We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Legendary hotel by the lakeside”
Review of Hotel Abashirikoso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abashirikoso
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels / Ryokan in Abashiri
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
251 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Legendary hotel by the lakeside”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Interior decor: Uper echelon of Japanese hotel/ryokan hybrid
Exterior appearance: Large hotel complex by Lake Abashiri - quiet location - almost exclusively occupying the lakeshore on the east side. Impressive.
View from the room I stayed (515): Mostly hills and forests. Average.
Service: Courteous staffs
Hot springs: Big bathtubs indoor and outdoor. Better than average.
Price value: OK.
Breakfast: High class hotel type of variety buffet style. Great.
Room size: Very comfortable at 30 square meters. Better than average.
Room cleanness: Very clean in spite of thirty-something years old.
Bed: Twin - soft and comfortable.

Room Tip: Get a lakeside room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank setotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    68
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
51
22
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

we were on a tour so I don't have an idea of what room choices there are. our room was above the game center. The room was divided into a lower portion with western style beds, and then a separate Japanese style sitting area one step above. In addition, there were comfortable chairs in a "third" area next to the window which looked out on the lake. The lobby is comfortable and spacious and also has a nice view. There is free wireless access in the lobby area and a nice gift shop. Previous reviews have gone into great detail about the food. I would quickly say that it was above average but cannot comment on the price because we were with a tour group. The toilet/shower room did have a smell which was common in the hotels in Japan, but the sink was outside of this room so we could keep the door closed. We also bathed in the onsen which was comfortable and relaxing, so didn't use the room shower. I would come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: non-smoking; room facing lake for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsukikenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
151 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

It is located in one of the most remote region of Japan, north eastern part of Hokkaido. You either have to take a flight from Sapporo, the main city in Hokkaido, for 1.5 hours, or a train for 7-8 hours to reach there. Hotel is 30 minutes from the nearest airport, or 15 minutes from the train station. To tour around Abashiri, you better have a rental car. The hotel is next to nowhere by the lake, and a bus stop. There are quite a few attractions in the city so a car would be much better.

The hotel started in 1930's as a small wooden hut and the third generation is running it now. It has all you need for a onsen hotel. Big room, very spacious, it is spectacular if it is facing the lake, no matter in summer or winter. The hotel lobby is very big and has a high ceiling, giving you a comfortable feeling. Frankly the onsen is average, with no surprise by Hokkaido standard. Meal is sumptuous, with all kinds of seafood you have been dreaming of.

Room Tip: Get a lake-facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CLau888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Abashirikoso, “the inn on Lake Abashiri”, although one of the more expensive hotels we stayed at in Hokkaido, was absolutely the best value of all.

Located about 6 km. out of the city, this hotel is best suited for car travel. It is on a quiet bay of Abashiriko, in a small grove of mature trees right on the lakeshore, near the main road and the railway tracks, but the wooded Quasi-National Park begins right on the other side of the tracks. Although there must be other hotels along the lake, the wooded setting made them invisible and we enjoyed the quiet view of the autumn lake.

The hotel is a large resort ryokan, with old (1973) and new (1999) wings. We stayed in the new wing, where the restaurant and lobby are also located. The price difference was worth it as a large school group was staying in the old wing. The lobby is large, with comfortable chairs, a non-smoking area and a welcome centre where you can get complimentary tea and coffee and even a snack. There is a store in the lobby which sells souvenirs, beer, bottled water, film and even live crabs.

We were welcomed by a hostess in kimono who provided hot oshibori before we even reached the main desk. Throughout, the welcoming staff made our stay enjoyable.

Our room had large windows on end and side overlooking the lake. This was a tatami room, with one area which could be separated by shoji as a sleeping area, suitable for four people. Everything was very clean and new. As in most ryokan, the toilet, washing area and bath were separate and, as in so many places, fairly inconvenient. There was lots of counter space, but not much light for shaving, and the same inadequate rack to dry towels as is found in many ryokan.

The refrigerator was filled with self-serve drinks, but there was also room for one’s own drinks.

Dinner was served in the room by our attentive and cheerful maid. It was exquisite. There were more dishes than anyone could possibly eat. We stayed two nights and the menu changed entirely on the second night. There was emphasis on local and seasonal dishes. Crab appeared at both suppers, but different varieties.

Breakfast was a Viking (buffet) in the dining room, and was one of the best we encountered. It was well-organized, with a good selection of western and Japanese dishes. We both chose the Japanese selections, which were both numerous and satisfying.

There is an onsen within the hotel, but we did not try the baths.

There are a number of worthwhile sites to visit around Abashiri: several are very close to the hotel. One could easily spend 2 to 3 nights at this hotel to visit them in comfort.

  • Liked — Friendliness and helpfulness of staff; great food.
  • Disliked — We enjoyed everything.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rideau-Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2008

My husband, 1 year old son and myself stayed here one night in a semi European room. The hotel is about a 30-45 minute bus ride from the Memanbetsu airport. The hotel sits a bit outside of the town of Abashiri, on the grounds of a lake (frozen and covered with snow when we were there) surrounded by lots of trees. The rate is a bit expensive at this hotel, but it includes a wonderful seafood dinner. Our room was half european (two twin beds) and the other half with a tatami mat, small table, bar fridge and tv. Small bathroom with shower/bathtub combo. The hotel is popular since it has a Japanese bath and steam rooms. The only problem we had was that the staff speaks little to no english, so we had a few miscommunications. The manager speaks the best english, but unfortunately i forgot her name. For children, they don't have any baby cribs. My bed was next to the tatami floor, so we put some pillows down and my son slept on that. He was comfortable, so it was fine. They have a large game room full of arcade games, most games cost around 100yen. At the restaurant they have children's meals, but they cost $35USD!!! We got one for our son, since he had to eat. Contained, some fried prawns, sausages, a burger and fries, some shellfish and salad. In the vending machine downstairs they serve fries, chicken nuggets and other things. There is a small cafe by the game room that serves ramen noodles. There is also a gift shop that sells cookies, drinks, toys and live crabs! The staff can help you translate bus schedules. The hotel is on the 1 bus line, which goes to the JR train station (takes 10-15 minutes), there you can transfer to the number 2 bus, which takes you to the Aurora ferry (to see drift ice in winter-great) and to the museums in the hill, which are actually close to the hotel. It's a shame there is no bus line from the museums to the hotel. From the hotel to the JR station it costs around 20 USD. The hotel runs a free shuttle bus to the JR station once or twice a day.

  • Liked — close to a lake near national parks, great dinner
  • Disliked — a few miscommunications with staff, carpet in bedroom should be replaced, cold hallways
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank garbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abashiri hotels
Abashiri Central Hotel
#9 of 23 in Abashiri
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abashiri Royal Hotel
#11 of 23 in Abashiri
48 reviews
Abashirikohan Onsen
Hokuten no Oka Lake Abashiri Tsuruga Resort
Dormy Inn Abashiri
#2 of 23 in Abashiri
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abashirikoso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abashirikoso

Property: Hotel Abashirikoso
Address: 78 Yobito, Abashiri 099-2421, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Abashiri > Abashirikohan Onsen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels / Ryokan in Abashiri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abashirikoso 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abashirikoso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abashirikoso Hotel Abashiri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing