We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position, comfortable hotel”
Review of Hotel de Bourgogne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Bourgogne
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cluny
Certificate of Excellence
Italy
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great position, comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

If you are visiting Cluny and want a good hotel that will not cost an arm and a leg, a good breakfast to stand you in good stead for the day, then this is where you should be heading. We would have liked to have dinner here too as the reviews recommended it but we were unlucky enough to be here on their closing day. Comfortable bed, kingsize, spacious room, great view over the abbey, fantastic position in the heart of the town. We hope to return one day to eat in the restaurant and enjoy breakfast in the garden. If you are driving, book the garage!

Room Tip: Pure had a view Of the Abbey, great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    72
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
80
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cotes D'armor, France
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is our second stay because Cluny, amazingly enough as it is a "destination" does not seem to have many really good hotels and we enjoyed our first visit. After driving around for about 20 minutes trying to find the dratted place and KNOWING it was near the abbey/ruins, what a relief to have a good chap at the reception desk. We parked in the square by the hotel- free until 9 a.m. next day and were shown to a pleasant room overlooking rooftops and, below, a small, green courtyard garden. Room was reasonable size, ditto bathroom and at 103 euros , not a bad price....breakfast at 11 euros each is really worthwhile if one is travelling far the next day, plenty of choices and good food.
We had dinner in the restaurant, which has some unusual artefacts around, is very spacious and well-lit but also with a candle on the table for atmosphere. Very good staff and the food is tasty, if not madly exciting! We chose the 26 euro menu, had a bottle of the local (Macon) wine at 26 euros- a white wine, quite unusual and very full of flavour. Solutre, whence it came, is about 12km. away on a "tourist" trail, with several vineyards selling own wines.
We ate:- eggs in red wine and jambon persille for starters. These were followed by saddle of rabbit and tarragon chicken. Can't remember the desserts. All the food is home-prepared and cooked and the restaurant has a notice to that effect, as France is trying to introduce a category for restaurants such as this one, where nothing is bought-in.
Again, if we are near Cluny, we would probably stop here; the town itself is charming, with narrow streets, old buildings, the abbey and (rather expensive) shops, plus several bars and restaurants, all looking quite interesting.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the "National Haras" (horses) and this is a pleasant outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daviesbagrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspley Guise
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Really liked this hotel and the food and location. Good to have private parking and lovely courtyard garden. No airconditioning but this was not a problem as old building stayed cool
The hotel was right next to the old abbey and historic part of the town so beautiful and also very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneAspleyGuise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times now, on our way down to the south of France.

We looked at Cluny and it appeared to be a nice town. The hotel with the best ratings appeared to be this one, and well deserved are the good ratings too.

It is situated virtually 'on' the remains of one of the most historic abbeys in Europe and looks out onto the main square in Cluny.

Close to the autoroute, secure covered parking, generous sized clean rooms and a hearty breakfast, all make this an ideal 'stop over.'

Thoroughly recommended.

We can also recommend the Forum restaurant, quirky Italian with great food, a short walk on the edge of town.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the square...............
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This hotel was in the old part of Cluny in a lovely position right next door to the Abbey. Bit difficult to find without satnav but think we approached from the "difficult" side of town. Our room and bathroom not spectacular but comfortable except for awful pillows (these are very important to us!) and only a handheld shower over the bath. The reception staff seemed friendly and spoke English. The downstairs of the hotel had a pretty, very french sitting room with resident cat and a very sweet inner courtyard to sit and enjoy a drink. Breakfast was extra but superb by normal french standards. We paid 10 euros to garage the car as parking was limited, but as we were travelling down to Italy with a full car we didnt want it on full view at night in a public car park. That is the disadvantage of staying in a quaint old town. Would recommend this hotel though not cheap especially having to factor in garageing and breakfast. We had a good meal in the town at night with plenty of choice though could have eaten at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We chose the hotel because we were travelling with children (3&5) and wanted a family room. The accommodation was great - the girls had a separate room and toilet - so none of the usual 2 extra beds squashed into our room. The room was extremely quiet and the nights were cool so we all slept extremely well. We found everyone at the hotel to be very friendly and welcoming, happy to help in every way possible; especially the cat! The location of the hotel is also a real plus as it is so close to the abbey. We were able to dash the 20m to the entrance in the drizzle and then easily pop back to the room for extra layers later. My husband and I ate in the restaurant and had a really enjoyable meal - the €26 menu was very reasonable. In short, I couldn't recommend the hotel enough.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This hotel has the best location in Cluny. Overlooking the Abbey , everything in the village in close walking distance . The wonderful Saturday market (9 am - 1 pm) right outside the door.
Our room was quite big, but not as charming , as the outside of the hotel suggests.
The proprietor very indifferent to his guests .
Breakfast delicious , freshly baked croissants , bread and cake. Nice fruit, cold meats and cheese.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreddyFlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cluny
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#3 of 3 in Cluny
33 reviews
7.8 mi away
Chateau de Besseuil
Chateau de Besseuil
#1 of 1 in Clesse
208 reviews
4.6 mi away
Chateau d'Ige
Chateau d'Ige
#1 of 1 in Ige
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel L'Estaminet
Hotel L'Estaminet
#1 of 1 in Mazille
40 reviews
12.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel D'Europe Et D'Angleterre
0.3 mi away
Hostellerie Le Potin Gourmand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Bourgogne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Bourgogne

Property: Hotel de Bourgogne
Address: Pl. de l'Abbaye, 71250, Cluny, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Cluny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cluny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Bourgogne 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de Bourgogne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing