We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Stay...But!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Relais de Margaux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relais de Margaux
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Margaux
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay...But!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel. We found it very enjoyable and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The only downside to the stay was that we found the hotel wasn't the tidiest that we have stayed in (we have stayed in many 4 & 5 star hotels around the world) and felt that it didn't really merit 4 stars in that respect. We spent most of our time by the pool and were very disappointed to find cigarette stubs and rubbish by the pool for the whole time we were there (the same rubbish every day, which showed that the poolside wasn't cleaned the whole week) The pool itself tended to have a lot of dead bugs floating in it every day (which I know is normal for a pool in a warm climate), however, we were by the pool after breakfast every morning and the pool or poolside hadn't been cleaned. You would think by 10am that this would have been done. Also with regards to the pool area, I found it very disappointing that there was no poolside bar service. The pool is some 40 metres (?) away from the main building and I find it well below 4 stars that you are expected to have to walk across the rear of the hotels grounds to get to the bar, and that is after you have dried and dressed yourself.

Also on the subject of cleanliness, we found that the hotels main restaurant to also be rather 'dirty'. Dirty is maybe a bit harsh, but it always seemed to have crumbs and food residue on the floors under tables and in the corners near walls etc. For a four star hotel/restaurant I find this unacceptable and would expect this to be cleaned up, if not at night then at least before breakfast.

One other small issue that has been mentioned before in previous reviews is the use of the hotel as a conference centre. We definitely found that the guests of the hotel were put second to these 'delegates'. Primarily in the use of the restaurant, hotel guests were not allowed to eat on the restaurant terrace outside, as this was reserved for the delegates. As a result of this my wife and I decided not to eat in the hotel other than for breakfast, which again we were not allowed to eat outside.

This hotel has the potential to be a very very good hotel but it has to decide where its priorities lie. Is it with guests visiting for the luxury of a four star stay, guests attending for a golf experience or a conference centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brunken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    247
    130
    52
    18
See reviews for
61
399
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We only stayed 1 night on our way to Soulac-sur-mer but really enjoyed the enperience.
The rooms were very large, the dinner was excellent, a great location to visit the vineyards.
The pool was very nice.
The people working there were very pleasant.
I did not like the indoor spa pool and would not recommend it.
We don't golf, but it looked nice.
Our dinner was excellent and reasonably priced.
Going thru booking.com we got the room for 99€ (no cancel) . VERY cheap.
The rugs in the hallway need to be replaced but for 99€ it was a GREAT bargain.

We didn't get the breakfast. At 15€ per person we thought it was expensive for the amount of food we eat. Plus the night we spent there was a very bad storm and the hotel (and a large section of Margaux) lost electricty around 2AM and it still was not restored when we checked out at 9AM.

The halls all had windows so the lack of electricty wasn't a problem.
I personnally thought the hotel should have offered a free breakfast for the inconvience (no TV, no internet, no hot water ) but truth is it wasn't their problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patmazuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

It is a resort with golf course and spa but it has conference facilities and 100 bedrooms suitable for business conferences. It's secluded but too large to be a hide away. Lunch on the terrace by the golf course was mediocre. Service was slow. Waitresses avoided serving non French speaking customers. Dinner was good, and service by more experienced personnels was excellent. Breakfast spread was good except the fruit cocktail was made from rotting fruits. No fly protection for cold cuts and cheeses. Extraordinary helpful and friendly front desk people.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chawarit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Large conference style hotel in great setting in the heart of Margaux's vineyards. Our flight into Bordeaux was delayed by 30 minutes so we rang ahead to explain we would be late for our dinner reservation. It was disappointing that the hotel were unable to keep the restaurant open for us and offered us a 'cold plate' on arrival instead. The hotel was very empty - 3 cars in the car park - and hence the bar was completely empty and lacking in atmosphere. The lack of guests, combined with the long dark corridors (energy saving lighting) gave the hotel a rather spooky feel. Rooms surprising large, but felt a little bare, maybe some art on the walls would help.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonItchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacation
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Reception was very friendly, beautiful location. They have a good restaurant Vincente, where service was impeccable - our waiter Charles was especially accommodating. We didn't finish our wine and cheese plate and when we asked if we could take it up to our room, he took care of it while we were having dessert. It was all nicely laid out for us when we went back. We had him a couple of more times while we were there. One problem with Vincente, is that they have the same menu choices every day- However, when we voiced that concern, Charles and Maitre de were very accommodating and asked us what we had a taste for - which is what they actually cooked for us then.
Also, Celine at front desk was very helpful in making reservations for Chateau Wine tours for us
Would highly recommend

Only 2 negatives- The breakfast buffet is rather limited- a mixed fresh fruit salad and whole fruits, but not a big selection. no fresh vegetables such as tomatoes/cucumber etc ...all in all..not up to par with 4 star hotel breakfasts- however service was good
housekeeping- We stayed 3 nights- After 1st night Toiletries/tea coffee area were not replenished, towels weren't replaced and you could tell the bath wasn't cleaned because there were still waterspots on the glass doors. When I posted my concern at front desk, it was remedied that day

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Very well located in the middle of the vyneards in Margaux. Nice restaurant spite short selection of dishes. Nice golf course but if you rent a bag of clubs will be disapointed. The services are well done and it is clean and the rooms are nice and well maintained.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Large clean rooms in resort setting. Staff very attentive. Restaurant very good. Only complaint is poor air conditioning. Had to sleep with windows open and it rained. Air conditioning seems to be poor throughout France during the late spring however. I'd recommend this hotel and resort and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diastole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaux
7.6 mi away
Golf du Medoc Resort
Golf du Medoc Resort
#1 of 2 in Le Pian Medoc
486 reviews
24.9 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
719 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Pavillon de Margaux
Le Pavillon de Margaux
#2 of 2 in Margaux
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Chateau Cordeillan-Bages
10.2 mi away
Chateau Grattequina
Chateau Grattequina
#1 of 2 in Blanquefort
170 reviews
15.0 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 173 in Bordeaux
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais de Margaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais de Margaux

Property: Relais de Margaux
Address: 5 route de l Ile Vincent, 33460 Margaux, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Margaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Margaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais de Margaux 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located alongside the Gironde set in 55 hectares of land in the heartland of the famous Medoc wine country, the Relais de Margaux is only 40 minutes from Bordeaux city centre and the Merignac International Airport of Bordeaux. The “Relais de Margaux” is an ideal holiday resort to discover this beautiful region, visit prestigious wine castles, discover oenological and to spend a few days of relaxation.Here wine, country and sports activities harmonize wonderfully well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais de Margaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais De Margaux Hotel Margaux
Relais De Hotel Margaux
Margaux Relais De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing