We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Makara Village
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Gokarna
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
SwaSwara(Gokarna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
12
24
11
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
24
11
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplace to staysea foodkudle beachnh15kmstempleresortom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We have stayed two weeks back in Makara Village.
We booked room through their website.This place is about 10 kms from the beach, but SRS travel will provide you drop at hiregutti in front of hotel(Everyone knows about this hotel location).
The Manager was very helpful and courteous.Beside stay he also arranged all sightseeing cab.We ordered morning breakfast to our room on both days. food was good especially Mysore bun. We also had our dinner in their restaurant(Please try any fish with rava fry).
Room was nice and specious. All basic amenities was provided by them.I would suggest this hotel to others who is gonna visit Gokarna. It is worth for money.
Best place to stay for couples.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AshishKhadpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Went to Gokarna with family for 3D/ 2N and we decided to stay at Makara Village Resort (MVR) based on the tripadvisor reviews. The resort provided a free pick up from Gokarna Road railway station but I wish they sent a better car, since the Omni-E they sent for us was smelling of Gasoline. We were at MVR in 30min and it's located on a highway. We checked in at 2PM, everyone liked the rooms instantly as they were spacious, well ventilated with green surroundings just like in pictures. However, the minute we saw the bathrooms we were disappointed as there were so many dead cockroaches lying around and the stink as if the sewage pipe broke-down.

We ordered tea and lunch which arrived in a impressive 15min time, but the plates, spoons, tea cups and flasks were so dirty, we suggested they bring tea for us in a different flask. We used the recyclable paper plates and cups we carried with ourselves (thank God). Same was the scene at dinner time, we ordered food with the resort and ate in our plates.

The next day morning we called for room service and a lady came with a broom hardly gave the floor a sweep and we complained about the bathrooms stinking and she poured what we saw, half a bottle of phenol, flushed and left. We called up the manager and we got no improvement except the apologies.

The resort had a kind and hospitable feel, it had a very good location but I would have felt really glad if there was better hygiene in the food utensils they served and cleaner bathrooms.

Room Tip: May be you should carry some naphthalene balls or Odonil to keep the stink away. And good hand sanitizer.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yojana78482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This place is about 10 kms from the beach but its was not an issue at all... the manager, Krishna Kamath made sure a cab was waiting for us whenever we wanted to go the beach or elsewhere. Raghu our server,waiter and room service always came into the room with a smile with our food even if it was for the 100th time that day. We were a group of 8 friends who stayed here...and mind you not one of us had a complaint. I'm pretty sure the other 7 will be writing a review right now and a pretty good one I'm sure.
Clean beds , clean toilets , hot water whenever you need it and the amazing staff of Makara Village.
If you don't mind staying away from the beach this is the place to stay. The prices were also very resonable.
Thank you again Krishna Kamath, Raghu and other staff, Makara Village ,Gokarna.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daanish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

good hotel located in Kumta, slightly far from Gokarna and OM beach. This is probably 20 mts away from Gokarna. But there are plenty of KSRTC buses every 15 mts. Hotel can arrange cabs as well. Food is good and relatively less pricey. Staff was very friendly. Better to stay here than any cramped up/expensive hotel in Gokarna.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PVInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

one of the best place to stay in highway food quality is awesome & taste especially sea food rooms are clean & value for money, good place to stay with the family & with friends if ur visiting gokarna best place to stay .

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank vijay3d5229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews