We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful”

Alpine Retreat Holiday Farmhouse and Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpine Retreat Holiday Farmhouse and Apartments
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

There is only one word for this holiday home, PERFECTION! We enjoyed a week staying in appartment Joy from 26th July to 2nd August. This area is just as beautiful in the summer as in the winter and very warm too! On our one rainy day we took the bus to Chamonix and enjoyed the shops and a lovely lunch. Les Houches and surrounding towns and villages provide excellent views of the mountains and some lovely restaurants and bars can be found. We were provided with a bus and train pass so only used the car for a day trip to Anercy, which incidentally should not be missed. Walking to the cable cars is such a luxury and you can be on an alpine walk in a matter of minutes after leaving your front door! Seven wonderful days passed too soon and we are already planning our next visit, this time renting the larger farmhouse with the whole family. Also, Ross and Pernilla, our hosts were wonderful. 5 star appartment, 5 star hosts and a location which just can't be beaten!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vickycrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

The Alpine Retreat is in the heart of the Les Houches ski area. You can get to and from two lifts in seconds. The accommodation is comfortable and warm and Rob & Suz are outstanding hosts. Having been here for five weeks in winter and a week in summer I would not hesitate to recommend!

Room Tip: We stayed in Apartment Joy which is great but there is the farmhouse if you need more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben118118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stepps
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed in the smaller apartment in this lodging, "apartment Joy". Designed to accommodate two people but capable of sleeping 4 or more this apartment is made by its location. The view from the garden is superb. The bedroom is a reasonable size for what is a small apartment and is furnished with a comfortable bed. The main room has in addition two bunk beds and a sofa bed. Dining table and a kitchen complete the main room. Shower and toilet facilities are small but adequate. The apartment feels cool in summer and I am sure will be warm in winter. The lighting left something to be desired but I understand improvements are in hand. Satellite TV and a DVD player are available along with WiFi. Within walking distance of the Bellevue Cable Car and the Prarion Gondola lift system along with bars and restaurants this location cannot be bettered.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank SkyeStepps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Rating5 out of 55
Fantastic Location to enjoy The Alps
Butcombe Axbridge
Review Submitted: July 28, 2010 Date of Stay: July 2010
My wife and I stayed in the apartment for two weeks in July. Our flight from the UK was unfortunately cancellled but Rob & Suzanne were excellent in accommodating this even though we arrived at 1am! The apartment itself is perfectly good for people like us who want to spend most of the time outside. It's clean, comfortable and has all the necessary amenities. The best part about the apartment is it's location. Rob & Suzanne have a lovely garden and we had our breakfast and dinner outside almost every day as it was lovely & warm. Having dinner looking at Mont Blanc and the Aiguilles doesn't get much better. Les Houches is a quiter place to stay than Chamonix but there are shops close by for groceries, the bus routes are easy to work out, the bus stop is 50 yards from the apartment and the bus passes are free! We were glad we didn't rent a car because we didn't really need one. If you're looking for a quiet, picturesque place to relax and use as a base to explore the Chamonix valley then I would recommend Rob & Suzanne's. You could even join Suzanne's fitness class twice a week on the lawn!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2008

We haven't stopped talking about what an incredible time we had at the Alpine Retreat, how fantastic our hosts were and let's not forget the remarkable mountains!
We rented the Farmhouse at the Alpine Retreat for our family holiday in July. The house is located in Les Houches, a short walk from the village, which has several bars and shops, plus a helpful tourist office, and a few miles from the busier - and more touristy - Chamonix. The house was spacious, well-equipped and spotless. We spent our mornings and evenings sitting in the lovely garden which is surrounded the French Alps. After a day of hiking or visiting the Aiguille du Midi by cable car, we found ourselves returning to the Alpine Retreat for a BBQ in the garden, sipping delicious wine and staring at Mont Blanc. Rob and Suzanne were really helpful and you couldn't ask for better hosts. The quality of the property reflects their dedication to ensuring that guests have an enjoyable visit. We highly recommend the Apline Retreat and the astonishing mountains, glaciers and charming nearby villages of the French Alps.

  • Liked — Location and surroundings
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank niftycynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Houches hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#4 of 14 in Les Houches
237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chris-Tal Hotel
Chris-Tal Hotel
#8 of 14 in Les Houches
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel les Melezes
Hotel les Melezes
#10 of 11 in Les Houches
57 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Saint Antoine
Le Saint Antoine
#3 of 14 in Les Houches
60 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine
Hotel La Fontaine
#9 of 14 in Les Houches
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Retreat Holiday Farmhouse and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Retreat Holiday Farmhouse and Apartments

Property: Alpine Retreat Holiday Farmhouse and Apartments
Address: 353 rue de Bellevue, 74310 Les Houches, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Les Houches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alpine Retreat Holiday Farmhouse and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing