We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful”
Review of Chateau de Bouceel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau de Bouceel
Ranked #1 of 1 Vergoncey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We came to the Chateau by chance - a thunderstorm had knocked out the electricity at our accommodation near Mont Saint Michel. What a find! The Chateau is beautiful as was our room - the Marquis bedroom. Comfortable and beautiful at the same time. Perfect. Regnis was a font of information, friendly and entertaining. He directed us to the Hotel Croix d'Or in Avranche for dinner where we had a superb meal. We will return and be sharing this will all our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sylvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at the Chateau overnight on our recent trip to France. We were going to Mont St. Michel and Regis and Nicole could not have been better hosts. When we checked in, Regis immediately made dinner reservations for us and at a nearby restaurant that was fantastic. We stayed at Uncle Francois bedroom which was beautiful. Breakfast was great and the stories that Regis told us and the history of the chateau and his family were so interesting that we just want to go back to hear more. Our only complaint was that we were only able to stay there one night. Regis also told us about the Brittany-American Cemetery in St. James which we didn't know about it and we went to visit it and were so glad we did. Can't say enough great things about this B&B.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank glassgjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the Chateau de Bouceel in order to pay respects to a relative buried at the Brittany-American Cemetery in St James (a 10 minute drive from the Chateau). Owners, Regis and Nicole, were so hospitable, and helped us coordinate getting to the cemetery for the 70th anniversary of D-Day and the Memorial Day events. This small space is barely adequate to express how incredible the whole experience was for me, my cousin, and sister. Our stay at the Chateau de Bouceel felt like we were stepping into history (we had the Nelly Suite) and Regis was a wealth of information sharing so many fascinating stories. Breakfast in the dining room was so elegant and so perfect. It made us feel like royalty. The grounds look like a Monet painting. Absolutely beautiful. We were there from Sunday to Wednesday, and did not want to leave; like saying goodbye to family. Regis and Nicole, we cannot thank you enough for your kindness. It will never be forgotten.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We wanted to see Mont Saint Michel but avoid the crowds. The Chateau was an easy drive and host Regis had some great tips for not only how to best see Mont St. Michel but also recommendations for fun visits to nearby Brittany villages. If in the area, don't miss the St. James Cemetary, Dinan and Concalle with its amazing oyster bed farming - what a surprise. The Chateau is grand, our room was lovely, well appointed and quiet. We recommend this lovely spot and hope to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our stay at the Chateau de Bouceel was enchanting. The chateau itself is quite impressive. It is spacious, airy and beautifully furnished. There is a wonderful staircase of family portraits spanning centuries. The chateau is a beautiful blend of historical charm and modern luxury. The Uncle Francis room was quite large with tall windows overlooking the grounds. Our room, like the chateau, was spotless. The king bed had a beautiful canopy. The sheets were freshly starched and of excellent quality. We slept very well. The large skeleton room key with a silk cord is just one example of the amazing attention to detail.

The best part of our stay was Regis (Comte Roquefeiler.) He is a gifted storyteller, and brought French history to life with his wonderful and fascinating family stories. We were spellbound. He even helped me with my abominable French. You will not find a more gracious host in France! He made us feel like family visiting from America.

The chateau is very close to Mont St. Michel. The only regret you will have here is saying "au revoir" at the end of your stay. Did I mention we loved the Chateau de Bouceel?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Savillee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed here as our "splurge night" during our visit to Brittany, Normandy and Paris. We were seeking out scenic drives and country villages away from the tourists and this was a wonderful find. Even the confirmation email seems as if it ought to be on watermarked stationary with engraved crest of the Comte and Comtesse. Navigation can be tricky, but in such lovely countryside wrong turns can reveal delightful scenes. The setting is picturesque and tranquil, but not far from motorways and tourist destinations. When we arrived in the evening Regis greeted us along with TT the cat and promptly made reservations for an excellent dinner nearby. We were shown to the Robert room named for his father. The room and bath were spacious and graciously furnished. The bedlinens were elegant, crisply pressed and the towels fluffy and thick. We slept very well with the quiet of the countryside around us. Breakfast was a special treat seated at a banquet sized table in the beautifully restored dining room. The food was delicious, but the conversation of our host was the highlight. Regis is truly charming and seems to genuinely enjoy conversing with his guests. We enjoyed learning something of his family history, the home, his father's involvement in the French resistance, and of course "C'est la Marquise." I was touched to learn that his family places flowers on the grave of an American servicemen at the nearby American Cemetary in St. James. On his suggestion we visited the cemetary, sought out an amazing vantage point of Mont St. Michel near Avaranche, and visited the picturesque port at Honfleur, favorite of so many impressionists. Thank you, Regis, for your gracious hospitality. We hope to come back and stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melanie1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bouceel1763, Owner at Chateau de Bouceel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Many thanks for your kind words after your stay at Boucéel.......Believe it or not I was able to meet with " The Marquise" since and have transmitted your comment to her! Let me tell you she is extremely pleased you love her home!!!!

Régis de Roquefeuil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This place is great. Paid about $152.00 per night for off peak stay in April 2014. It's a little tricky to find so I advise you to print out a detailed map prior to arriving.

The home was built in the 17th century and is mostly original except a few modern updates like the bathrooms. The host was very nice and has many stories to share about the home and his father who was part of the French resistance during WWII.

The home creaks and pops with every step. Sound travels really well so you'll find yourself whispering all the time. It's an old house that's used like a hotel so don't expect this to be the Holiday Inn. Take the time to explore the home and grounds as this is what you should expect when staying in the French countryside. There is no TV but that didn't bother us at all as we weren't worried about watching TV any way.

Home is not in a city or town so a car will be needed when staying here. You'll have to drive to some of the nearby towns for lunch/dinner.

Come here for peace and quite and maybe a little history. One of the house kitty's likes to sleep in the crib at the end of the hallway. Very friendly.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank negativenomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vergoncey
8.8 mi away
Hotel La Ramade
Hotel La Ramade
#1 of 5 in Avranches
528 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Montgomery
7.5 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Best Western Le Moulin De Ducey
7.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
Hotel Mercure Mont Saint Michel
#3 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
1,352 reviews
6.6 mi away
Auberge de la Baie
Auberge de la Baie
#1 of 1 in Ardevon
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Bouceel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Bouceel

Address: Lieu-dit Bouceel | 6 Bouceel, 50240 Vergoncey, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Vergoncey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vergoncey
Price Range: £138 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18kms away from Mont Saint Michel the chateau is still a family home. Built in 1763, it sits in a quiet park with lakes, island, age old trees. The interior boasts super carved wood panels, parquets floors, period antiques, family portraits blending harmoniously with modern comfort and stylish bathrooms. Your hosts, Nicole and Regis, will welcome you as friends and share the enjoyment of their home. Breakfast included in rate. Non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chateau de Bouceel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Bouceel Vergoncey, Normandy, France
Chateau De Bouceel Hotel Vergoncey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing