We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,902)
Filter reviews
3,902 results
Traveller rating
2,190
962
419
202
129
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,190
962
419
202
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dreams las mareas beautiful resort preferred club zip lining seaside grill el patio world cafe pura vida swim up bar liberia airport italian restaurant our honeymoon all inclusive resort ocean view seafood recommend this resort an excursion
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 3,902 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We stayed in June 2018.

Resort Overview - Restaurants were clean, nice, and food was about 7/10. Service was not exceptional but well above average. Service lacks a little in pool area with drink orders and main buffet. But elsewhere service was very good. Our family very much enjoyed the resort, which had excellent views, beautiful beach areas, and everything seemed relatively well constructed and new. The rooms were very nice. Nightly activities lacked in my opinion a little. Each night was a dance show, some involving fire. The overall quality was good of the shows but we have been to sister resorts and found better variety in the nightly shows.

Activities / Excursions - This resort is a bit unusual in that it is 1.5-2 hours from most activities as it is highly remote. There are numerous companies as part of the resort, numerous third-party companies on line, and 2 companies on the beach (not part of the resort) that offer dozens of excursions. Rather amazingly, they are all basically brokers who charge different fees and hire the same overlapping drivers to give tours. For example, we had a driver from one company take us from the airport who offered us an excursion through his company at $700. We then paid $550 for the same excursion when we booked through a company on the Dreams Beach and then they hired him to give us the very same tour offered through his company.

My suggestion is that before booking any excursions, you negotiate with the companies on the beach of the Dreams resort and use them. They are both very credible, well organized, and offer steep discounts to the same comparable excursions. We did the Mega Combo Vandera (through the beach sales) and a fishing trip on the Ryan Lindy Boat through Quepas. Both were great and reasonable.

Airport transporation - Airport transportation is outrageously costly in Costa Rica to Dreams. However, we had a family of 7. We dealt with Adrian from reservaciones@haciendaelcenizaro.com (the Cenizuro Ranch). He offered us a fee of $120 for family of 7 each way from and to the airport (total $240). This was by far the cheapest, and our vehicles were nice vans. He is excellent with communication, emails back fast, and runs a really nice organization. We also did his ATV tour at his ranch. While the ride was fun and great for young kids (about 2 hours and close to Dreams), it was a bit slow for me and older kids because we are experienced ATV riders.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreams_LasMareas, Gerente at Dreams Las Mareas Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Hello

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review!

We are delighted to hear that you had a most memorable experience, and we will ensure your kind comments are celebrated with our team with great pride as it helps us grow when we know we have truly made a difference to those we serve each day.

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your holidays with us and we are pleased to know that every day our guests are satisfied with our staff and services.


Thank you for choosing Dreams Las Mareas and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future!

Best regards.

William Rojas
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

We visited this amazing resort back in October 2017 for our honeymoon. We stayed two weeks. Beautiful location! The surroundings, the scenery, just breathtaking. Loved all of it. Never felt crowded at the pools, always space at the restaurants. The seaside grill was amazing. Nachos, quesadillas, hamburgers, all so good! One of the poolside waitresses in particular, Dana, was so kind and always smiling and coming around to make sure we were okay! Genuine people who strive to make sure the guests feel welcome and happy. We visited right after they had a storm and we were lucky that the hotel did not have any damage. Even though, when we did go around town and such everything was pretty much already cleaned up. Kind people who really put a lot of effort into their tourism business. We did not take the honeymoon package but they still provided us with breakfast in bed one morning, as well as decorating the bed with flowers and a honeymoon banner (outside our door) on our first night. Really loved it there and cannot wait to visit Costa Rica again!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreams_LasMareas, Gerente at Dreams Las Mareas Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Hello Mrs Cynthia

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review!

We are delighted to hear that you had a most memorable experience, and we will ensure your kind comments are celebrated with our team with great pride as it helps us grow when we know we have truly made a difference to those we serve each day.

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your holidays with us and we are pleased to know that every day our guests are satisfied with our staff and services.


Thank you for choosing Dreams Las Mareas and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future!

Best regards.

William Rojas
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We arrived at the hotel. We were greeted with champagne as we got off the shuttle. Very nice. We were checked in, while they took our luggage for us. After registering, we were invited to a quick "overview" of the hotel and its amenities by a guy named Diego. It took only a short amount of time to recognize that what Diego wanted to do was sell us on a timeshare for their properties around the world. I tried to be nice and tell him that we have a long day of traveling, we were hot and wanted to get to our rooms. He persisted. I had to tell him again that we not interested in anything other than enjoying our vacation. His response was that he would meet us the next morning and discuss this with us while we had breakfast. I finally told him - in no uncertain terms - NO. I demanded our luggage, which they had locked up in a holding pen while they worked us over for 45 minutes. I was very disappointed. Any time I tell about the resort, I will start with that story. It took a lot of Pura Vida to get over it.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mjv1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreams_LasMareas, Gerente at Dreams Las Mareas Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Hello

Thank you for take your time and sharing your comments whit us. We are very happy to know that you enjoy that different services at the same way the beautiful country.

I apologize for not having exceeded your expectations in every aspect of your stay here with us. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the pertinent departments in order to be addressed and where possible improved. As professionals in the service industry I know that our guests feedback is very valuable, and the key to allow the constant improvement in order to reach an enduring high quality level in services.

We regret the inconveniences that you present during your stay in the areas of service, we would like you send an email to the following address a_gerencia.drelm@dreamsresorts.com to have more detail of what happened and we can help our your reservation number.


Once again I´m extremely grateful for your time and preference and please feel free to contact us directly prior to your next visit so that I will be able to fulfill your requirements and demonstrate the type of high quality services we uphold here at Dreams Las Mareas.

Best regards,

William Rojas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Stayed at Dreams for a week with my Mum. We came during rainy season and therefore the hotel wasn't full which was brilliant. Some mornings we had the pool to ourselves. The hotel is big but easy to navigate due to the signs. Umbrellas were provided for when it rained which was nice. Our room was facing the jungle and we were lucky to see lots of birds and monkeys. Our room was spacious and clean we had a balcony with a Jacuzzi bath but we never used. The pools were clean and spacious and the beach was nice you can walk quite far along the coast across the rocks. We sampled all restaurants and found the food to be great. The hotel offered a range of alcoholic drinks including cocktails which was nice. We booked several activities through the hotel and on the beach. Staff were friendly and kind we really enjoyed our time here. Only issue was late at night lots of racoons!

Room Tip: Jungle view to see monkeys and birds
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank KimboPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreams_LasMareas, Gerente at Dreams Las Mareas Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Hello

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review!

We are delighted to hear that you had a most memorable experience, and we will ensure your kind comments are celebrated with our team with great pride as it helps us grow when we know we have truly made a difference to those we serve each day.

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your holidays with us and we are pleased to know that every day our guests are satisfied with our staff and services.


Thank you for choosing Dreams Las Mareas and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future!

Best regards.

William Rojas
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

Just returned from a week with the family in Costa Rica. I would start by echoing what everyone else has written about the distance from the airport. It is not a short drive. However once arriving we were pleased by the beauty of the resort.it is a large resort that is built in a terraced fashion in keeping with its mountainous location. Reception is at the peak of the resort with several pools at different levels descending to the level of the beach. Our daily walk from the beach to building number six was a workout in itself. It is a well-maintained property with lush greenery that is immaculately manicured We found the staff congenial helpful and polite Highpoints were daily yoga on the beach and the Explorers club which my eight-year-old adored. The food while not gourmet had acceptable variety and there were no excessive waits to be seated nightly Our trip was at the beginning of their "rainy season" so the resort was not at full capacity. The days are sunny and warm and there was a nightly rain shower that did not hinder our activities in any way. Deck chairs were always available and seats at the restaurants were plentiful. Our family of four only ventured out on one excursion as we were reluctant to commit to an all day excursion several hours from the resort.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreams_LasMareas, Gerente at Dreams Las Mareas Costa Rica, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Hello

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review!

We are delighted to hear that you had a most memorable experience, and we will ensure your kind comments are celebrated with our team with great pride as it helps us grow when we know we have truly made a difference to those we serve each day.

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your holidays with us and we are pleased to know that every day our guests are satisfied with our staff and services.

We are glad you enjoyed the food as well as the Explorer for your children.

Thank you for choosing Dreams Las Mareas and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future!

Best regards.

William Rojas
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews