We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful chill out little haven”
other travellers have booked this property
Eeyores corner in the spring
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eeyores corner in the spring
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Eeyores corner in the spring
view from Eeyores corner
Garden by river
Garden by the river
Venice Vert 1hr From Eeyores corner
Chateaux de Saumur  1 hr from Eeyores corner
Puy du Fou  1 hr 15 min from Eeyores corner
Medieval gateway to Parthenay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Parthenay, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
gwelan
shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A beautiful chill out little haven”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

When we first arrived we were hot and very tired after a long journey, so the comfortable double bed was heaven to us, every morning we just didnt want to get out of it, it was so comfy.
Eeyores Corner really is a home from home, it is like being in someones house, not a holiday rental, Everything you could possibly need, and more, is there for you. It is clean & tidy and has some of Jilly's little touches to make it even more homely.
We stayed for a week and didnt sit at the dining table once, as it was so pleasent and peaceful to sit outside. The cottage garden is full of plants & flowers in pots & tubs, and lots of colour. But the extended garden of Dave & Jilly's is great, with different levels leading down to the river, lots of places to sit & relax either in the sun or shade. And you are free to wander and sit as you wish.

Due to unforseen circumstances, we spent more time around the cottage than intended and didnt see as much of the area as we would have liked.
But we did get to know Dave & Jilly (and Bags) better than we probably would have done, and found them to be a very warm, caring, helpful couple, we took away a little piece of that week with us, and thank them for that.

Eeyores Corner, will not dissapoint, it is a beautiful chill out little haven, with neighbours that are very friendly, but not intrusive :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel D
Brixham, United Kingdom
1 review
“An idyllic piece of paradise set in a wild life haven by the river”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A wonderful stay in a rural setting in a house which is home from home. Fully equipped and more, not your usual holiday let. Very clean cosy and tranquil.
The garden which goes down to the river where you can sit and watch the ragonda family play a few feet away, the wild ducks feeding, the birds and red squirrel.
Jilly and Dave were super hosts and we hope to return very soon!!!!!!!
We would recommend a holiday here without a doubt.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rural setting not far from Parthernay
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
Thank you for your kind comments and it is always appreciated when our efforts are recognized , look forward to seeing you in September, once again thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil B
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect place to unwind and recharge those batteries. Super!”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A wonderful week! Everyone enjoyed their stay at Eeyores Corner. Spacious, spotless, characterful property complete with pool and hot tub and the run of a huge garden by a river, what more could you want. Peace and quiet in abundance with warm friendly hosts David and Jilly next door for any queries or advice you may want. The local town Parthenay is lovely with good shops, market and supermarket easily accessible.
Eeyores corner ............ 10/10! Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting, hosts, spotless accommodation, facilities and overall peace and quiet.
Liked least: Weak WiFi signal, could do with a booster in the property as the walls are so thick.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattdean
1 review
“Eeyores retreat.”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Excellent holiday accommodation, very good amenities. Dave & Jilly were the perfect hosts,very friendly and helpful. Would not hesitate staying here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergusvie...
Ennis, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellect property - great location, lot to do in area. Not far from Poiters airport.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This property is kept to a very high standard. Very clean and spacious. My kids 10, 12, 14 enjoyed this house. House has one large master bedroom, one room with two single beds, one room with bunk beds and a cot. House has lovely old beams in upstairs. Need to watch your head as quite low. They loved the plunge pool and sitting by the river watching out for wild animals and birds. Lovely to see the red squirrels in the garden. House was lovely and cool in the hot weather. Private Outdoor eating area and BBQ (chimney style).
The owners Dave and Jilly live next door. They were very helpful and non-intrusive. We had the enjoyment of their hydro-pool in the evening. It was great for relaxing.
Hyper U supermarket about 4 KM away in Parthenay. Also restaurants were reasonable. Very good food at L'Énotéka restaurant (47 rue jen jourés in parthenay) and reasonably priced. Good kids food. Would also recommend the food at Buffallo Bill chain. See them all over the place. Great burgers and steak.
There was a lot to do in the area. In Parthenay there was a games festival called FLIP. It was free. They teach you to play old board games. Also table tennis available. In Parthenay there was an excellent park in very out different exercise that both adults and kids can play together. Great fun. Could do with these in Ireland. Puy du Fou theme part is well worth a visit. It is great for kids and adults. Website normally says it is booked out but better to just go there or ring. Better to go there on a cloudy day as most events are outdoor with little shade. Would be too hot for kids if above 30 C. Bring plenty of water and sun cream. A lot of the events revolve around horses. Amazing stunts and effects. Also, lions, tigers, birds, etc. Indoor Grand theatre performance with horses is amazing. Cost us €135 for 2 adults and 3 kids.
There is also a man-made beach near bye Parthenay. Plenty of shade, cafe, boat rides, diving board, volley ball net, etc. Great for kids. Cost €11.50 for 2 adults and 3 kids for the day.
Would recommend this property and location to friends. Has a lot to offer. With new flights from Shannon to Poiters it is very convenient for Irish families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location. Lot of activities to do in area
Liked least: No lids for sauspans, more refuge and Recycling bags, Towels for beach, grill and oven very slow to heat up. TV channel selection very poor.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halltours
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It Disney gets much better than this......5 Stars”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This is a five star property with 6 Star hosts. We needed to recharge our batteries and "chill" and we could not have chosen better, but if we'd have wanted a full on couple of weeks at the height of the season there would have been more than enough to keep us engaged, both in the area and within the house and grounds.The property itself was well finished and would have suited our whole family had we brought them with us (we still might next time). Our hosts were on hand without being too visible and always available to answer any questions or seek advice ( which we did ) . We cannot recommend this couple and their accommodation highly enough, this may have been our first visit but it unlikely to be our last.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Wi fi was being upgraded to reach further into the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2014
Hi Geoff& Yvonne,
Where did you get the Scottish accent from?
Thanks for the review and it was a joy having you as our guests?
Hope to see you again soon.
Dave & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geoff s
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Even better than before”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This was our second holiday at Eeyores Corner, and with the improvements that the ever helpful Dave and Jilly have made, was even better than before. Hot tub in a nicer position, new sofa's and heated splash pool to mention just a few. We cannot rate this place high enough for families, couples or mixed groups. Accommodation great, hosts fantastic and a lovely part of France which still feels very French. Relax, fish, swim or just admire the scenery and that's just in the garden. Step outside and within easy distance and traffic free roads explore sights and places to visit, you will not be disappointed.
After eight years of holidaying in France this is our best find by far. Easy route from Calais or Brittany ports and the weather as good as the south. What more can I say except possible third visit next year, it really is that good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it as comments prove but splash pool for kids and fishing for me
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2013
Thank you for your review,It was very much appreciated, we did not expect such a glowing recommendation.
And if you are considering a third visit we would be delighted to see you.
Once again thank you for booking Eeyores corner and hope to see you next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing