We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, but isolated from the rest of Zanzibar.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dongwe Ocean View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dongwe Ocean View
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dongwe
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, but isolated from the rest of Zanzibar.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

If you are looking to head to Zanzibar just to be in one place, this may be the place for you. It is not close to anything other than other resorts and they do not make it easy to arrange transportation if you would like to venture out. It is a beautiful location, the rooms are good sized. The food is average and the drinks are 5x's the price they are in Stonetown. DO NOT book at day trip through them. They are voer priced and the length is a third of what is listed in their book.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms open right onto shared space, so you make feel a little unsafe leaving your sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k8west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    98
    23
    8
    7
See reviews for
62
168
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We spent three nights here after a week of Safari in Kenya. It was the perfect way to relax and review the amazing things we had seen.

The hotel staff is very friendly and although not everybody is fluent in English, they do their utmost to make you feel comfortable. The manager, Samson, is very friendly and helpful in many ways (from arranging your tours to recharging the dead car battery in your rental).

Breakfast and dinner are in a buffet form and are also very nice, the only thing that could be improved is the lunch menu, which is somewhat limited.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marnix V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

We decided to get married on this beautiful island. On the day we got married to had to go to Stone town for all the legalities, leaving all our valuables in a locked safe. The next day when we went to take some money to pay for some of the wedding costs we found that most of our money had been taken about $3900!!!! After reporting it to managment who at first refused to believe us ;had to accept that we were speaking the truth when the housekeeper dissappeared and couldn't be found.We were kept waiting for a response from management for more than a week we finally got told that if they find her they will send us what money is left but they can't reimburse us as we must have left the safe open! Even though I am certain it was locked when we left that day. Needless to say we had a terrible time there even with the stunning location. Wouldn't recommend staying here unless you are looking to loose all your valuable pocessions because even the safe is not SAFE.....now we eagerly await for them to catch th thief so they can return what is left.....not holding my breath!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saks72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kichanga, General Manager at Dongwe Ocean View, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
I am writing you in reference to your stay at Dongwe Ocean View in Zanzibar
and to the unfortunate situation that have occured you.
Of course I am very sorry and disappointed about what happened to you, but I woulld like to clarify a few things.
First of all, i must say that something like this has never happened before at our resort and I would like to point out the fact that the safe hasn't been forced at all and this is why the hotel manager and police came to the conclusion that you must of forgot to lock it.
This said, as everyone knows, it is general recommendation everywhere in the world not to leave valuable goods and money in hotel rooms without properly lock them in the room safe or in the main safe of the hotel. If the guest do not take this precaution , the hotel cannot take the responsability of an eventual robbery.
Robberies in hotel rooms are unfortunately very common all over the world and travellers are normaly prudent, expecially in a poor country such as Zanzibar, Tanzania,where an amount of money such as the amount you claim have been stolen to you can be a very big temptation .
As the General Manager of the hotel I feel very bad for what happened to you but I don't think we are responsable for it because if you would have put the money in the safe and lock it this would have never happened.
We are use to recommend to all of our clients to lock their values in the room safe that can only be opened by typing in a private password.
We have really tried our best to be accommodating and make your stay and your wedding enjoyable and pleseant and we have offered you the stay and all of your extras for a total of Usd 1209. I do understand your frustration but I think that your review on tripadvisor is not fair at all.
Best Regards
Nigel Firman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

friendly staff
clean rooms
Great views
Expensive alcohol

Great place to stay

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zulutrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, Surrey, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

After arriving on our flight from Nairobi, we were picked up and transferred straight to Dongwe Ocean view, in just over 1 hour we had arrived, we saw the sign for Dongwe and turned down a sandy road filled with brightly coloured trees and bushes towards the Ocean, and we were finally there!... time to relax:-)

We were warmly greeted by Samson and Juma, with some very welcome cold drinks and cool towels.

The rooms are split between two small blocks, with a pool and bar/restaurant area over looking the beach. we were at the top in room 109.

The room was very spacious, with a very big bed, lovely rattan furniture and a comfortable sofa and chairs to relax in. It even had AC which was a nice surprise and meant that we had a great nights sleep in the cool!

Each room has a balcony with big squidgy chairs and we went straight out to the balcony to take in the beautiful view, our room looked out on to the beach/pool and bar, it was a great place to watch the sunrise or have drinks in the early evening.

The rooms were very clean as were the communal areas, while we were there I was always aware that the staff were working hard tidying and cleaning.

We spent the days relaxing by the pool, reading, and taking walks up and down the beach, the beach is beautiful, very clean and very quiet . A small group of fisherman sort the days catch out on the beach, like a small fish market, it was great to see. The Restaurant manager saw we were watching and even offered to take us down so we could have a look.

The evenings were quiet while we were there, but the bar area was a great place to have cocktails before dinner and chat to the staff & other guests. I am a Vegetarian so always struggle with the options of food available to me but i found once i spoke with Samson and Juma to explain what i would like they made sure i was looked after.

On our last night we all had a candlelit dinner on the beach, there was a big bonfire which we sat round and chatted to the other guests into the early hours of the morning, it was a lovely evening!

There were a few problems with power due to a storm a few days before we arrived, but as soon as we went to reception to advise the generator was switched on and everything was fine again.

We also went to the Rock restaurant for lunch, if you stay @ Dongwe you MUST visit The Rock either for lunch or dinner, food was fantastic and the buidling and views amazing!..(i think Dongwe even do a free transfer too and from the Rock)

All in all, we loved Dongwe Ocean View, the staff were great and couldn't do enough.

Would we go back? absolutely!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr&MrB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

Excellent solution for those who needs quiet and relaxing vacation. Very nice service, beach in front of hotel is very good. Food in restaurant is good also.Staff is always ready to help you. We spent 4 nights thre I would come again for longer stay :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabadaev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norrkoping, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

We, a family of two adults and two teenagers, had a beatuful stay at Dongwe Ocean view. After a hectic safari week with a lot of travels and fantastic impressions, Dongwe Ocean View was a perfect retreat. We had three calm days at the beatiful beach and was very well taken care of by the service-minded staff.
We can warmly recommend the hotel to other travellers that want to calm down after a more active safari.

Family Ottenklev
Sweden

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ledzep_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dongwe
17.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.6 mi away
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
33.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Pongwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dongwe Club
Dongwe Club
#1 of 4 in Dongwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongwe Ocean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongwe Ocean View

Property: Dongwe Ocean View
Address: Michamvi Pingwe | P.O.Box 4242, Dongwe, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Dongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dongwe Ocean View 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Dongwe Ocean View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongwe Ocean View Hotel Zanzibar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing