We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STEEL DRAGON”
Review of Nagashima Spa Land

Nagashima Spa Land
Ranked #2 of 64 things to do in Kuwana
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gifu, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“STEEL DRAGON”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Steel Dragon was great from the front row. You have to be lucky in line to get in front. You can't wait for people to pass in order to line yourself up with it. Buy the all day pass and go on everything. There is lots of great shopping around the park as well. Many people visit just for the shopping. Take the train and then catch the bus if you cant drive there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Manfra090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    175
    45
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An excellent day trip - but not for the feint hearted !”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I cannot recommend this massive theme park enough. We went in winter so I can only comment on the amusement park side of things as the water park was closed, but suffice to say it was worth the mission to get out there. We left our apartment in Osaka at 8:30am and got to the park around 11, having taken the Shinkansen to Nagoya, then a JR line to a semi rural station about 30km from Nagoya, then a short 15 min bus ride to the park itself. So the park could definitely be considered 'off the beaten track'. But boy was it worth it !

Entry was incredibly cheap for what you get (we paid 3400 per adult for an all day unlimited ride pass) and when we went the place was virtually deserted, meaning no queues and no packed walkways. We were also the only Westerners there bar one other guy. I have to stress that if you don't like rides that go fast and high, this is not the place for you. Almost every ride had me on the edge of my seat (although my tolerance for heights is pretty low) and I went on everything I could. Unfortunately as it was the off season a few of the rides were closed for maintenance (including the mighty Steel Dragon 2000).

there is an extensive list of thrill rides and coasters but the highlights for me were the Haunted House (the Japanese do spooky better than anyone else in my opinion), the White Knight (a wooden coaster that will rattle your fillings out but definitely worth it!) and the Star Shot. It's also worth noting that a good 1/3 of the park is dedicated to rides definitely specifically for young children (ages 2 - 10) so it would be an idea place for a family to visit. Can't comment on the food as we didn't buy any there but it was reasonably priced if a little unappealing in appearance.

Overall it as definitely worth the trip there and I will be coming back next time Im in Japan.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toyama, Japan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not a disneyland”
Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

If you want to avoid Mickey mouses, mermaids and other baby characters, but to have a good adrenaline output, that's the place for you. Really crazy attractions, with more than 100 meters high Steel Dragon jet coaster will drive you crazy 100%! And, after these crazy things you can enjoy the relaxing beach and beautiful swimming pool.

Helpful?
1 Thank sostrovok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

4100 yen for entry and the place wasn't deserted buuutttt... was super quiet. And that was a Saturday on a long weekend. So rides and rollercoasters ahoy. It was deadly. Bring some lunch with you though, the food there was dreadful stuff. Familiar to anyone who knows Japanese attempts at western food outside of Tokyo. Loads of rides and coasters, great fun. One criticism more though, not that easy to get to. That said a great attraction!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank markboyle86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitanagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Go crazy with roller coaster!”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This is a place to just go mad with roller coasters and many more crazy machines for ride! Not just only machines, also good for Onsen hot spring. It is so huge! It is something like cut certain part of mountain and bring to there. Have a sweaty time with machines and be fresh with onsen!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank rookie-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nagashima Spa Land also viewed

 

Been to Nagashima Spa Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing