We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenience plus” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Hill Hotel Onomichi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Green Hill Hotel Onomichi
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Onomichi
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Convenience plus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I tried booking a double room via the Hotel web site http://www.shimanami-gho.co.jp/english/ for a two night stay and had problems with a broken link. I ended up phoning from Australia and the helpful staff arranged my booking request over the phone at the sale price advertised. Upon our arrival several months later our booking was in the system as arranged and everything went smoothly. We had a room facing the inland sea and the busy working harbour.which provided a constantly changing view. Our room was clean, comfortable and generous in size. The hotel is convenient to rail, bus and ferry stops. Bicycle hire is located next door. The Path of Literature and Temple Loop walks as well as the cable car are all nearby as is the Ichibangai Shōtengai, the covered shopping arcade. This is very good accommodation at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    80
    33
    6
    5
See reviews for
33
30
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located near the railway station and right by the water. It is clean and comfortable and the room size (although small by Asian standards) is sufficient for a night.

For the price one cannot expect more.

The breakfast is wholesome with enough Asian and Continental options available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the port / bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tabibit
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We used to live in Onomichi, and every time we go back to visit friends, we stay here. Single rooms are small - but that is sort of a Japanese standard. View of the waterway is very nice. The hotel serves good buffet breakfast - both Japanese and Western style, but you can buy good pastries, yogurt, fruits, and drinks on the lower floor of a department store Fukuya right across the hotel by Onomichi train station. There is also Mister Donuts that sells not only doughnuts but noodles! A bike rental is also quite close. An ideal hotel for both tourists and business people.

Room Tip: If you would like to enjoy the view, ocean side. But the mountain view (with slightly lower room rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tabibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
162 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Our room was spacious with a picture window view of the river. The hotel is perfectly located. Just across the road from the station and, especially if you are planning on doing The Shimanami Kaido bike ride. At one end of the hotel is a bike hire place and, at the other end is the little punt which ferries riders and bikes across the river to start the journey. Ominichi also has a lovely temple walk that meanders around the hilly streets behind the train line.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deemacvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAIWAN
Level Contributor
165 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Right above the harbor,and in front of the bus and train station, convenient enough to go to any interesting place around Onomichi. Spacious hotel room and polite house keeper.Definitely have to stay here again!

Room Tip: Take a ferry boat to Setoda and enjoy the quietness of the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDS.LO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed for two nights and as other reviews have commented it is perfectly located across from the JR Station. We did have ask for a different room when we first arrived as we were put in a smoking room. They were able to move us to another. The rooms are nice enough and clean but geting a bit shabby in places. The walls had scuff marks on and the carpet was stained in places. There was, however, plenty of space and the bedding etc was clean. The rooms have fridges and there are vending machines on each floor. We also visited the Harbor Lights bar located near the check in desk and took advantage of happy hour which was very good value The barmaid was exceptionally helpful even though she didn't speak much English. The reception area appears to be in better condition than the rest of the hotel so perhaps this is a sign of an ongoing improvement?

Room Tip: Try for a harbour view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 7 days during the cherry blossom. The hotel staff was very accommodating and the front desk was very helpful. Communication at the front desk was limited due to our lack of fluency in Japanese and the staffs fluency with English. But this did not limit the front desk from wanting to fill your every need. We felt very welcome and comfortable during our entire stay.
The hotel is centrally located just across form the train station and just a short walk from the shopping district. We had a nice view of the harbor from our 6th floor room. Taxis were abundant but we found the need for a taxi was very low.
The hotel property is attached to a retail shopping area just outside the rear of the hotel on the harbor side. This proved to be a nice location for tea and snacking as we watched the passing people and ship traffic. This area was also conveniently connected to a pedestrian walkway which connected to the retail shops and the train station across the street.
The hotel was reasonably priced. We recommend a stay at the Green hotel.

Room Tip: We have no real tips here. It was quite easy to book the room we desired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank southpawjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Onomichi hotels
Hotel Cycle
#1 of 28 in Onomichi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Onomichi Kokusai Hotel
#4 of 28 in Onomichi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
View Hotel Seizan
#11 of 28 in Onomichi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Onomichi Station
Onomichi Royal Hotel
Onomichi Royal Hotel
#20 of 28 in Onomichi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Onomichi Station
Onomichi Daiichi Hotel
Onomichi Daiichi Hotel
#22 of 28 in Onomichi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Hill Hotel Onomichi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Hill Hotel Onomichi

Property: Green Hill Hotel Onomichi
Address: 9-1 Higashigoshocho, Onomichi 722-0036, Hiroshima Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Onomichi > Onomichi Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Onomichi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Hill Hotel Onomichi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Hotel.de, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Green Hill Hotel Onomichi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing