We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Bas Chenay

Le Bas Chenay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Bas Chenay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Le Bas Chenay
Pets welcome
Resident
Neighbour
Typical stone and colombage building
Castle ruins Domfront
Sunset over Domfront
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Domfront, Orne, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jack P
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 5 December 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Andy and June are very friendly and make you feel very welcome. It's easy to find from the main road as it is signposted.
The beds are comfy and if you are cooking at 'home' as we did everything you could ever need to cook with is there.
It's that good I'll be coming again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin E
1 review
“We loved Le Bas Chenay, and so did the dogs”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

June and Andy obviously put a lot of effort into (y)our stay. A lovely welcome & starter pack meant we could relax from the moment we arrived. To us, the location was great - can get to a lot of interesting places in an hour or so's drive, and plenty of great dog walking to be had in the forests not far away or indeed in the immediate area. Its a spacious gite which was cool when the days heated up, and cosy on the cooler evenings. Its a lovely looking setting which inspired a good "coming home" feeling after a day out.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalesLois
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The best place we have ever stayed”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is the most perfect and beautiful gite, situated close to the town of Domfront but in idyllic countryside which was so peaceful and perfect to let our dog run free. The owners June and Andy went above and beyond anything we might have expected with lots of welcome goodies and an immaculate yet homely gite with everything needed to make our stay complete. We would definitely recommend and return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
Thank you for your kind comments and we're very glad you enjoyed your stay. You will be welcome back anytime.
With kind regards, June & Andy - Le Bas Chenay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan R
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An amazing place ”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We have just spent 2 weeks at this cottage with our dog, Digby and have been blown away by the welcome and generosity of the owners, June and Andy. Nothing has been too much trouble and it is clear that they have put their hearts and souls into creating this fabulous place. It is a secluded delight, extremely well equipped and great for couples or families and dogs... our wee cocker spaniel was made as welcome as we were, he had been provided with bowls, treats, towels and poo bags: way over and above what one might expect! The experience can be as quiet or as busy as you wish it to be, especially as it is well placed for the many attractions around the area and further afield. We simply wished to stop and re-charge our batteries and couldn't have chosen a better place to do it! 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
So glad our guests enjoyed their stay and we certainly enjoyed having them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana B
Estepona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect pet - friendly gite .”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We highly recommend le Bas Chesnay having just spent 5 nights there with our large bouncy dog, Rex. The accommodation is great, the location is ideal being rural but within easy reach of amenities and the welcome is genuinely warm with lots of extra touches for humans & pets! Definitely planning another visit soon.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2017
Thank you for your review. We try to make sure that all our guests and their pets are made very welcome and if you have any suggestions on how we can improve things further, then please let us know.
With kind regards
June & Andy Simpson - Le Bas Chenay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marjorie5...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Gite and Lovely Place”
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have just returned from 6 nights at La Bas Chenay, what a fantastic place this is, i fell in love with it as soon as we arrived. June was the perfect hostess as was Andy on his return. The Gite is situated opposite the owers house, but is still very private, having the garden at the back, The Gite is very comfortable and spacious and very well equipped. The only problem is the internet which is like most places in France (very poor), So not really the fault of the owners, Domfront is a lovely small medieval town, and has a new part with two supermarkets within 5 mins of Gite, The old part has a few shops and bars, but we cannot comment on the restaurants as we did not go to any. We would highly recommend this property to any one wanting a lovely place to stay. We hope June and Andy have much success and i am sure that they will, We hope to return again in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Owners, Gite,
Liked least: Wi-Fi not very good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2016
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
June & Andy Simpson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herbert G
Germany
1 review
“Charming, cosy, comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Le Bas Chenay, a wonderful cottage run by a very engaged couple, June and Andrew. Very helpful in everyway, nothing too much trouble. Unfortunately already fully booked at the time we wanted to stay but were very kindly put up by the owners in a wing of their house, also very nice by the way!!! If you want peace and quiet it is just the thing, if you want adventure there is loads to do in the surrounding area. We tended to wards the coast, Mont St. Michel, St Malo etc but landinwards there is Paris, the castles of the Loire etc. After an exciting day, the peace in the cottage is heavenly. Bicicles are for use, and the barn is being converted into a recreational area. All in all a wonderful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, the whole area is great to visit.
Liked least: Weren't so lucky with the weather!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
Thank you Herbert for your kind review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you also enjoyed what this area has to offer.
The development of the undercover recreational area is continuing and we are taking into account our guests suggestions.

With kind regards
June & Andy Simpson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing