We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent location and good value”
Review of Hotel Bily Kun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bily Kun
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Loket
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great hotel, excellent location and good value”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Bily Kun is a hotel with great history. Goethe dined on the terrace overlooking the river. Today the BK is a well managed family hotel. We enjoyed a very spacious 3 bed family room which was great value at €82 for 3 people inclusive of breakfast. The rooms are functional and very clean although not luxurious.
Free wifi in the lounge and restaurant area, cabled internet in the rooms.
Sadly we could not sample the restaurant because the kitchen was overloaded with two pre booked groups and the head waiter said that it would be impossible to prepare additional meals when such big groups were booked in. However this is not an issue in Loket since there are a number of other restaurants and a fine local brewery to choose from.

Room Tip: The higher the better the view. The back faces the woods and river - very picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    8
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pangandaran, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and can't deny that its a satisfactory budget hotel in a good part of lovely Loket.

The rooms are light and bright and have ensuite bathroom however I found myself lying in bed itching a bit and suspect it was from the duvet cover. After the first night a number of doors in the hallway were open because of the morning checkouts. I went to look at their rooms and noticed that the beds had been stripped but not the duvet cover.

In this hotel they they put a sheet on the mattress but do not provide a 'top sheet' and thus if they are not changing the duvet cover its a bit random in my opinion. As I said, the bottom sheet and pillow case are fresh but not the duvet and thus you might want to carry a sheet of your own if your after a hygenic sleep.

The breakfast in the morning is fantastic. The wifi in the hotel is 1990's wired. Its only available in the reception and doesn't work in the restaurant at all.

The interior carpets of the hotel are all old and dated.

Room Tip: take a room at the back for the river views. better than the ones at the front where you get woken u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilykun, Manager at Hotel Bily Kun, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear "Advancebooking",
I'm very surprised to see your rewiew about changing bedclothes at our hotel. The duvet covers are changed on every check-out, every 3rd day of staying (if guest stay more than 4 nights) or in case that the bedclothes are stained during the staying and of course on EVERY check-out. It seems that you was wrong when you wached just a part of chambermaid's work. You may take a look at the cleaned and ready for accommodation rooms... It's a pity that you share your wrong opinion on Tripadvisor.
Best Regards,
Hotel Bily Kun manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This hotel is well situated in the centre of Loket, which is a lovely little town in the North of the Czech Republic (near to Karlovy Vary - 'Karlsbad').

i found the manager and his staff all very helpful and couldn't have wished for a better stay - pleasant, clean room with comfy bed and good-quality fittings.

I had a drink on the terrace (lovely views) and ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. The service and the food were extremely good. I'd recommend the chicken breast with tomatoes and Camembert!

Room Tip: I was offered a choice of room overlooking the river & hills (to the back), or the square and ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_Sheffield2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest - Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I would strongly recommend this hotel for anybody, who wants to relax with family or friends. Our stay was short, but lovely. Rooms were not too big, but hygienic and comfortable. Washroom was clean and functional. All the meals that I tried were good, but breakfast was awesome. Staff was very friendly and tried their best to help us. I will love to recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio Perez S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

For years we had visited Karlovy Vary and regrettably bypassed Loket, having no clue what a hidden treasure Loket really is. The James Bond Movie made the still sleepy town come to life at least for a while. The hotel is in the middle of town and is easily recognizable.

Pluses:
+ Location, Location, Location
+ Parking in Front (paid between 08:00 - 18:00), free on the side/back
+ Front rooms facing the square has great views
+ breakfast (ample and good)
+ view from the back overlooking the river valley

Minuses:
- Decor is dated and could use a face lift
- Bath soaps while adequate, was reminiscent of something of 35 years ago and not up to speed for 2013.
- Need Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. While Wi-Fi was available in the lobby and for free and wired in the room, these days of tablets requires Wi-Fi throughout the property.

Would recommend a night or two at the Bily Kun.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the town square
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmurrytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Hotel Bily Kun, situated in the heart of small but lovely Loket, has rooms that are in line with its budget-friendly prices. The service of the family who operates the hotel, though, elevates the Bily Kun to the highest level. Bend-over-backwards work ethic stands in marked contrast to many other Euro hotels I've stayed at. And a huge, made to order breakfast that was the best of American and Euro morning fare. And easy parking, too. Way worth staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RANDALL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Very nice hotel and personel, well maintained.
At city center of Loket, our room was on 2nd floor, with a view to the main sqare and the castle.

Very warm welcome.
Will come back for sure.

Room Tip: Choose the view to the square if you prefer a view, if you prefer quite, choose the backyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loket
4.5 mi away
Retro Riverside Luxury Wellness Resort
6.2 mi away
Hotel Romance Puskin
Hotel Romance Puskin
#3 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
319 reviews
5.3 mi away
Resort POPPY
Resort POPPY
#4 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel St. Michael
Hotel St. Michael
#55 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
10 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Embassy
Hotel Embassy
#26 of 91 in Karlovy Vary
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stein Elbogen
Hotel Stein Elbogen
#1 of 5 in Loket
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bily Kun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bily Kun

Property: Hotel Bily Kun
Address: T. G. Masaryka 109/53, Loket 357 33, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Karlovy Vary Region > Loket
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Loket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bily Kun 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bily Kun is situated in the center of city Loket. The town center itself features Loket Castle, a 12th-century Gothic building. In the 19th century built hotel is suitable for a family holiday as well as for tourists groups, business trips and activity holidays. The town is located near from famous spa resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bily Kun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing