We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in Cluny”
Review of Hotel de Bourgogne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Bourgogne
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cluny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is a wonderful little hotel in a great location. We were greeted warmly by the owner and her cute cat and she answered all our questions about the town and hotel. We had a very nice dinner in their beautiful dining room that night. I couldn't recommend this hotel more strongly.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank hdcdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

This is a very nice hotel in a lovely location. The rooms are comfortable and the wifi is fast and free. I cannot comment on the restaurant too much as it was Tuesday and the restaurant is closed for dinner so beware of Tuesdays. Having said that, there are several good bistros within a 2 minute walk. Breakfast was what you would expect in this location. The secluded courtyard is a great place to have a beer or glass of wine. The staff are very friendly and provide you with a code for late entry to the hotel

Room Tip: Room 14 does not have a separate shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonJ213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

My wife and I chose to stay at the Hotel de Bourgogne because of positive reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. We were greeted by the owner who guided us to our parking space in a centuries-old stone barn. She assisted us with our luggage and escorted us to a nicely decorated room with a magnificent view of the remaining towers of the Cluny abbey. The restaruant was not open on the night we stayed, but the breakfast was the best of our holiday in France. Both the breakfast room and the restaurant are tastefully deocrated and meticulously maintained. The hotel is situated within the footprint of the Cluny monastery complex and the extrance to the abbey is less than a minute's walk from the hotel. The hotel's charming elements include the owners' friendly calico cat.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor (floor 1 in France) with a view of the abbey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StanduMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This was a stopover on our way back to Calais from Cote d'Azur and was excellently placed right in the centre of town and next to the Abbey. The salon was charming with a model on the Abbey (large) in one corner and our double room with wifi was lovely. The charge of €10 to park the car in their car park was we thought a bit steep - for €100+ a night you'd think that could be thrown in. We took our risk on the square instead. We had a lovely meal in their restaurant that evening but as is often the case in nice French restaurants, the wine was extremely expensive and there did not seem to the option of un pichet for something cheaper. Staff were very friendly and helpful though and we had a very comfortable night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mordaj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed overnite at this pleasant hotel in Cluny which sits directly diagonal to the Abby-location could not be better. Our twin bed ensuite first floor (no elevator) room was decent size for France, clean & comfortable. No internet. Staff was friendly and helpful. Cafes and restaurants aron the main shopping streets are 5 minutes away. Hotel has secure parking which is locked after 10pm but we were able to park safely on the adjacent square overnight for 3E. The Abby literature is disappointing and does not clearly give you directins from viewing #1 to other locations and little in the way of description of what is identified. My guess is that visiting the somewhat smaller but more intact abby at Fontenay would provide a better picture. We had a nice steak/frites dinner at Michelin rates La Brasserie du Nord, a modern bistro about 75 steps from the hotel-very nice steak but the fires can straight out of a package and tasted same, good service, reasonable prices. Hotel offers an outstanding value for about 200E-room plus brk and dinner for which they are well known. Within 5 miles visit Cormatin's the Chateau de Cormatin and its pretty gardens. There is a nearby restaurant/bisgtro by the church operated by 2 pleasant men which has a few steps to reach that looked delightful for Lunch but was full due to a large group. Definitely should be sought out. A few miles from Cormatin is the very small but attractive village of Brancion with a small chateau which looked closed. Within 3/4 hour of Cluny are the interesting win villages of Pouilly and somewhat less promising and more commercial Fuisse,

Room Tip: If stairs are a concern, get a ground floor or first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This is a well located hotel, actually in the footprint of the old abbey. Some of the abbey ruins are immediately out the door. We had an apartment in this hotel with 3 rooms, sitting room, bedroom, bathroom, and toilet compartment. Our rooms were decorated very plainly, but we weren’t there for the décor. There was no air conditioning, but we were able to use the open windows and the shutters to control the heat in our rooms. There was no lift in this historic building, and the one flight of steps to our room was long. We used the parking garage in the back of the hotel. The staff was very helpful, and polite.

We ate lunch in the informal dining room, and dinner in the dining room. The dining room is beautiful. It was a Sunday night, and many tables were taken. The food was good, and the service gracious. We spoke some ‘grammar school” French and the staff helped us, speaking both English and French to us.

There aren’t many hotels in the town of Cluny, so if this hotel is available, grab it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

this hotel is very well located next to what nowadays remains of the famous abbey. our room was comfortable with a big bathroom. it also has a nice small garden where is possible to have breakfast. the food at the restaurant is very good. we enjoyed spending one day there.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cluny
0.5 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant de l'Abbaye
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#5 of 5 in Cluny
35 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostellerie d'Heloise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Chateau d'Ige
Chateau d'Ige
#1 of 1 in Ige
418 reviews
7.8 mi away
Chateau de Besseuil
Chateau de Besseuil
#1 of 1 in Clesse
230 reviews
12.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel D'Europe Et D'Angleterre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Bourgogne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Bourgogne

Address: Pl. de l'Abbaye, 71250, Cluny, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Cluny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cluny
Price Range: £88 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Bourgogne 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de Bourgogne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing