We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite in every respect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kayotei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kayotei
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels / Ryokan in Kaga
Nimes, France
Level Contributor
147 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Exquisite in every respect”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This traditional ryokan is one of the best in Japan yet it manages to put european, non-japanese speaking, guests totally at ease. The rooms are large and beautifully furnished and everywhere in the in there are flowers, art works and furniture of a quality rarely seen outside a museum. In California museums you admire Nakashima chairs from a distance - here you sit on them!

The sense of hospitality was perfect - not too intrusive but with every need anticipated and quietly satisfied. As europeans we have never been terribly comfortable with the onset communal baths - here the private bath, with its view of Kayotei's own mountain, was reserved for us in without us asking and it provided a perfect way to relax before superb kaiseki in a private dining room with (cue sighs of relief) real chairs. Aging western joints can tolerate only so much dining on a tatami mat.

The inn has links with many local farmers and craftsmen and they happily arrange visits to see the artisans at work.

We will be back again and probably again and again, to see the inn in all its seasons.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muchtravelled001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    6
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This inn has exceeded all expectations, and although a bit off the "beaten path" is most deserving of a visit from the discriminating traveler.

The warm and genuine welcome we received upon arrival set the tone for a level of service, which even in Japan, is extraordinary. There are only ten rooms in this beautiful inn and the traveler is treated as a long awaited guest. The food is organic and delicious and the baths are beautiful.

One could not ask for more. Do try the local sake!

The inn sits above a beautiful gorge that invites long walks along a footpath. Several of the staff speak English well and I highly recommend a stay of two nights in this magical setting and place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This 10-room onsen Ryokan is one of the greatest experiences we have ever had - and I have to be embarrassed to say that we have grown to become quite fussy travellers!

Having stayed in another top Ryokan in Yamashiro the night before, this Ryokan has alto to live up to. The welcome by Jiro, the manager and member of the proprietor's family, was warm and personal. The room was traditional, spotless and warm. Jiro's recommendations for lunch at a local soba shop and wonderful walking route map were both spot-on. we then arrived back at Kayoutei in time for a long bath together in the private outdoor bath.

Dinner, served either in-room or in one of the traditional dinner rooms, was delicious and precise. Everything was in small but perfect quantities just enough to scintillate the palate without making the diner feel bloated. After dinner, we went our separate ways to the male and female baths for a final soak, before retiring to an early night.

There are 4 baths in total. One is a private outdoor bath where you and your partner can enjoy some private time together. The two large public baths rotate daily at midnight between male and female use. One of the public baths has a small outdoor annexe, comfortable for at most 2-3 people.

The next morning we woke up to a winter wonderland, it having snowed overnight. We had breakfast in-room and then went out for a walk along the beautiful, lush green gorge, punctuated by small waterfalls. Jiro also points out great little local shops on the map he drew, which sell excellent local organic produce or artisanal products. Jiro then gave us a lift to Alla Contadina, a Trattoria in the middle of nowhere, run by chef Sakamoto, his friend. The food was excellent - better than many a trattoria in Italy itself. His handmade pasta was some of the best, and the whole set lunch of three courses cost only 1700 Yen!!!

We left Yamanaka onsen and Jiro with fond memories and will go back at the earliest opportunity.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stinkaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Kayotei is 40 min.ride from Komatsu Airport in Ishikawa. If you call Kayotei they will charter you taxi which will pick you up at the Airport and with special discount.

The welcome is traditional Japanese Ryokan welcome.
People are all so nice and warm hearted.
The service is the best of best. And the hot spring that you can experience outside view was just amazing. The heat of the hot spring was perfect!! You do not have to go in so slowly. It is always the best temperature. But you can stay inside the water for as long as you can and does not make you dizzy. And you can enjoy the seasonal view and relax.
If you have chance to talk to the Owner family , you will meet sweet warm hospitality and feel at home and where you want to come back again and again.

Room Tip: You can ask for Denki-Shikimoufu (Electronic blanket under sheets) They will provide you special di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shinyabinya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

We were lucky to find Kayotei on our way to Kanazawa, and it's difficult to explain in a way how wonderful it is: both eminently traditional, yet completely welcoming. This is an inn that has been doing things in their own special way for a long time (the ikebana is exquisite, the omelette at breakfast is justly famous), and yet you feel as if they can't wait to see how you will experience it and how they can make sure you have a good time.

I love poetry so we had to hike up the river to see "where Basho stopped." We ended up at the local museum looking at Basho relics and admiring the astounding lacquerware. Next think we knew the docent had called a friend and my nephew was receiving a crash course in wood turning at the local school for artisans. Upon our return, our hosts couldn't wait to hear all about it. It was journeying at it's most perfect.

One night we had shabu shabu (incredible feast) and the founder/director came in and chatted with us for a while. It was just delightful

Really this is a special place.

You don't need to speak Japanese, but if you have someone in your party who does, it will make it even nicer.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FlyingOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Just returned from Kayotei where we spent 3 blissful days.
The beauty of this inn and its natural surrounding is almost indescribable.
I've been to many luxury ryokans in Japan but this is the most beautiful place with the best food.
It's not very well-known to foreigners yet--truly a hidden gem.
It's a easy 40 minute flight from Haneda airport to Komatsu, then 30 minute taxi ride to Yamanaka where Kayotei is.
It's a heaven on earth. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nyezh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaga hotels
Yamashiro Onsen
Yunokuni Tensyo
Yunokuni Tensyo
#2 of 63 in Kaga
231 reviews
Yamashiro Onsen
Araya Totoan
Araya Totoan
#8 of 63 in Kaga
75 reviews
Yamanaka Onsen
Hanamurasaki
Hanamurasaki
#4 of 63 in Kaga
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yamashiro Onsen
Beniya Mukayu
Beniya Mukayu
#1 of 63 in Kaga
186 reviews
Yamanaka Onsen
Kissho Yamanaka
Kissho Yamanaka
#9 of 63 in Kaga
124 reviews
Yamashiro Onsen
Rurikoh
Rurikoh
#5 of 63 in Kaga
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kayotei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayotei

Property: Kayotei
Address: 1-Ho 20 Yamanaka Onsen Higashi-machi, Kaga 922-0114, Ishikawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Ishikawa Prefecture > Kaga > Yamanaka Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels / Ryokan in Kaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing