We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great appartment and fabulous ski-ing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chalets Le Grand Balcon
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had a 1 bedroom appartment for 2 adults and 3 teenage children which was small but very comfortable. The appartment is in a great location, only 5 minutes walk to the ski lift or there is a bus which picks up from outside. The decor is a little tired, but it is clean and the bathrooms have recently been refurbished and the rooms are toasty warm. The beds were very comfortable and the appartment is in a quiet location. I would recommend bringing your own pillows, (one 1 not very nice one for each person) and we brought our own bed linen too, although it can be hired locally. The manageress was very kind and helpful too. We had a fantastic week ski-ing, something for everyone - perfect for beginners, (Me!) and lots of challenging runs for those that want it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

Some friend recommend us this location and they were right! It's pretty cheap and very clean. It's not very central but it's in a quiet place where you can sleep after a day of skiing.
Some of the furniture were old.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MariusW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Friends of ours stayed there a couple of years ago and recommended it to us and I'm so glad they did. Our kids went to ski school and the apartment is in such a great loaction to get there.
We were met on arrival and the local area was explained to us. It's not the most plush apartment in the world but suited us just fine.
I had previously looked around for apartments but the prices were just so high I didn't want to pay that kind of money.
At first I was a little worried about only having a little kitchen with 2 rings to cook on for a family of 5 but I thought about it before going away about the types of dinners I could cook so I was prepared, we also went out for dinner to one of the restaurants just down the road.
The bus picked us up just outside the apartments so on our last day we were able to go get into Chamonix with no problems to look around whilst waiting for our transfer bus to take us back to the hotel. We were able to store our bags in a private secure room at Le Grand Balcon.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EricHarper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ne pas prendre studio 4 personnes mais le 2 pièces 4 personnes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppletlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Eloïse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Odile G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
Thank fz_filippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Houches
2.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
0.8 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
437 reviews
1.5 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#4 of 14 in Les Houches
259 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine
Hotel La Fontaine
#8 of 14 in Les Houches
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel les Melezes
Hotel les Melezes
#11 of 11 in Les Houches
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Le Grand Balcon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Le Grand Balcon

Address: 444 rue de Bellevue, 74310 Les Houches, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalets Le Grand Balcon 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering apartments at Chalets Le Grand Balcon are in the alpine village of Les Houches with stunning views of the Mont Blanc mountain range. Situated between Bellevue & Prarion cable car stations which are both a 5 minute walk away. There is also a bus stop at the entrance of the residence which provides easy access to the centre of Les Houches and Chamonix. Basic but homely apartment ranging from a studio - 2 bedroom apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chalets Le Grand Balcon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing