We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Eeyores retreat.”
other travellers have booked this property
Eeyores corner in the spring
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eeyores corner in the spring
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Eeyores corner in the spring
view from Eeyores corner
Garden by river
Garden by the river
Venice Vert 1hr From Eeyores corner
Chateaux de Saumur  1 hr from Eeyores corner
Puy du Fou  1 hr 15 min from Eeyores corner
Medieval gateway to Parthenay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Parthenay, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
mattdean
1 review
“Eeyores retreat.”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Excellent holiday accommodation, very good amenities. Dave & Jilly were the perfect hosts,very friendly and helpful. Would not hesitate staying here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergusvie...
Ennis, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellect property - great location, lot to do in area. Not far from Poiters airport.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This property is kept to a very high standard. Very clean and spacious. My kids 10, 12, 14 enjoyed this house. House has one large master bedroom, one room with two single beds, one room with bunk beds and a cot. House has lovely old beams in upstairs. Need to watch your head as quite low. They loved the plunge pool and sitting by the river watching out for wild animals and birds. Lovely to see the red squirrels in the garden. House was lovely and cool in the hot weather. Private Outdoor eating area and BBQ (chimney style).
The owners Dave and Jilly live next door. They were very helpful and non-intrusive. We had the enjoyment of their hydro-pool in the evening. It was great for relaxing.
Hyper U supermarket about 4 KM away in Parthenay. Also restaurants were reasonable. Very good food at L'Énotéka restaurant (47 rue jen jourés in parthenay) and reasonably priced. Good kids food. Would also recommend the food at Buffallo Bill chain. See them all over the place. Great burgers and steak.
There was a lot to do in the area. In Parthenay there was a games festival called FLIP. It was free. They teach you to play old board games. Also table tennis available. In Parthenay there was an excellent park in very out different exercise that both adults and kids can play together. Great fun. Could do with these in Ireland. Puy du Fou theme part is well worth a visit. It is great for kids and adults. Website normally says it is booked out but better to just go there or ring. Better to go there on a cloudy day as most events are outdoor with little shade. Would be too hot for kids if above 30 C. Bring plenty of water and sun cream. A lot of the events revolve around horses. Amazing stunts and effects. Also, lions, tigers, birds, etc. Indoor Grand theatre performance with horses is amazing. Cost us €135 for 2 adults and 3 kids.
There is also a man-made beach near bye Parthenay. Plenty of shade, cafe, boat rides, diving board, volley ball net, etc. Great for kids. Cost €11.50 for 2 adults and 3 kids for the day.
Would recommend this property and location to friends. Has a lot to offer. With new flights from Shannon to Poiters it is very convenient for Irish families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location. Lot of activities to do in area
Liked least: No lids for sauspans, more refuge and Recycling bags, Towels for beach, grill and oven very slow to heat up. TV channel selection very poor.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halltours
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It Disney gets much better than this......5 Stars”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This is a five star property with 6 Star hosts. We needed to recharge our batteries and "chill" and we could not have chosen better, but if we'd have wanted a full on couple of weeks at the height of the season there would have been more than enough to keep us engaged, both in the area and within the house and grounds.The property itself was well finished and would have suited our whole family had we brought them with us (we still might next time). Our hosts were on hand without being too visible and always available to answer any questions or seek advice ( which we did ) . We cannot recommend this couple and their accommodation highly enough, this may have been our first visit but it unlikely to be our last.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Wi fi was being upgraded to reach further into the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2014
Hi Geoff& Yvonne,
Where did you get the Scottish accent from?
Thanks for the review and it was a joy having you as our guests?
Hope to see you again soon.
Dave & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geoff s
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Even better than before”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This was our second holiday at Eeyores Corner, and with the improvements that the ever helpful Dave and Jilly have made, was even better than before. Hot tub in a nicer position, new sofa's and heated splash pool to mention just a few. We cannot rate this place high enough for families, couples or mixed groups. Accommodation great, hosts fantastic and a lovely part of France which still feels very French. Relax, fish, swim or just admire the scenery and that's just in the garden. Step outside and within easy distance and traffic free roads explore sights and places to visit, you will not be disappointed.
After eight years of holidaying in France this is our best find by far. Easy route from Calais or Brittany ports and the weather as good as the south. What more can I say except possible third visit next year, it really is that good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it as comments prove but splash pool for kids and fishing for me
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2013
Thank you for your review,It was very much appreciated, we did not expect such a glowing recommendation.
And if you are considering a third visit we would be delighted to see you.
Once again thank you for booking Eeyores corner and hope to see you next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola G
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fabulous find!”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I searched the Internet for weeks trying to find the right holiday destination for me and my family and then I discovered Eeyores Corner. What a fabulous find! The cottage is full of charm and very spacious, has everything you could ever need and really felt like home. The patio area was great for relaxing and enjoying a BBQ and the large garden shared with the owners feels like your own. My children loved the splash pool and the hot tub was great for me to chill out in in the evening. In fact we enjoyed the property so much we had more days 'at home' than days out! Jilly and Dave were extremely helpful and gave us loads of help and advise. They really helped make our holiday perfect.
There are loads of great places to visit. We really enjoyed the Bio Parc Zoo, Parthenay, Rochelle and Puy du Fou is a must. If you don't mind a slightly longer drive the Les Machines in Nantes is an amazing sight. A mechanical elephant that is 12 metres high. Oh, and if you want a bargain head to Noz in Parthenay, a warehouse were everything is really cheap! All in all a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and owners.
Liked least: Internet access was hit and miss.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2013
Hi Nicola & Tony,
Thank you for your comments and the little gift you left for Jilly.
It was a pleasure, to have your family stay with us and for looking after the property.
We hope to see you all again in the future,but until then, have a good year.
Thanks again
Dave & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anniemcs
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Rarely does a holiday let exceed expectations but Eeyore's Corner does in every way.
Charming characterful property in the heart of the French countryside, maintained and equipped to a very high standard and spotlessly clean with bags of chic French rustic charm thrown in!
Wonderful secure enclosed patio area with stone barbeque - ideal for us as we have two young children under 5. Splash pool and hot-tub in the idyllic larger garden area which leads down to the river side where you can sit and enjoy a picnic or "refreshment"!
The owners live next door and couldn't have done more to ensure we enjoyed our stay and had lots of suggestions and advice for us on our first trip to France.
Walking distance to Le Tallud with a restaurant and a couple of shops. Nearby Parthenay is the most wonderful, atmospheric medieval town. We were there during their annual FLIP festival with games tents and tournaments throughout the town for all ages. Our kids had a ball and we couldn't drag them away from the bouncy castle enclosure. Loads of live music and a wonderful choice of excellent restaurants and cafes. Our last night coincided with Bastille Day and the town really push the boat out with fireworks and bands till the wee small hours...
Eeyore's Corner is the perfect setting for a relaxing, restful holiday as well as being in the perfect location to explore the region if you can manage to tear yourself away from the cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, we strive to please.
Good luck with your future endeavors and we hope to see you all again in the future.
Regards
Dave & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing