We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luke warm drinks & grumpy staff”

Restaurant Le Hors-Pistes
Ranked #8 of 28 Restaurants in Les Houches
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Luke warm drinks & grumpy staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

If you want a tepid drink served by fierce staff at similarly fierce prices then this is the place for you! That said, the terrace in the sun is a great place to sit and be growled at ....

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Waterend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    19
    6
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Slow, badly organized, expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

This is a typical ski slope restaurant to avoid. The food is mediocre and expensive. The staff are relatively friendly, but as it's poorly organized so it takes forever to get a cold sausage.
The location is nice!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MadMac1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georges H, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Hors-Pistes, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Google Translation
Votre avis du 8 mars dernier, malheureusement incompréhensible sur le fond comme sur la forme, me met dans l'impossibilité de vous répondre.
Avec mes regrets.
Georges HOTTEGINDRE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Finally a place where you can combine good food and amazing view on the slops. You never pay too much when the quality is excellent.
Of course I wouldn' t recommend it to a group of students who are looking for cheap french fries but rather to people enjoying a high quality lunch...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georges H, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Hors-Pistes, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Google Translation
Merci Monsieur, avec retard, pour cet avis encourageant pour toute mon équipe et moi-même.

En espérant avoir le plaisir de vous revoir (n'hésitez pas à vous faire connaître), bien respectueusement.

Georges HOTTEGINDRE et son équipe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
649 reviews
411 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
“Ridiculous prices terrible service but a nice terrace”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

I have no problem paying for good service and great food but this provides neither

Service is terminally slow and to pay the prices here you have to be mad. There are a number of great places on the slopes in Les Houches. You can even spend a lot of money like at the Vielles Luges but there the food is extremely high quality. This place you pay double what you pay anywhere else for the same sort of thing you get better everywhere else. 4 people lunch of spaghetti , nearly 100 euros and it arrive an hour late not as ordered

I went here last year it was horrible . I went again this year as my friends wanted the terrace. I must have been mad to go back

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank barcaranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
203 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“BAD! AVOID! DISHONEST! -clientegiusto-”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

Given the long wait of about half an hour, we decided to reserve a table for 4 at 14.30! after sitting on the snow making a chat and taking the sun, we get to take the reserved table. We are Italian and with great arrogance they pass before the French! my patience ends! we take ourselves to our table and after asking over and over again the menu, in this case we take it for yourself! a waiter hurried unclear and rude we order the salmon (a micro to 24.6€ !) and a dish. the two small salmon arrive after 45 min while the two dishes are expecting a further 30 min! annoyed and disgusted by waiters who mistreat customers, from managing virtually non-existent and even a food that I would not give to my dog, we decided to leave unattended their money on their dirty table and leave!

THIS PLACE REALLY SUCKS AND IS INCAPABLE MANAGED!

Avoid!

-clientegiusto-
(premium and super reviewer for tripadvisor™)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank clientegiusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Le Hors-Pistes also viewed

Les Houches, Haute-Savoie
Les Houches, Haute-Savoie
 
Les Houches, Haute-Savoie
Les Houches, Haute-Savoie
 
Les Houches, Haute-Savoie
Les Houches, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Restaurant Le Hors-Pistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing