We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding experience”
Suragi Holiday Home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Suragi Holiday Home
Sit out Sunset1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Suragi Holiday Home
Sit out
Sunset1
Suragi at Night
Surrounding
Pushya room
Pushya Bathroom
Megha Room
Megha Bathroom
Chaitra Room
Chaitra Bath room 1
Chaitra Bath Room2
Roof Terrace
Dinning
room entrance
yakshagana
kadle beach
beach cricket!
body board
Kadle Beach hiking
Kadle Beach Hillock
Kite Flying
Cycling
Carom Board
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Gokarna, Dakshina Kannada District, Karnataka

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vishu R
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding experience”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We drove to this place from Bangalore starting early in the morning..following the fastest route given by the hosts. Reached around lunch time. The food was South Indian vegetarian fare, freshly prepared and tasted exceedingly good.
The rooms were very clean and well maintained. The beach is about 5 mins. walk from the property and is quite calm and peaceful. The view of the sunset from the beach is spectacular.
The hosts gave us ideas/tips on places to visit as well as arranged for activities such as yoga, card games, water-boarding etc..
Overall it was great fun for the kids as well adults..
We do plan to visit regularly in the future..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food
Liked least: Liked everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2016
Thank you Vishu for the great review. It was our pleasure to hosts you and your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smsulagna
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Essentially a 'Home Stay'”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

It is difficult to write a review about this property as it was a completely mixed experience.

1. the owners are fantastic and we spend hours chatting with them. They can guide you well about how to plan you activities. Also they are very much approachable regarding any requirement of the guest.
2. Regarding the property, it is well maintained and clean. They have four rooms in total to rent out. 2AC and 2 Non AC, (they inform very clearly while making the booking)could not find the reason though...as the location is pretty hot. Rooms and bathrooms are neat and clean. the rooms have bed, one wardrobe, dressing unit and bedside tables. but strangely the wardrobe in our room was filled with blankets and pillows, so we could not use it. I think here they could be a little more attentive. We spent two nights there. We were not offered any room cleaning.
3. The location of the property is ok. It is a completely non commercial area and hence very quite and peaceful.The beach is about 5 mins, walk and the beach is nice, quite clean and very peaceful.
4. Food is one point they need to work on a little. They provided only and strictly local cuisine which was well made. But there were no other option, even for breakfast which was complementary they served only ONE dish that too local, which is little weird. So actually if you do not prefer to eat that particular dish you go without food.

In my opinion.. for the amount the charge and facilities they provide, probably they could be a little more service oriented.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manasakir...
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dont know what to say - Disgusting on them”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We were suppose to go here on Oct 1st 2015. Booked the hotels for dad n ourself. After two days of booking they say the rooms are not available. Its really bad on them since they have already taken full amount for 2 rooms and finally after 2 days they said rooms are not available. Our parents were happy that they were going for a trip. Now after two days all other home stays in gokarna was booked and finally we had to cancel the trip. This is sooo bad.
Never expected suragi would do this.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2015
Manasa,sincere apologies. You have not booked directly with us. You would have booked through travel sites who display wrong inventory most of the time without our knowledge,with whom we don't have control. Our correct inventory reflects at our suragi website suragi.in. I am sure you should rate those travel portals low who had collected money from you and caused you great inconvenience
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chhavi_ab...
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Home-stay... Wonderful Hospitality...”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Suragi is one of the best Homestays I have been to. The hosts were extremely hospitable and they gave invaluable guidance about the nearby places to visit. The accommodation was excellent worth the price paid. Vegetarian food is available with exquisite south-Indian taste. The best part is that the Kadle beach is only 2minutes walking from the stay. The beach is very serene and peaceful. Definitely recommended for families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeeptiRao
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great Place at Kumta”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Suragi is a newly constructed, spacious, well maintained, home stay located close to Kumta. We stayed there for four days in December. During our stay, we spent two days relaxing at the home stay itself and another two days exploring places nearby.

When we didn't head out of the home stay, we spent a lot of time listening to the awesome in-house music collection, reading books in the hajara (pillared corridor), and snoozing. The traditional food was wholesome and satiating. The spacious and well-equipped bathroom, 24/7 hot water facility, and clean towels were most welcome when we returned from the beach.

Suragi's architecture provides ample privacy to guests as the rooms open outward to a pillared corridor from which you can step out into the garden. All in all, we had a refreshing break at Suragi :).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The architecture of the house and the hospitality of the hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sid T
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Quiet Place Near the Beach”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Suragi is a newly opened homestay that is located near the pristine Kadle beach about 5km from Kumta, a small town south of Gokarna. The main draw is to idle on the beach, a 2 min walk from the property.

The rooms are comfortable and look newly built. The bathrooms can do with an upgrade, they are dull but clean. Be warned that there is no Air Conditioner in the room. Our major issue was the lack of privacy in the rooms, as the caretaker's room and kitchen was situated right next to our room and one could hear them speak and they could hear us speaking in the room.

The hosts are very hospitable people and go all out to ensure you have a good time. When I was a little unwell, they offered to get me medicines. We asked for a newspaper and it was on our doorstep in the afternoon.

We enjoyed our stay here, but think this is a property that will get better with time as they improve with feedback from guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2014
Thanks for the feedback. We will improve based on feedback like these. However, a couple of items to note, The adjoining room is the living room of the house and not the care taker area. The care taker area is located at the gate, well over 100 mtrs from the main house. Our choice of colors were keeping in tune with natural hues across rooms and attached bathrooms as well, as shown in the photographs of the property. We are currently offering and charging for only Non AC rooms for all guests clearly called out in our Quote as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraavelGe...
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Excellent location and nice rooms”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

It was a family vacation and we could not have chosen a better place to stay than Suragi. It was the beginning of our long trip and we started off quite well. The place is little interior to the main town and that was the main advantage in case you prefer to be away from the maddening crowd and from the torrent of tourists. It is a newly built house and is built to a proper taste. The rooms are quite big with a nice bed and an excellent bathroom. It is quite a surprise to see that they have given attention to small things but they matter the most, this is unusual in such not so tourist friendly destinations and little away from the mainstream. They have kept good activities to keep the children busy and at the same time they can enjoy on their own. The hospitality is really good, both the hosts are very friendly and accommodating. They have good suggestions to move around as well and they suggest the places depending upon your taste. Even they can suggest you good restaurants in the city in case you want to eat fresh seafood and local ice cream. The most amazing thing was an easy access to the beach, which is only for their guests. Kadle beach is just 2-min walk from the house and is one of the cleanest beaches you will find in this region with not much tourists still know about this. Ayurvedic hospital is just across the road and offers a good massage in case anybody is interested. Overall, it is a place in case you are looking for a relaxing holiday rather than traveling around to see places. The food they serve is of very good quality, though breakfast lacked varieties but it was still delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I strongly recommend this place to other tourists especially those who travel with kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxurious rooms and proximity to one of the cleanest beaches in the area.
Liked least: Nothing much.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;