: Dongwe Ocean View
Address: Michamvi Pingwe | P.O.Box 4242, Dongwe, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Dongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dongwe Ocean View 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Dongwe Ocean View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongwe Ocean View Hotel Zanzibar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing