We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy if you get a room on the side of the freeway” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premiere Classe Caen Est - Mondeville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premiere Classe Caen Est - Mondeville
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mondeville
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Noisy if you get a room on the side of the freeway”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We usually love the Premiere Classe hotels - they are normally clean and easy to reach and good value for money. We had actually previously stayed at this particular hotel so I booked it again.
Unfortunately we were given a room on the freeway side and even worse the stench of cigarette smoke was overwhelming - it was in the bedding, the curtains the mattress.
Only the fact that we had endured a 24hr flight made sleep possible.
The noise from the neighbours outside our door and through the wall was frustrating as well.

Room Tip: Stay away from coner rooms and those facing the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nush_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    61
    60
    25
    20
See reviews for
63
71
13
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We have stayed in a number of budget hotels in France over the past 10 years and so have some experience of this class of hotel.Unfortunately,this hotel room was very cramped.There was very little space to walk between the end of the bed and the wall(probably about 500 mm).The bathroom was also cramped.Within reason,one can accept a small room in a capital city eg Paris,London or Tokio(We have stayed in all of these citys) but not on the outskirts of Caen.We have stayed in Etaps and B et B hotels on the edge of Caen over the past 10 years and never had a cramped room like this.Sorry-but would not recommend this hotel unless you are struggling to find a hotel near Caen.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dayelash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mondeville hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This hotel, which is not easy to find even with a GPS, is a good one or two night stop. It's located in a large commercial complex surrounded by fast food restaurants and an enormous hypermarket, close to the Caen peripherique road. It's a Premiere Classe and so don't expect too much (small room, bathroom essentially a cupboard), but was clean, comfortable with a good shower and fast wifi included in the low room rate. We didn't take breakfast there but for our one night stop it was perfect.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a good map of the immediate area, as it is not easy to locate, even with a GPS.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitten_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

It was so cheap that I was expecting to see cockroaches, but I was stunned when we got there. I was supposed to stay just one night, but I opted to stay two as the first night was so good. Everything was clean, the bed was very comfortable and the rooms had everything you need; TV, bed, toilet and shower. There was free Wifi that covered the hotel - it did slow down a lot during peak times tho. First night I stayed in room 55. Had absolutely no problems and thought it was great. It isn't luxurious or spacious by any means, but it was functional and clean. If your a big person, I don't think you'll fit in the shower comfortably, but a normal sized person should have no problems at all. The second night I was in room 24, which was the corner room on the motorway side. There was some traffic noise, but not too bad, but the room did smell of smoke a bit and I didn't really like that.

Room Tip: Stay as far away from the motorway as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Setti21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

After arriving here, we knew why it was €38 p.night despite having read previous reviews of Premiere Classe. And there is definitely nothing Premier about this place. I had set low expectations but even I was quite shocked when I entered our cell...I mean room. It was very small and dim lighting didn't help the ambience. Definitely not a place for those who suffer from claustrophobia. The bathroom was compressed and felt dirty, when you took a shower the whole bathroom would get wet.
We occupied a double bed and the mattress and pillows were weak and again felt unclean because the covers were quite worn.
The biggest selling point of staying here is the price, it's tempting to forgo some luxuries for a cheap 1 night stay (in our case 2 nights :(( ) if you're on a tight budget.
There is free wi-fi which is a bonus (but don't leave your laptop in the room unminded as the doors don't appear that secure). The hotel is situated away from the main town and close to supermarchés and fast food joints. Parking is abundant if you stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dontnowhere2stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Gambier
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2008

We booked this hotel through expedia after looking it up on Trip advisor and seeing only one review in english. This is a VERY basic motel and not at all what we expected.

In fact when we arrived upon seeing a photo of the room layout we began to have flashbacks to the Formula 1 at Melbourne Airport. The layout is exactly the same, a small box with an uncomfortable bed and shower and toliet room that a bigger person would struggle to get into.

It is cheap, but I would pay a little extra and go somewhere else if I were in Caen (or any other French city) rather than stay here again.

  • Liked — The breakfast was edible (just)
  • Disliked — The really bad sleep. The bed was so uncomfortable.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kiwiinmtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, NY
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2008

You can get these rooms for just 33E, which, if you are one or two, is a good deal. As a triple, it is a great deal... however, the rooms are small... very small. Of course, rooms twice the price are not twice this size, so it is a choice you must make. Otherwise, it did work out okay, but size is the issue. If you are friendly and are just sleeping, then this is a good deal and is worth it. Many contractors use these hotels due to the good price... and they are clean and everything works okay. They are a funny and very small version of a typical American motel.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UpstateRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mondeville
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Caen Mondeville
0.6 mi away
Brit Hotel Caen Est
Brit Hotel Caen Est
#3 of 5 in Mondeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quick Palace
Quick Palace
#25 of 41 in Caen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Campanile Caen Est - Mondeville
2.2 mi away
My Hotel
My Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ifs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kyriad Caen Sud - IFS
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premiere Classe Caen Est - Mondeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premiere Classe Caen Est - Mondeville

Property: Premiere Classe Caen Est - Mondeville
Address: 18 rue Aristide Boucicaut | Centre Commercial Mondeville 2, 14120 Mondeville, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Mondeville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mondeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Premiere Classe Caen Est - Mondeville 1*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Premiere Classe of Mondeville offers to you a rapid access with the peripheral of Caen and its downtown area as well as an access direct to the A13 motorway. Our rooms are equipped with an access Wifi (fibre) free and with Canal+/Canalsat as of privative shower and toilet making it possible to respect your intimacy. We have a private, free carpark and encloses. The establishment is at 15 km of the beaches (Ouistreham), 7 km of the hippodrome of Caen, 20 min of the Zenith, 5 km of the castle of Guillaume the Conqueror like to 17 km of the Carpiquet airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Premiere Classe Caen Est - Mondeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing