We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Parthenay, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Caroline...
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed for five weeks 2017. Gite is fully equipped, situated in a good location to explore the surrounding countryside especially if considering buying property in the region. Plenty of information was supplied to help guests explore the area as there are many fabulous walks and medieval villages to visit. The Gite next door is in very close proximity,this property was not oppupied by owners or guests for the most part of my vacation so allowed for many wonderful days and evenings relaxing on the patio area.
However the last week it was occupied which considerably compromised privacy, this would be a crucial element in considering any property to let or buy in the future.
Although this could work well if both properties were occupied by family or friends.
The garden area was not presented as advertised, it was very overgrown and neglected. The grass was only cut shortly before I left. Gardening and maintenance was eventually carried out during my last week, again this compromised privacy in any garden area.
Electricity is additional which is totally acceptable, however it would be advisable to give guests a meter reading prior to occupancy which is standard practice, this did not happen and would have avoided the shock when asked to pay a considerable large electric charge and no bill to prove. I was informed by the owners that electricity charges are very high in France, however this can be easily verified on several French electricity suppliers websites and average usage can be calculated, this information did not concur with the charges imposed by owner.
Gourge village and it's surrounding area is definitely one of France's best secrets and we'll worth a visit to this region.

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2017
Merci Caroline for making the time to do a review. Yes, all of our past guests have enjoyed staying in the Gîte plus exploring the region also. We are glad that you and your dog enjoyed the many fabulous walks in close proximity.
In all our advertising and correspondence it is made clear that the Residence property is next door. You were given our arrival date before you booked the property. To be very honest, no one has ever mentioned that they felt their privacy was compromised in any way. There is a ¼ acre of gardens stretching down to the river with many different areas, some are partitioned, where you can relax.
I am sorry the garden and lawn did not look as beautiful as it normally does, however our region is currently in the midst of a drought season and there are very tight restrictions on water usage. I believe our Property Managers/Gardeners liaised with you in regards to mowing times. Maintenance of the garden still needs to be carried out occasionally in order to maintain the growth and keep it presentable for our guests.
The meter is read upon our guest’s arrival and departure, as it was with you. Unfortunately there was some confusion when you arrived and in the midst of everything you were not given the reading then by our Property Managers, apologies. Upon your departure you were given the details in writing of both the readings by us, plus how the calculation is made, based on the exact rate charged by our supplier.
Best Wishes, Peter & Donna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janiedela...
salisbury
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here for a glorious two weeks in August this year. Peter and Donna are wonderful hosts.....always able to give helpful advice on things to do locally, where to shop etc and they are great fun as well. Many a glass of wine was sipped with them in the garden!
The gite was immaculately clean and very well equipped - a real home from home.
I would recommend the Hyper U supermarket in Parthenay. It stocks everything you could possibly want, the wine is cheap, the vegetables are so fresh and the seafood is superb.
I would also highly recommend eating at the Forge a Feu (Donna will give you directions)! We had a truly superb lunch there. Also we had a couple of lovely meals at the restaurant in the village La p'tite Marmite. Make sure you also meet neighbour Jean-Michel who is charming!

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Donna, Peter and Jean-Michel!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Date of stay: July 2015
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Merci. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us once again! Our best wishes...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chinon, France
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Apr 2015
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Peter & Donna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karen E
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A wonderful gite, with lots of facilities on site.”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My husband and I only booked this holiday gite 2 days before we arrived,(a last minute holiday). Donna rang me up at home to make sure I had received all relevant information before our journey.On arrival,we were met by Donna,who showed us around the Gite,which was large,spacious,and clean.The Kitchen was well stocked with items you may wish to use,the chilled beer and wine were much appreciated. The bed was very comfy, the ensuite bathroom spacious with a lovely shower. Donna & Peter were perfect hosts, giving us lots of local information,about restaurants & places to visit. They only live next door, but were not intrusive.
It was great to have the bikes to use. We also used the dingy on the river at the bottom of the garden,Peter provided us with life jackets,and a lesson on how to launch it safely into the water. The garden was a wonderful place to relax, either under the shade of the tree on the sun lounger,sitting on the swing seat over looking the river,or having a meal at one of the three tables provided. Having the basketball net,table tennis table, and boule pitch was an added bonus, so if you didn't want to travel far, you had plenty to entertain you on site. There were some great villages to visit nearby,Parthenay,St Loup-Lamaire,Airvault to name but a few. We especially liked our evenings out on the patio area, under the canopy, lit by fairy lights, sipping the local wine and eating local food, with the added bonus of having a drink and chat with our hosts on some occasions.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden area, with all its facilites.
Liked least: Road noise at times.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Len S
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Our second visit”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was our second visit to Au Pont - we enjoyed it so much last year we booked again before we had left.

Peter and Donna were the perfect hosts in this lovely, lovely setting. The river quietly flowing under the two bridges - great fishing ( mostly small stuff but there are some big ones in there - honest!) and a dingy for exploring the river and excellent cycling country as well.

These is just too much to do in a week or fortnight within easy driving - La Rochelle, Niort,The Loire Valley, La Mans and chateaus by the bucket full. All the local towns have lively markets to explore. Or, you can just grab a glass of your favourite tipple and watch the sun go down behind the village.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The river views and quiet country setting
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Date of stay: August 2014
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing