We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos de L'Abbaye
Ranked #2 of 12 Cluny B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2013

A very warm welcome from Claire and Pascal, a lovely garden to relax in, great breakfast and restaurant recommendation. The decor is quirky and it works very well in the old and beautifully restored house, one persons vision rather than a corporate make over.
We stayed after a driving holiday through Southern Germany and a week on Lake Orta in Italy which had left us feeling very relaxed, it was the last few days before returning to the UK, Le Clos de L'Abbaye only added to one of the best holidays we have had.
The vineyard recommendations from Claire for buying Macon Blanc and Rouge were as we are finding out pretty good too!
Don't be put off by the photograph on TA it was taken before the restoration.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gralel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

While on a 10 day road-trip across France with my wife and daughter, we learned about Le Clos de L'Abbaye B&B through a Google/Trip Advisor search. After reading the reviews and additional research, we made advance reservations. We stayed in a quaint family unit next to the historical Abbey in Cluny, that offered a King Bed with a twin bed in a separate room. The accommodations were very comfortable, and the entire experience in Cluny exceeded our expectations! The couple who own the B&B were very kind and provided a delicious breakfast with coffee at our leisure (also, the wife spoke English). We were only a 15 minute drive to Taize...a MUST "see & do" in the Macon region. I highly recommend Le Clos de L'Abbaye for a truly rewarding cross-cultural experience!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank BigMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This was a perfect place to stay for the Cluny portion of our trip. The hotel is charming and clean, and Claire and Pascal are perfect hosts. The loft room was very pleasant, and the garden a lovely place to sit in the afternoons. We're already recommending Le Clos de L'Abbaye to our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ursula312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We had just flown in from Portugal to Beauvais,Paris. Drove to the Abbey after visitng local towns including areas of the Somme Julien was there to meet us, as ot was late he helped us by arranging food from the by now closed local resturant, which was just excellent. The cream caramel was to die for!!! The bed, the surroundings and the pigeon coop was amazing! In the morning we had, fresh bread, croissants, great butter, home made jams from his wife fresh coffee, the best tea selection I tasted whilst in Europe and a great locally made yoghurt. This was a dream from where we had cone from will definitely go back. Carries my highest recommendation. Shame we didn't meet his wife but it was just brilliant.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Ideally located adjacent to the old market place near the abbey, we found a warm welcome and a quiet and very comfortable room. Large communal room for guests to relax and make drinks. No private parking, you have to rely on the few spaces in the market place which is payant. Breakfast adequate though basic. Good value at 65 euros for 2 sharing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PeterHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThibautBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank zinalac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cluny
0.8 mi away
Hostellerie d'Heloise
4.7 mi away
Chateau d'Ige
Chateau d'Ige
#1 of 1 in Ige
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant de l'Abbaye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Bourgogne
Hotel de Bourgogne
#1 of 5 in Cluny
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Maison Tandem
La Maison Tandem
#7 of 12 in Cluny
7 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison des Gardes
La Maison des Gardes
#5 of 12 in Cluny
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos de L'Abbaye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos de L'Abbaye

Address: 6 Place du Marche, 71250, Cluny, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Cluny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Cluny
Price Range: £69 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Clos de L'Abbaye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing