We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine paradise”
Review of Dongwe Ocean View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dongwe Ocean View
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dongwe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Dongwe Ocean View defines the word paradise. Superbly located on the south eastern beach of Zanzibar. My boyfriend and I were looking for a quite gateway and it's exactly what we got. The food was delicious, with superb service, the stuff are very professional, friendly, polite and leave you be. The hotel is spotless, over looking an amazingly clean beach that was just divine for taking long walks during sunset. The hotel offers five star service for a three star price. To make your stay more memorable don't forget to have dinner at the Rock Restaurant. My boyfriend and I are already looking forward to going back to DOV for our next getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leymmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

Dongwe Ocean View is THE place to be if you're looking for some rest on a paradise-like beach bordered by a green environment... (Those who want to see Bangkok in Africa will go to the North beaches!).

We ended there after a 5000 Km-one-month-safari from South Africa on the road... pretty exhausting and DOV was exactly what we were looking for, i.e. relaxing place, -very- friendly people, excellent food, super clean swimming pool, big room (nice terrace, big safe for all my camera gear!), clear blue sea, etc...

Anything you can think of doing elsewhere (dolphin trip, Jozani forest, etc) can be organised/done there as well!

I am a very demanding client and honestly couldn't be satisfied more (hence this review, which I never usually do!)... Even searching hard, I can't find anything to regret...

Room Tip: Get the 109!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My husband and a fussy 9 year old traveled to Dongwe. We spent 2 weeks and here is my objective opinion.
Firstly, Ocean view is nice, clean and quiet.
The staff are very polite and leave you be.
The rooms are clean, air conditioned.
Samson the manager is great and very personable.
For the amount of money we paid it is a good 3.5 stars not 4 stars. I am basing this on my extensive travel experience,- But i can't really complain as I know Zanzibar is expensive. Everything is tastefully decorated and all rooms are ocean facing.

I would recommend this hotel for a shorter stay not the 2 weeks we did.

Food.
It was ok for the first 2 days, thereafter the choice was very uninspiring. The only local inspiration was chicken zanzibar but still bland.

Fruit selection was limited too for Zanzibar this was shocking!

After the first week and limited choices of anywhere else to eat, this became a chore. Now going back to my fussy 9 year old. She pretty much had the runs from the 3rd day. I got it in the last 3 days and another couple got it same time. So i think food hygiene needs to be looked at.

Music
Being in Africa the land of eclectic music, the restaurant incessantly played the same 4 songs (old songs mind you), over and over again. We felt like we were being tortured at this point, they even played Robbie Williams. It maybe an odd point to mention, but we expected a variety - the repetition became too much not to notice.

Beach

Clean, white sands and you can walk for miles if you don't mind the beach boys and the Italians from the exclusively Italian club 2 mins from Dongwe.

Safety

its pretty much safe, didn't feel threatened or insecure.

Drinks

Very expensive, we ended up stocking up water from Stone town - @ 2 dollars for 250 ml - it was way too expensive

Entertainment
None. Just the same music from 1989. It would be good to have an area for kids- even if it is just a swing and some toys. Our little girl got very bored and so stayed in the pool, on the beach even when the sun was blazing (yes we tried to get her in the shade, but the point is, there was no other choice for a restless child)

So overall nice stay, quiet, peaceful, nice staff, clean and safe.
I recommend a maximum 5 day stay.

I have tried to be as objective as possible.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miss London CR L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

For 10 days we ate good food, drank fresh juices, dozed by the pool, swam in the sea, beachcombed, learnt to play Bao and speak a little Kiswahili thanks to the wonderful staff at Dongwe. This is a small, boutique accommodation with clean, comfortable rooms and fantastic ocean views especially from our second floor balcony. We will be back!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We spend 5 days at DOV and we had a very good time, nice people, good service and clean bedroons, with very nice view!! We really recomend the DOV, even you can find others place with nice bonglows at the beach in Paje and Bewju. We think is a nice place to be with a family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedroBL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We started our summer vacation at Dongwe Ocean View - 5 nights by the beach. This place was just want we needed - great value, really good food, comfortable beds in friendly surrounding. The pool and beach bar were tastefully decorated and the staff so friendly and helpful. The view from our top floor balcony over the beach and sea was breath taking. Can't wait to come back next year.

Room Tip: Go for a top floor room or one over looking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fashnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We spent some very relaxing days in this well managed hotel, with a very friendly and kind staff, with a fantastic view on a wonderful beach, tipical of a tropical island. We had excellent fresh fish and tasty fruit juices. Fantastic walks on Dongwe beach with low tide!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinella m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dongwe
35.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
19.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,632 reviews
24.5 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.7 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dongwe Club
Dongwe Club
#2 of 6 in Dongwe
1,235 reviews
6.7 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongwe Ocean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongwe Ocean View

Address: Michamvi Pingwe | P.O.Box 4242, Dongwe, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Dongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dongwe
Price Range: £113 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dongwe Ocean View 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dongwe Ocean View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongwe Ocean View Hotel Zanzibar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing