We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saadani Safari Lodge
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

An 8 hour flight from London to Nairobi, another transfer flight on to Dar es Salaam, 4 hours driving over dusty roads: It is safe to say my wife and I were very much looking forward to getting to Sadaani! Quite frankly we would have welcomed anything after such a trip and not knowing what to expect we were blown away by the hospitality we received at the lodge.

Warmly welcomed by Graeme and Candy and escorted to our beautiful suite on the beach this was the perfect start to our honeymoon. The staff were so lovely and always willing to have a chat at meal times and accommodate any request. We were given a special Swahili dinner one night having expressed an interest in finding out more about this cuisine and on another night a table under the stars was set up for us to make the most of a romantic evening. Breakfast and lunch were consistently very good and dinners were excellent.

The room (well it was really a bungalow to be honest) was beautiful - spacious, wonderful four posted bed, outdoor shower, balcony overlooking the beach, lounge chairs to gaze at the sea and all decorated like a posh, up-market beach hut!

The safari options were also excellent. We had one activity per day included and having arrived at the lodge that first lunchtime we immediately set out with our awesome guides, Jeremiah, Isaac and Jacob to see what we could find. Rather fortuitously we managed to stumble upon a pride of lions wandering around looking out for their evening meal which was a surreal but pretty cool start to the holiday. As the lodge is also near the Wami River you can go on river safaris to see crocodiles and hippos lounging around in the sun. I don't think you can overestimate quite how impressive a full grown hippo can be! We were aware that at Sadaani you might not get to see the quantity of animals you might see at other more established parks, but we still managed to observe giraffes, zebra, elephants, lions, baboons, a whole range of gazelle and buffalo and birds while not seeing another Jeep around.

In fact the lodge itself became almost like our own private holiday home where we would settle down in the evening with a banana daiquiri, chatting to fellow guests as well as Graeme and Candy. The hospitality shown by Graeme and Candy made such an impression on both of us - they truly cared about their guests and wanted to ensure that we had everything we needed. By the end of the trip we not only thought of them as friends but were also considering how we too might be able to pack up our lives in the UK and come over to Africa to manage a lodge!

If only Sadaani was a little easier to get to!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molandtang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Saadani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Guests,

Firstly congratulations on your marriage, may your life together be filled with an abundance of love and happiness!

Secondly thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review on Tripadvisor; we are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your kind comments we shared your feedback with Graeme, Candy and the rest of the team, they loved your feedback!

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we looking forward to welcoming you back one day soon, we will have the banana daiquiri's waiting...

Thanks once again and please follow all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Saadani Safari Lodge by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    14
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
76
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff,AZ
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The beach and the park, the privacy, the warm welcoming managers and staff, the delicious food, the lovely rustic yet elegant accommodations, the walking safari (elephants!) the lazy river tour( hipps, crocs), all added up, for me, the ideal holiday. I couldn't have been more satisfied and I definitely did not want to leave. Wonderful people, Wonderful place!

Room Tip: There is no "bad" choice.....all are on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustryFlagstaff_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We had a fantastic time at Saadani in March of this year. A big reason why it was such an incredible experience was Dipesh’s hospitality and involvement with the guests. He always made sure to check up on us; if we needed anything or just for a personable chat. It felt like home away from home. Isaac, our guide, also was very knowledgeable during the game drive and river safari, highly recommend! The staff in the restaurant was also fantastic and especially the lady, her name escapes me, but she always greated us with a smile. They all made our stay unforgettable and I smile every time I think back at it. We will definitely return one day to this remote, relaxing and beautiful place one day.

Thank you again for making our experience unforgettable!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiaSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We went here for our Honeymoon Safari - excellent location and wonderful accommodation with a really unique setting on this coastal Safari park. The guides are skilled trackers and really amazed us with how they went about their trade. The food and 'dinner on the beach' was wonderful. Look out for 'Kissie', the Genet Cat seen from the bar!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetmac84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Saadani safari lodge is a must visit resort, We stayed during easter and had a fabulous time, the lodge manager Dipesh is a credit to Saadani, excellent host. We managed to get stuck in our Landrover in a large flooded area about 20km from the lodge, Dipesh and his team got to us in good time to recover our vehicle, this coupled with a fabulous host and resort means that we will make many a return to Saadani

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 481AlanA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suede
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

A charming place where you truly can relax and be disconnected from the world! Nick and Janna, the couple running it do this in an exellent way - with a true interest for their guests!
We spent 5 lovely days, enjoying the the tented lodges, that are all individually furnished in a natural, sophisticated style. The bathrooms are just lovely, being inside as well as outdoor! To spend the night on the day bed is true freedom!
There are plenty of cosy lounges &"livingrooms", where you just can enjoy the silence and beauty of Saadani and the ocean. And, don't forget to join the activities offered; snorkling, walking safari or game drive , you might find yourself watching the lions having their breakfast! The Gin Fizz has never tasted so good! we would love to come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LOndine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

A perfect location for a intimate safari. Lots to see and do and plenty of facilities to relax and unwind from a busy life. We were made extremely welcome and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Swimming pool and a beach - what more could you ask for as well as different safari trips every day. The river trip is a must and a short walk into the local village to see authentic africa. The food is outstanding and will cater to your needs.

Room Tip: all rooms face the sea - just take your pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike-at-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saadani National Park
30.6 mi away
Kisampa Bush Retreat
Kisampa Bush Retreat
#4 of 7 in Saadani National Park
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saadani River Lodge
Saadani River Lodge
#3 of 7 in Saadani National Park
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Selous Kinga Lodge
Selous Kinga Lodge
#15 of 25 in Selous Game Reserve
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kijongo Bay Beach Resort
Kijongo Bay Beach Resort
#2 of 11 in Pangani
46 reviews
10.1 mi away
Simply Saadani Camp
Simply Saadani Camp
#2 of 7 in Saadani National Park
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Roof of Saadani
The Roof of Saadani
#6 of 7 in Saadani National Park
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saadani Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saadani Safari Lodge

Property: Saadani Safari Lodge
Address: Old Bagamoyo Road, Saadani National Park, Tanzania (Formerly Sanctuary)
Region: Tanzania > Pwani Region > Saadani National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Saadani National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saadani Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 5 Maridadi Suites at Saadani Safari Lodge. Meaning 'elegant' in Swahili, these beautiful suites are appropriately named. Raised on small stilts and surrounded by indigenous floras, the decks provide an excellent viewing platform of the expansive sea. The roofs are covered in traditional thatching and floors are made from striking teak wood. All suites have en-suite bathrooms with a private outdoor shower for those who wish to enjoy a hot shower under a ceiling of stars. Meaning 'secret' in Swahili, our Siri Suite is the only one of its kind and offers the ultimate luxury for our guests. With inspiring views of the ocean, Saadani National Park and the sandy beach on the doorstep, this suite is set apart from all others. A private bar and pool provides unparalleled privacy, combined with private dining and sundowners on the small deck. This suite is perfect for honeymooners who wish for an incomparable experience. The lodge features nine colonial styled and intimate Banda Suites strung along the beach and cooled by the soft Ocean breeze. Six of the rooms are feature king beds while the remaining three are twin rooms. All rooms feature swathes of cotton cloth adorning the ceilings, large romantic Zanzibar style nets, locally carved furniture and incredible views over the ocean. A plethora of bird's calls will act as your alarm call to watch the sun majestically rise from the Ocean with a burst of brilliant colour. The classic Banda's have a private Makuti (coconut leaf) shaded deck area directly on the beach complete with locally made sunbeds and mattress - the perfect spot to soak up the surrounding scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Saadani Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saadani Safari Hotel Saadani National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing