We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly hosts”
Review of Nimmu House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nimmu House
Ranked #6 of 13 Gokarna B&B and Inns
manchester, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“friendly hosts”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Gokarna is slightly off the tourist trek and this probably shows in the standard of accommodation and restaurants available. Gokarna is a particularly holy /religious place which is interesting to see.
Nimmu guest house is a family run bed and breakfast, and the family are very friendly and welcoming. The prices are cheap by western standards however you get what you pay for and for me this was a little too primitive for me. I would rather pay more however i'm not sure there is that many options in Gokarna.
On the plus side Nimmu guest house is centrally located, but is a little hard to fine - as it is located in a maze of street - but is near towards the beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sef_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    20
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
5
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This was my fourth visit to Nimmu House. It's like home away from home in India. A stones throw from Gokarna beach and 10 minutes walk from Main Beach to swim. Getting up early and wandering through the village past the temples is pure joy.
When I was ill a couple of years ago Amith and Nimmu Gokarn took my son into their family for meals and Organised for him to go to the beach with their friends.
From the upper rooms, you can watch the sunset and there's even a place on the roof for yoga.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TigerLillyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amith g, Owner at Nimmu House, responded to this review, 26 October 2016
Thank you very much to such a lovely Guests like you
Regards
Amith Gokarn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Builth Wells, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in early December. We had a good clean room with a small balcony, a decent comfortable bed and a sea view. The location was great to experience the town itself and something of the atmosphere of the pilgrimage sites. We used their family taxi to take us to Goa and the driver - one of the owners sons was very informative and helpful on the journey.

Room Tip: Recommend rooms with a balcony in the 'new' wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank llanafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

After visiting the place i repent why i choose this, I think just to spoil my trip and mood.
After seeing the reviews and uploaded photos I thought it will be nice but it was just the reverse.
Rooms where not at all clean and when asked for room service their response was indecent.
I am aghast with their behavior and customer service. I would never ever recommend anybody to visit or even think of visiting this resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank navni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gokarna hotels

Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Upon contacting Nimmu house for pre-booking the rooms the staff was least interested in giving the details. One person tells that rooms are available at 550 per day and the very next day we hear that the same rooms will be available at 1500 per day. When we questioned about increase in price rate, this was their statement "If you are interested then you come or go elsewhere ". Is this the way the staff should respond to a customer's query? I am happy that we got to see their real faces before going there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Glory_george
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

On checking the availability we got to know that the rooms are available at the rate of 550/- and we should deposite 100 % advance to an account. but there was no response for next one week. On calling second time it has been told that the room rate is 1500/- .when we asked for the cause of change in price they cut the phone saying " you can go and give bad comment on our site , we have many good comments also" what a customer friendly house !!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank 154qwerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A very nice place in Gokarna. This home stay style hotel is located 100mts away from the main Gokarna beach. It isn't fancy but it is cozy. There are rooms which give a nice sea view and there are those which don't. Extremely hospitable people await you there. The pricing is also reasonable. I got a double room for 600rs. With an attached bathroom. Which was great because I found shacks worth 900rs with rats to welcome you. This gives you a different feel all together. They help with bike rentals, taxi bookings, even offering tea. A very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor gives a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MalavikaMenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gokarna hotels
1.1 mi away
Sanskruti Quality  Resort
0.7 mi away
Kudle Beach View Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Zostel Gokarna
Zostel Gokarna
#1 of 31 in Gokarna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
SwaSwara
SwaSwara
#2 of 8 in Gokarna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.7 mi away
Om Beach Resort
Om Beach Resort
#4 of 8 in Gokarna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Namaste Yoga Farm
Namaste Yoga Farm
#2 of 31 in Gokarna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nimmu House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nimmu House

Property: Nimmu House
Address: Mani Bhadra Road, Gokarna 581326, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Dakshina Kannada District > Gokarna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Gokarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Nimmu House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing