We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent views, service, and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Les Vieilles Luges

Les Vieilles Luges
Ranked #6 of 28 Restaurants in Les Houches
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Paris, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent views, service, and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

we snowshoed up here on a beautiful sunny day and enjoyed lunch on the terrace... in December. I definitely want to come back next time we are in Chamonix!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alli_D04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    22
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chamonix-Mont-Blanc, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A MUST visit when in Les Houches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I love this restaurant. The setting is truly amazing. Nestled on the hillside, it is an old fromagerie full of antique ski's and lovely old brocante. The food is fantastic and very good value. Claude and Julie are very warm and welcoming. I love lunching here and have occasionally had the good fortune to visit on one of their special nights. You can walk or snow shoe up from the Maison Neuve lift, following a trail by the side of the piste. So beautiful to suddenly come across it all lit up under the stars. I highly recommend a visit here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great mountain restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

A small cosy restaurant, which has a small menu written on a blackboard, but the food and atmosphere is very good. Definitely recommend a visit, but make sure you book. Especially if the weather is not too good and there is no outside dining.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaz2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Mountain Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I love this place, hidden in the trees on the slopes of Les Houches. If the sun is out you can sit on the terrace if not then you can cosy up inside the wonderful old building. Food here is fantastic as is the service and atmosphere. They do incredibly well considering the size of the kitchen they have.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barney70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Undoubtedly one of the star mountain restaurants in the Alps, to be measured alongside some of the most atmospheric at Zermatt. We're only talking mountain food of the more rustic sort but it's well-prepared, tasty and served with a smile in a charming old wooden hut over 200 years old. The main courses, I had the diots - smoked local sausages - can all come with some accompaniment - salad or the local potato cake speciality farcon - and are very satisfying. The sweets are excellent and it's not overpriced for the experience. It's off one of the main ski runs so you need to be able to slither your way down a narrow path to get to it but it's worth the effort.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pointless64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Vieilles Luges also viewed

Les Houches, Haute-Savoie
Les Houches, Haute-Savoie
 
Les Houches, Haute-Savoie
Les Houches, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Les Vieilles Luges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing