We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Macs”
Review of Chateau de Bouceel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Bouceel
Ranked #1 of 1 Vergoncey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

On our recent trip to France we wanted to have a 'Chateau' experience & we found it here at Chateau Bouceel. How fortunate we were to find this place at short notice and to be so warmly welcomed by our host Regis. We have never stayed in room as big as the Marquise Room with its high ceilings & lovely period furniture. After a day out at Mont St Michel it was great to return and relax in the Chateau's sitting room where we had much pleasure in browsing through the vast collection of books Regis' has acquired, with many of the books covering WWII and the battles that occurred in and around the region. In the morning we had a lovely breakfast in the grand dining room, with Regis sharing with the guests a few of the many stories that make up the Chateau's wonderful history. Prior to our departure we had a most enjoyable walk exploring the picturesque gardens and adjoining buildings.

All in all we had a most enjoyable stay and a life time experience of a night in a Chateau.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Chateau de Bouceel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

If you're going to Le Mont St. Michel, I can't imagine a better place to stay. You'll be SO thankful you're not in the tourist ghetto. I don't have much to add to the other reviews, which are very accurate. One tip: don't fail to dine at L'Auberge du Terroir, about ten minutes away. Reservations usually required. It's a perfect Mom and Pop country inn. These two together make for a great experience of the "real," if fading, France. We loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank astroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Beautiful, relaxing and very French. My husband and I only booked one night at this amazing chateaux and I wish I had stayed a week. Regis met us in person and warmly welcomed us into his home. We stayed in regis's grand mothers room and we have never had such a restful nights sleep. During our stay it coincided with a full moon and this meant that at Mont St Michel the tide would completely surround the Abby. Regis really encouraged us to visit the Abby again this time at night, and it was amazing.
The next morning we had the pleasure of learning about the history of the Chateaux during breakfast, the Marci even included a story about the Chateaux's resident ghost.
What was really powerful was hearing about regis's father and his involvement in the French Resistance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peta_and_Stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This Chateau is truly fabulous. It is only a few miles from Mt St. Micheal and is by far better than anything closer to the monument. Regis is the ultimate host with lots of information about his family, the chateau and the surrounding area. Breakfast in the beautiful dining room was very good, and Regis made it even more enjoyable with his wonderful stories. The grounds are spectacular with many interesting and beautiful sights. We stayed in the "Nellie" room, and it was beautiful and very well appointed. We would highly recommend this wonderful family owned Chateau.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon_trinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Ten minutes from Mont St. Michel, yet light years apart from the touristy bustle. I cannot imagine a more magical place to stay, nor a more charming innkeeper. Regis truly makes every one feel like a guest in his amazing ancestral home. This isn't a chateau that has been bought by someone or some company to run as a hotel; rather, it is owned and operated by the same family that has owned this land and the successive chateau's that have been here for hundreds of generations. The good news is that one of Regis Roquefeuil's sons wants to continue running it when Regis and his wife retire. Our only regret is that we had only two nights there.

Having just visited the beaches and memorials of the Normandy, Regis' tales of his father's and his neighbors' involvement in the Resistance and German occupation were especially riveting. We also learned from Regis hat there is an American Cemetery in St. James, with graves of over 3,000 American soldiers who died in battles in this region. Regis' father was instrumental in the donation of this land to the U.S. for the cemetery, and Regis & his wife have "adopted" the grave of one of the soldiers. When he heard that we were interested in visiting there, he prepared a bouquet from his garden for us to lay at this boy's grave, which made for an incredibly moving experience. The Chapel here is truly wonderful and has beautiful & informative displays and memorials. After a leisurely breakfast chatting with Regis and other guests, our foursome went to the cemetery, found a good bistrot for lunch, then spent the remainder of the day at Mont St. Michel.

Regis made reservations at wonderful restaurants both nights and gave us great ideas for other sites and for our drive back to Paris.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very spacious, as are the baths. You will have to climb at least one, if not t...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bouceel1763, Owner at Chateau de Bouceel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Cher ami,


I truly believe we must not forget what these young heroes did. We take care of George Mick's grave to perpetuate the souvenir and thank him for what he did..............
Thanks again
Régis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

What a rare gem this place is! If you are lucky enough to stay here your whole experience in France will be magical. the hosts and the place are extraordinary. Our room was warm and sunny with a touch of cozy and elegance all blended together. breakfast each morning was delightful and talking and meeting others traveling.

Room Tip: Every room in this place is original and lovely
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sedonasue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bouceel1763, Owner at Chateau de Bouceel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Nicole and I are blushing after reading such nice words.............Many thanks again and ......."A bientôt"!!!
Régis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is a 250 year old Chateau. We were in the "nelly bedroom", which was very nice and had an extra room with a single bed. Regis was great with family stories, recommendations and always asking how your day went.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank letsgothere55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vergoncey
6.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Montgomery
8.8 mi away
Hotel La Ramade
Hotel La Ramade
#1 of 5 in Avranches
524 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Best Western Le Moulin De Ducey
7.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#2 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,330 reviews
6.0 mi away
Le Gue du Holme
Le Gue du Holme
#1 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Bouceel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Bouceel

Address: Lieu-dit Bouceel | 6 Bouceel, 50240 Vergoncey, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Vergoncey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vergoncey
Price Range: £136 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18kms away from Mont Saint Michel the chateau is still a family home. Built in 1763, it sits in a quiet park with lakes, island, age old trees. The interior boasts super carved wood panels, parquets floors, period antiques, family portraits blending harmoniously with modern comfort and stylish bathrooms. Your hosts, Nicole and Regis, will welcome you as friends and share the enjoyment of their home. Breakfast included in rate. Non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Chateau de Bouceel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Bouceel Vergoncey, Normandy, France
Chateau De Bouceel Hotel Vergoncey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing