We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic gite well placed to explore beautiful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Domfront, Orne, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
AliBisson...
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic gite well placed to explore beautiful countryside.”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Peter & Aly were fantastic hosts with someone always on hand should you need anything. The gite was great with everything you could possibly need. The surrounding area is absolutely beautiful with plenty of well planned walks to choose from. A brilliant base for a holiday and one I will definitely return to.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your excellent review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday! You are welcome back anytime; we look forward to seeing you here again soon.
Peter & Alyson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisac8535
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, quiet and quaint little gite”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Pete, Alyson and family, are fantastic hosts, they are helpful and friendly and full of local knowledge, always a bonus when you are new to an area.
The gite is a beautiful well equipped little home from home, even a washing machine, brilliant !
The gite is situated in a very very quiet rural location without being miles from anywhere, having said that you do need a car to get about, It is situated in the very south of Normandy with miles and miles of rolling fields and spectacular countryside with very pretty villages dotted about,
A must place to visit is the Heavy Horse Centre about an hour from the gite,, amazing place where you can get up close and personal with the famous Percheron horses known in the region.
Would we visit again,, most definatley
Thank you Pete and Alyson, Trevor and Jo for a lovely place to stay and an enjoyable week away.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2017
Thanks Lisa and Trevor for your wonderful feedback, it is of course much appreciated! We are delighted that you had such a great holiday. You are most welcome at Le Tertre any time.
Thanks again...
Pete & Alyson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie17...
Rothesay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Nestling down country lanes in a peaceful rural setting, Le Tetre Rouge is an idyllic spot for a relaxing French holiday.

Wake in the morning to the sound of birdsong and farmyard noises; sit out in the pleasant back garden sipping wine and watching the cows go about their business.

The gite is spotless and well-equipped, with a wide range of kitchenware. The living area is comfortably furnished with UK TV, books and fast wifi. The upstairs bedroom is spacious with views of the countryside.

There is a small supermarket in Ceauce, a 5 minute drive, while Mayenne (about 20 minutes) has a couple of large supermarkets, Aldi and Lidl. There a number of attractive towns to explore.

Peter and Alyson are pleasant hosts, greeting you on arrival with a starter pack, while Alyson keeps you supplied with eggs during your stay. They leave you to enjoy your holiday, but are only too happy to provide any help you require.

For us they went the extra mile. Unfortunately, my wife needed urgent hospital treatment. Peter arranged everything and he and Alyson took me to the hospital behind the ambulance, staying with me until after 1AM. Without them I don’t know how we would have coped.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2017
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are just happy to have been able to help in an emergency, and trust all is well now!
Thanks again, Pete & Alyson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue L
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Good place to stay - very comfortable
Owners live nearby and are very nice
Lots of nice walks around
Dog friendly

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Thanks Sue, much appreciated! You are welcome back anytime...
Regards... Pete & Aly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karstev-1
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Peacecful”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I spent a week at this charming little cottage. We wanted peace and quiet and that is what we got.
Lovely hosts.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Thank you very much for your kind comments, they are much appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you are welcome back any time!
Peter & Alyson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
335fiona3
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent gite”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful relaxing visit. The gite was beautifully decorated, with everything you'd need and clean.
The owners were very welcoming, helpful but gave us our own space as well.
Thank you. Look forward to visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location, the owners
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
You're very kind Fiona, thank you for the review - it's much appreciated.
You are both welcome back any time!!
P&A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackcup1
Woking
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and visit the local sites”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Second visit to Le Tertre Rouge, just fantastic, great value for money, fully equipped kitchen, British TV, wifi, countryside setting and amazing bakery's and butchers nearby for delicious local produce- most importantly the pain au raisin! Thanks again Peter and Alyson

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing