We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious suite in a functional hotel”
Review of Miyajima

Miyajima
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Miyajima
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Onomichi
Wexford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Spacious suite in a functional hotel”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel was basic but the rooms were very clean. We stayed in a suite, which looked out onto the strait between two islands and we were able to stand on a little balcony watching the world go by. The suite was made up of a twin bedroom, nice bathroom, spatious lounge and a large kitchen, with cooker, kettle and fridge, however the kitchen was empty of any equipment/utensils. This was clearly the best room option in the hotel, we did not see the normal rooms, but judging by the floor plan the must be tiny. This hotel felt like a well functional hotel providing accomodation mainly to people coming to work at the local industry.
We took the option of booking our evening meal at this hotel, the restaraunt was a bit like a canteen with a choice of either western or japanese set meals, which were fine. The upside of this was that nobody really minded when our 2 yr old daughter had a tantrum over dinner. For breakfast the next day we had toast and coffee.
The highlight of this hotel is the spatious room that comes with a suite, but be aware this is not a fancy hotel at all, but clean and functional.

Room Tip: Twin Room B is the suite with Balcony + view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandRWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
183 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My husband had planned for us to go to this island when he planned our trip around Japan.... Boy was it worth it. What a lovely place to just mill around, walk by the beach, see some temples and generally enjoy the outdoors. We hired some bikes, they are on the left hand side of the ferry terminal building before you enter the main building (they are really tucked away, no sign, so for us it was a real search). Hire rates are 100 per hour, we hired them for 3 hours and cycled around the island. We managed to get away from the crowds too and enjoy the peacefulness of the island, and burnt some calories to boot! We had a lovely lunch, some great coffee and cakes. Everything was so effortless, the train to the ferry port, boarding the ferry, coming back all well organised. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kckaceykc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We took a day trip to see the floating tori gate, but my suggestion would be that travelers stayed a night on the island. High tide was very early and late at night, so if you were on the island already, that would be easy enough to get the full effect of the gate being in water.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

A day trip in this seaside resort was one of the highlights of our trip to Japan. Beautiful shrine on the water with the iconic gate in the sea is an absolute must to see. If you like taking photos, you would enjoy the island very much. It is easily approachable by local train and ferry. For tourists using JR Rail Pass, it is valid for both, as there is a JR Ferry.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bus_leisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Onomichi hotels
Onomichi Station
Green Hill Hotel Onomichi
Green Hill Hotel Onomichi
#3 of 28 in Onomichi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Hotel Cycle
#1 of 28 in Onomichi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Onomichi Kokusai Hotel
#5 of 28 in Onomichi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
View Hotel Seizan
#9 of 28 in Onomichi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Onomichi Station
Onomichi Royal Hotel
Onomichi Royal Hotel
#22 of 28 in Onomichi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miyajima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miyajima

Property: Miyajima
Address: 2562-1 Innoshimahabucho, Onomichi 722-2323, Hiroshima Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Onomichi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Onomichi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Ctrip TA, Rakuten and HRS so you can book your Miyajima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing