We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and fun”
Review of Dongwe Ocean View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dongwe Ocean View
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Dongwe
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing and fun”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Had a wonderful, relaxing time at Dongwe Ocean View. As a couple with a young child we guiltily left at home with grandparents, what we most wanted was to unwind, and this is the perfect spot: great food, beautiful beach, and friendly staff. But there was also plenty to do, including snorkelling, spice farm, a trip to Stone Town, and a visit from the neighbourhood Maasai. Fascinating place, and a wonderful stay. Would love to go back one day.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the beach, and the place was very quiet while we were there, so it does not seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kichanga, General Manager at Dongwe Ocean View, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
All staff a Dongwe ocean View is really happy that you had a great time with us. we all hope to see you back soon. asante sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    102
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
65
172
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here over Christmas. The honeymoon suite we booked was light and spacious, the bed comfortable and the room was cleaned every day. The view from the balcony was also delightful. The food at the hotel was also surprisingly good, particularly as we are vegetarian. We were expecting limited options, but actually vegetarians were reasonably well catered for. The beach here, though beautiful to look at and walk along, was not great for swimming due to the sea going a long way out at low tide. Even at high tide, the water is not great for swimming. The resorts along this strip are also somewhat exclusive in that they do not allow you to make use of their facilities, meaning you are pretty much stuck with eating at the hotel restaurant all the time. The service at the hotel, though friendly and welcoming, could be more attentive. For instance, it took us 3 separate conversations with the manager to get a window (which could not be locked) fixed. Each time only part of the problem got fixed and in the end the window could still not be locked. For the price we were paying, we thought this was sub-standard service. Finally, though I would recommend this place for families (the pool is great for the kids) or couples who are so into each other they are not really interested in meeting anyone else, I wouldn't recommend this place for singles looking to meet other people or for people who really like to swim in the sea. For a more laid back vibe and sea you can swim in all day, I would head to kendwa, on the North of the island. This looked like a lot more fun.

Room Tip: All the rooms are sea-facing, however the ground floor rooms in one complex look directly on to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa_om1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamabad
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Lovely hotel, great value for money. We had a large room facing the beach and a great balcony. The pool is always clean, there are lounges around the pool and on the sand below. The dining area/lounge is great, awesome food (buffets for breakfast and dinner, ala carte at lunch). Complimentary tea time and a nice lounge/lobby area with a TV, swings and supply of books. It is located at one of the most gorgeous beaches. Is super windy so be prepared and the area is very, very quiet and peaceful. If you are looking for a quiet get-away, Dongwe is perfect to lie under a tree and catch up on reading.

The staff is absolutely great, very helpful! The receptionist let us borrow his laptop`s charger because ours was not fitting in the multi-purpose plugs! They helped us out with tours (go see The Rock since it is just a 5 minute drive away and if you are a good swimmer, do the dolphin tour because you can dive into the water and see them up close if you are lucky!)

Would definitely visit Dongwe again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aisha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Thank you for an unforgettable time in Zanzibar in the friendly atmosphere of wonderful people and cosy! I really liked the decor of natural wood and white chairs, wicker furniture adds flavor!
We were like at home and sure will go back to this place again!*)

Room Tip: We had a most beautiful room in central building with see view and exit to the swimming pool!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaJuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The hotel is incredible! Quiet, cozy and very beautiful! All ergonomics hotel built by 100%. Pool and two small buildings are located 20 meters from the ocean. Amazing service and cuisine. Very friendly staff. Any dream is becoming a reality) It was my best holiday! Thanks to my friends: hotel manager Samson administrators Juma and Anita for my incredible 10 days of bliss!

Room Tip: All rooms are new, overlook the ocean and are located near the pool. From the upper floors offer spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeraWhiteMasai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Sorry for the late review! We absolutely LOVED everything about this place. Went here for ten days in june 2013, and it was over our expectations. Beautiful beach, kind and helpful staff, big rooms with an amazing view and such a nice pool and sundeck. You get so much for the money, and memories for life. A special thanks to our friend and waiter Suliman for preparing delicious meals for us and telling us about Zanzibar from the "inside" :)
We hope to come back one day!

Love from Norway!

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up facing the sea, we did and got a perfect one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarielHvidsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar Es Salaam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Excellent place for total relaxation! Great rooms, great beach, great people. Manager Samson is there for all your needs, always trying to make your stay a memorable one. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schalusenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kichanga, General Manager at Dongwe Ocean View, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Wow what a rest review . Asante sana ,hope to see you soon back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dongwe
35.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
35.7 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
613 reviews
19.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
6.7 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
0.5 mi away
Baraza Resort & Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa
#2 of 10 in Bwejuu
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongwe Ocean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongwe Ocean View

Property: Dongwe Ocean View
Address: Michamvi Pingwe | P.O.Box 4242, Dongwe, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Dongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Dongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dongwe Ocean View 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Dongwe Ocean View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongwe Ocean View Hotel Zanzibar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing