We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegance in the French Countryside”
Review of Le Petit Chateau

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marciac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Petit Chateau
Ranked #4 of 11 Marciac B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Elegance in the French Countryside”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

In July, my husband and I stayed 4 nights at Le Petit Chateau during our trip to the Jazz in Marciac Festival. This elegant chambre d’hôte, located in the French countryside, is one of the most beautiful places that we have ever stayed in our extensive travels abroad. The pictures on the website do not do it justice. Unfortunately, I learned about their accommodations too late to reserve a room for our entire vacation. The rooms go quickly during the weeks of the jazz festival. I recommend that you book early. In spite of our late booking, we were able to reserve the Lanvin Room (Blue Room), which is a large bedroom, on the upper floor, that overlooks the French countryside. The room’s décor, like the rest of the chateau, is very stylish. No surprise given that the owners, Kate and Stephen, were formerly in the fashion industry in another life. There is so much attention to detail, from the large roomy, contemporary bathroom, to the matching textiles in the bedroom. Each morning, we were awakened by the faint crow of a rooster, in this largely agricultural community. I made a point of throwing open the shutters of our large windows to view the sunflowers that peppered the countryside. The view was so picturesque, that it almost seemed unreal. Our hosts served a delicious breakfast each morning on the terrace for all the guests. Breakfast included fresh breads and pastries, cereals, juice, yogurt, fresh fruit and coffee and tea. Most guests were there to attend the Jazz festival. It was a delight to engage in spirited conversations each morning about the prior evening’s concerts. Kate is a great chef. If you visit, make sure that you have at least one of her scheduled four-course dinners. We are vegetarians, and found it a little difficult to eat the meat-based meals that are associated with the southwest France diet. However, Kate prepared vegetarian entrees especially for us. The two dinners that we ate at the Chateau, were the best meals that we had on our vacation. The chateau is located about 2 miles outside of the village where the jazz festivities take place. Kate and Stephen emailed us clear directions to the chateau from the Toulouse airport. With the help of GPS, we easily found the chateau with no trouble at all. Without reservation, I highly recommend Le Petit Chateau for the festival or any other special occasion. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Reserve early
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jazzlover1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2012

An attractive chateau set in beautiful countryside. The chateau provides charming bedrooms with modern bathrooms, non of that faded chic that the French so often provide! The property rises above fields of sunflowers in an area of mixed farming, very rural with good walking and cycling (take your own bikes!). The owners provided a warm welcome throughout and made us feel that nothing was too much to ask, nor that we were just another family passing through. We had all meals provided for the week, the dining and service was faultless, lavish and abundant. A triumph. We will definitely be returning, sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are larger, but all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Beautiful house, great hosts, lovely peaceful part of the French countryside. The pool was fantastic, and we ate out all our meals al fresco on the terrace. Marciac is a pretty town with some nice restaurants on the square. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0nners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My friends and I have just returned from a long weekend at Le Petite Chateau. The Chateau owners provide both a Bed & Breakfast service as well as exclusive rental of the whole property. We opted for the latter choosing to be fully self-catering, though Stephen and Kate (owners) do offer a catered service for groups renting the Chateau. Stephen and Kate took themselves away for a few days allowing us free reign over the property and we could not have asked for a better weekend. S & K arranged bike hire for the weekened as well as helping to manage local restaurant reservations and offered invaluable advice on the local area. The property itself is stunning and the views of the Pyrenees and the surrounding countryside are breath-taking. The bedrooms are beautifully furnished, all to a very high standard and the kitchen is exceptionally well equipped. We were very fortunate with the weather and as such the swimming pool was in constant use throughout the weekend.
Thanks Stephen and Kate for the great weekend...I know that twenty-two 5 star reviews sounds a bit too good to be true, but the combination of the property, the views and the hosts (...and with a bit of good fortune, the weather), means that this place takes some beating.

Marciac village itself was also very quaint with a number of very good dining options. We can highly recommend Le Monde a l'envers for an evening meal

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannodoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Le Petit Chateau was a highlight of our recent trip to France. The location just outside Marciac is in magnificent surroundings with panoramic views to the Pyrenees.
Kate and Stephen were superb hosts, sharing their beautiful home with us and providing fantastic help and support regarding our slightly complicated requirements for a wedding in Marciac. The delicious dinner provided after a day of travel was most welcome, as was the serenity of the swimming pool located in a peaceful corner of the extensive gardens.
The rooms were beautifully appointed and very comfortable with fantastic breakfasts to start the day. We thoroughly recommend Le Petit Chateau and would enjoy having an opportunity to stay there again.
Thank you Kate & Stephen.

Ruth & Trevor W.
Sydney, Australia.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StruthSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

From our first meeting last August, to our wedding on June 9th, Kate and Stephen have been fabulous. We couldn't have done it without them. They made the planning easy and the day went smoothly. The food was excellent and the service professional yet friendly.

As for Le Petit Chateau itself - an amazing place, inside and out. The setting is spectacular, perched on a hill 2km outside Marciac (a lovely village with a central square and an amazing church). There are spectacular views of the Pyrenees only 50km away. Bordeaux, Toulouse and Biarritz are all within 2 hours.

We booked all 4 rooms and all of our guests commented on how luxurious they were. Outside, the terrace is a great place to eat and enjoy the views and the pool is perfect for sunbathing, with the occasional dip to cool down.

We will always treasure the memories of our wedding, and in a big way that's thanks to Kate, Stephen and Le Petit Chateau.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I booked a week at Le Petit Chateau to celebrate my 40th birthday, the first half of the week with friends, and the second half of the week with family.
I cannot praise the place and the owners enough!!!!!
I couldn't have celebrated my landmark birthday in any better way & our weeks stay will always be a fantastic memory.
Everything about Le Petit Chateau is wonderful and we loved every minute, yet felt like we had spent a lifetime there by the time it came to go home :(
The owners Stephen & Kate are fantastic hosts, they're friendly, full of advice, great company, and so easy to get along with. Without them Le Petit Chateau would still be gorgeous, beautiful and relaxing but nowhere near as perfect and memorable.
The decor at the chateau is beautiful and sumptuous but at the same time the hosts make you feel so at home that we didn't want to leave.
Stephen & Kate made us a lovely breakfast every day, two lovely lunches, and two superb evening meals where we were introduced to & fell in love with Pousse Rapier. They also made arrangements for two birthday cakes to be locally made & collected for us, and they assisted us by arranging bicycle hire, and booking two boat trips on the canal at Condom. We did two different sorts of boat trip but if you are vaguely energetic/confident I would highly recommend hiring a boat so that you can operate the locks yourself, this was great fun!
The village of Marciac is a lovely quaint French village with a wonderful square surrounded by lots of shops, restaurants and bars. We had lunch at Le Monde which was very reasonable and on Wednesday morning we visited the market in the square which we loved.
Unfortunately my dad required hospital treatment late one evening during our stay, not only did Stephen & Kate return early to the chateau from a night out but they arranged the attendance of medical professionals, and even escorted us to the hospital to assist with translations in case our rather basic French was insufficient. They really will go beyond the call of duty to look after their guests.
I cannot say enough fantastic things about Le Petit Chateau and I can assure you that Stephen & Kate will give you an unforgettable stay which you will love!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 122liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marciac
0.0 mi away
La Baguenaude
La Baguenaude
#1 of 11 in Marciac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Au Chateau Juillac
Au Chateau Juillac
#1 of 2 in Juillac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Logis Les Comtes De Pardiac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Villa Toscane
La Villa Toscane
#1 of 2 in Marciac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Hameau du Lac
0.0 mi away
La Petite Ecole
La Petite Ecole
#10 of 11 in Marciac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Chateau

Property: Le Petit Chateau
Address: Le Guitou, 32230 Marciac, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gers > Marciac
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Marciac
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing