We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a stopover” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citotel Saint Jacques

Citotel Saint Jacques
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Citotel Saint Jacques
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Parthenay
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good for a stopover”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We spent a night here in early July. It is a very standard hotel - the bedroom was OK, albeit with a good size bed. Breakfast was likewise fairly ordinary. Location in Parthenay is good - easy walk to the main parts of Parthenay, and a good car park at the rear of the hotel.
Perfectly OK and reasonable value, and fine if you want to spend a night in Parthenay (which we did), but not worth a special trip!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chau98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    30
    15
    6
    0
See reviews for
5
22
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

All one needs after a long day in saddle is a beer, hotel, shower and meal. En route to Valencia by bike Parthenay we had two hotel choices. This being the only one with 3 rooms for 6 of us we rode up yet another hill. Was it worth it? The room was good the shower good the location opposite a square good the breakfast, average. Unfortunately the architecture doesn't inspire one so it's not a hotel for a romantic weekend . For six hot sweaty and hungry cyclists it was fine. The cafe , restaurant across the square does a very good Auvergne meal, so a good stop. It also has free wi-fi which is bonus

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

I have stayed three times at this hotel after finding it by accident on my first visit to Parthenay. It is a modern, medium sized hotel in the heart of the town. The reception is light and airy with a computer and internet access for the hotel's clients, there is a large, locked car park at the rear of the hotel with easy access on one level making the moving of suitcases quite easy.
My second visit to Parthenay was nearly ten years after my first and I was astonished when the receptionist, Nathalie, recognised me and gave us a warm and friendly greeting. The reception is manned 24 hrs a day and all the staff are friendly and efficient.
Breakfast is of a standard that one would expect in a larger more expensive hotel and is available in the reception area for individual guests. Large groups are served in a dedicated downstairs room.
The bedrooms are plenty large enough with luggage space, television and a desk, the showers are excellent!
The fact that I have used this hotel three times on three trips is the best compliment I can give, I'm looking forward to my next stay there.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up at the front have an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

The hotel is about 20 minutes walk from the central bus/train station. I was following a Google map and got lost trying to find the hotel late in the evening in the dark. I found it after I reached a roundabout with a sign to the hotel. In the daylight the next day I got lost trying to get back to the central bus/train station and ended up taking a different route back! It might be quicker if you know the way! Reception were friendly and provided a map of the town and good directions to the event I was attending. My hotel room was on the third floor and a good size. The bed was really comfortable. There was a luggage rack and a desk area. The bathroom was an average size with a powerful shower and soft towels. There was free wifi (ask Reception for the password) and a computer next to the reception desk. I think this was one of the few, maybe only, hotels in Parthenay which was open. I passed Gare du Nord and another hotel and they both looked very closed. This hotel had a 24-hour front desk. If you return late in the evening then the automatic door will be shut however there is a buzzer to get the attention of the person on the front desk. Hotel check-out time was 11am. Reception also run the breakfast bar area which is located next to the front desk. The hotel was closed at 1pm and I was asked to vacate. I am not sure if this was a French tradition or if it was related to being a Sunday afternoon or specific to the hotel. It was nice to come back to this hotel at the end of the evening and I would use it again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muldr4Scly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
443 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Found this hotel by chance, travelling from Spain to the ferry in Cherbourg. Having set the sat nav to avoid tolls, travelling through small villages, we were getting quite desperate to find accommodation for the night and we found, as I am sure do most people, that France seems to close at 6.00 pm! So we were really pleased to find the little town of Parthenay, which had two or three hotels around the town square. We chose the Saint Jacques and were able to park in the square for the night. The hotel was pleasant and the receptionist was helpful and felt that, all in all, it "fitted the bill". We didn't have breakfast in the Hotel, but found a cafe for a coffee and croissant (although felt 3.50 euros for a coffee was extortionate, as we normally pay no more than 1.50 euros for a coffee in Spain). Would use the Hotel again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parthenay
1.5 mi away
Au Relais Des Lilas
Au Relais Des Lilas
#3 of 3 in Parthenay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
23.7 mi away
Qualys Hotel Lagrange
20.0 mi away
Logis Auberge Du Cheval Blanc et Le Clovis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Les Jardins Saint Laurent
Les Jardins Saint Laurent
#4 of 5 in Parthenay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Grand Logis
Le Grand Logis
#1 of 5 in Parthenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Chateau des Plans
Le Chateau des Plans
#1 of 2 in Parthenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citotel Saint Jacques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citotel Saint Jacques

Property: Citotel Saint Jacques
Address: 13 av du 114e Regiment D Infanterie, 79200, Parthenay, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Deux-Sevres > Parthenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Parthenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Citotel Saint Jacques 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Citotel Saint Jacques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing